We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We drive from Carmichael to EDH for 36 Handles!”

36 Handles restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $21
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Great food Comfortable atmosphere Full bar with36 craft beers
California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We drive from Carmichael to EDH for 36 Handles!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

The food, atmosphere and wait staff are all worth the drive from Carmichael to EDH. We have been to this restaurant maybe 12 times and I will tell you...every single time it is consistently great! So many times you visit a restaurant and it is great the first time, second time not so much. Not here. Always great!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michelemoore2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    36
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gold River, CA
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Can't beat this Happy Hour”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I are Friday night happy hour fans, so when we find a really good one, we need to give some props. 36 Handles is located just off Highway 50 about 30 miles east of Sacramento. If you're staying in the Folsom, Rancho areas, it's an easy 10-15 minute drive. The bar is well appointed, clean, beautifully decorated and located in a nice shopping center. Tthe staff very friendly. Happy Hour is everyday from 3-6. The happy hour menu includes $2.00 pints of Newcastle regular and (one the night we were there) Newcastle Blonde Bombshell. There are also $4.00 shots of Jameson. The food menu includes $2.00 fish or pork sliders and 1/2 off the appetizer menu. We had a total of 4 beers, a plate of excellent calamari, and two sliders for under $20.00. With prices like that, my wife and I may add a few more happy hour days during the week. We didn't try the other food, but if the calamari and sliders are any indication, the people in the kitchen know what they're doing. There are also a fair number of TV's tuned to sports. The crowd was mostly 40's+.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeandcris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing pub food”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband came for the fish and chips. I came for some good pub food, and both of us were disappointed. The "traditional" cod was fried at too high a temperature, and it came out with a dark brown, very hard crust. The fish inside was OK, but should have been thicker. It was overpowered by the thick, hard crust.The bacon-wrapped meat loaf was fair, but had a nasty mushroom sauce that was very vinegar-y. I had to scrape it off. Neither of us finished our dinners. Maybe the kitchen was having a bad night that Tuesday, but the food was not good.

The interior was lovely and the service was fine. And we had some wonderful beer. I would suggest that you come for the beer, not for the food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Unpredictable”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I have eaten here twice in the past couple of months. The first time, 4 of us ate different things, all of them outstanding. Last night, however, the food was lifeless, the special (tri tip sandwich) was dry and sad. The other items ( again 4 of us) were not nearly as tasty,as we had come to expect. It was Memorial Day, the usually vibrant scene was missing. The beer was still fantastic!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We used to come when this place was O'Reilly's Irish Pub, and 36 Handles is a big improvement. There's a nice selection of beers and ales, and a good selection of pub-style food. The bacon-wrapped meatloaf with Yukon gold mashed is excellent as is the traditional fish and chips. Food prices are very reasonable which is a welcome change compared to many of the pubs around these days.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deepsee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 36 Handles restaurant also viewed

El Dorado Hills, CA
 
El Dorado Hills, CA
El Dorado Hills, CA
 

Been to 36 Handles restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing