We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average for a Super 8”
Review of Hotel Mira Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mira Vista
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Cerrito
Reviewed July 18, 2007

I think the owners of this hotel deserve a positive review. Considering the age of the property and the location, they have done an admirable job maintaining it and making it a decent place to stay. I was wary of staying so close to Richmond, but it turned out to be perfectly OK. The location has alot going for it, just off I-80, across the street from BART, and within walking distance of Target, Walgreens and several chain coffee shops. I was impressed with the total lack of noise in my room. I was given 316, at the far end of the building on the top floor. There was absolutely NO sound from the freeway, in fact the only thing I heard all night was the faint whoosh of the BART trains. Although the hotel was full I never heard a TV, a toilet flush or a slamming door, pretty amazing for a Super 8. The room was standard but had a few extra touches that elevated it beyond the basic budget level. The fridge, microwave and coffee maker were in their own little niche, very convenient. King size bed was soft but not too soft. The room was as clean as possible, although there was a faint trace of cigarette smoke. The problem with a hotel that has some rooms set aside for smokers is that even the non-smoking rooms end up being exposed to the smoke sooner or later, and once it gets into the carpet and the drapes there's no way to get rid of it. The smell was a little strong in the halls but acceptable in the room itself. Breakfast was nothing special, packaged pastries, cereal and coffee. (Some fresh fruit would have been nice.) Overall I would recommend this hotel to business travelers or couples on vacation. I would say it's probably not a good choice for families with young kids. But personally I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank heavybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 239 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2007

I stayed there last weekend with fairly low expectations (I'm fairly used the to budget hotel world). The location is convenient and the hotel looks good from the outside. But the non-smoking room (and entire hotel) reeked like smoke (which got worse once we turned on the heat) and there was spit on the wall. Or at least that is what I think it was - orangy spittle on the wall above the bed. And the rest of the room was not too clean, either.

Overall, the hotel was a bit gross and I do not plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaymtee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
El Cerrito, California
18
Reviewed October 28, 2005

No problems at all. It was pretty good for being a Super 8. The price was not bad. Stayed in a room for 4 people, with two beds. Pretty big room. It had a tv, with extended cable (HBO...), a refridgerator, a microwave, and a hair dryer. There is a continental breakfast in the mornings and coffee all the time in the lobby. The noise level was not bad at all. It is extremely close to the BART station, to a Denny's Restaurant and Carrol's Restaurant. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2005

This is now a Super 8 Hotel, and better than you might expect of a Super 8. Although it is an older hotel, there are new carpets, new appliances, granite counters, refinished bathrooms, wireless highspeed internet (ask for a room with access), hair dryer, and some rooms have a fridge, microwave and ironing board. Interior access through lobby. No in-room coffee, but there is a modest continental breakfast of coffee or tea, juice, fruit, and danish or muffin in the breakfast room. It is clean and comfortable, and a good value for the San Francisco Bay Area. It is close to BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit, a monorail) so you can BART to S.F. and avoid both the traffic and the parking problems.
Some of the queen rooms are like mini suites, with a sitting area with a couch and coffee table.
The cancellation policy is 24 hours prior to check-in (3 or 4PM?). There are no in-room movies, but there is extended cable with HBO.
Note that this review is of the Super 8 El Cerrito. There is a Best Inn, but not at this address, so don't take this review for the Best Inn, El Cerrito.

  • Stayed: March 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank SoCalBagLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsee N, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cerrito
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
3.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#5 of 20 in Berkeley
357 reviews
5.3 mi away
Rose Garden Inn
Rose Garden Inn
#12 of 20 in Berkeley
391 reviews
9.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Rafael - Francisco Blvd East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mira Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mira Vista

Address: 6009 Potrero Ave, El Cerrito, CA 94530-2124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cerrito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Cerrito
Price Range: $119 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mira Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Potrero Exit on I-80 east bound. We are minutes away from Berkeley/Emeryville. Located only block and half away from Del Norte BART Station with easy connection to Oakland/San Francisco and onward to SFO International Airport.There are shopping centers and restaurants nearby.Nearby attraction - UC Berkeley, Golden Gate Field Race Track, Alcatraz, Pier 39/ Fisherman's Wharf, Napa Valley Wine Country, Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Jelly Belly Candy Factory, AT&T Park SF and Oakland Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mira Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley El Cerrito Hotel El Cerrito
Super 8 El Cerrito
Super Eight El Cerrito
El Cerrito Super 8
El Cerrito Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing