We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice for the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mira Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mira Vista
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Cerrito
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice for the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

This was a deal as far as price. I was visiting a son at UC Berkeley and this is about 6 imiles away or 2 exits via I-80. Hotel was visible at the bottom of the I-80 exit coming from SF. Very big room, more like a suite, with frig and microwave. Free Wifi. Nice new Safeway supermarket is two blocks away. OK but not great breakfast included.

I didn't give a top rating for sleep because the mattress was too soft but otherwise a real deal.

Top rating due to price.

Room Tip: Had a room on the side away from I-80 - nice and quiet. Ask for a king sized bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8ElCerrito, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to say a few words about our Hotel. We trive to give our guest the best experience.Comfotable and clean room and friendly service.

Thank you again
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    87
    59
    15
    15
See reviews for
72
55
27
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno area
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was one of those trips where we wouldn't spend much time in the room, but you still want a clean and comfortable room that isn't noisy. This location was convenient to the wedding we attended and to I-80, but was reasonably quiet at the same time. The room decor was actually a little nicer than I expected for the price, giving me the impression it was recently redone. The hotel management accommodated our need to get into the room a little early to change for the wedding; while they did not guarantee it, they were able to accommodate us. There were no 'hot' breakfast options (i.e. waffles) the morning we left so we decided to grab breakfast on the road later, but my husband did say there was coffee, juice, yogurt, etc.

Room Tip: Stay here if you want convenience to freeway, good value, reasonably quiet. There were convenience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SierraSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8ElCerrito, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about our Hotel,I am glad you found it clean and reasonably prised. If you trave needs bring s you in our area again then we would be more then happy to accomodate you.

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We recently spent 5 nights at this hotel. Everything looks new and is clean. Room was nice
and big. Breakfast is plentyful with fruit, yoghurt, juices, coffe etc. waffles, breads plus..to choose from. Reception was friendly. Very convenient location to freeway and Bart. Grocery store and various shopping is nearby. Mattresses are very comfortable and I am fussy, as I have a back problem. Decoration is simple but nice. In all, I was pleasantly surprised at the
new, modern fixtures.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marlisba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8ElCerrito, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to say a few words about our Hotel. We listen to what our guest are saying about us and we do not only try to meet our guest expectation but work hard to beat it.When ever you are to visit this area again then we will be happy to accomodate.

Thank you again
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We travelled to the Bay Area in August 2012, with two teenagers. The location was very convenient to the freeway (I-80) and easy to find. The motel is not fancy, but was clean and comfortable, and pretty much exactly as described on their website. Breakfast was simple – cereals, coffee, bagels, juice – but adequate and free! The BART stop (El Cerrito Norte) is within a ten minute walk, and central San Francisco 30 minutes further on the train. There’s not much on the street except a couple of diners, which are fine if you just want a quick bite when you arrive, but we didn’t venture much in the neighbourhood so I can’t say if there’s any other shopping locally. The rooms were quiet and comfortable, but we couldn’t get the air conditioner to work (we forgot to inform reception the next day, so not the motel’s fault). Best of all it was right on the freeway when we left the area for our next stop. Excellent value, and well worth a look if you want a cheap option when travelling to the San Francisco area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8ElCerrito, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a few words about our Hotel,and also so letting us know about the Air Condtioner. We have already taken steps in that regard to rectify and and the house keepping staff has been notified also. Thank you again for discribing our property,ann you are spot on. please let us know what we could have done better in the sevice are.

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with two girlfriends on a recent Bay Area trip. While not fancy, it was a good base of operations for exploring thr Bay Area. It was walking distance to BART and right next to the freeway so it is easy to get around. There is free wifi and a continental breakfast. The beds were a little firm and the towels were not the best, but you can't beat the price. It has been recently renovated as well.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mer4cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8ElCerrito, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding out hotel.
Should your future travel brings you back in our area we would be more then happy to welcome you back.

Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

It wasn't glamorous, but it was what we needed for our stopover on the East Side - cheap and clean. They've updated rooms recently - ours was a little too recent and still smelled a bit of new paint. So we slept with the windows open and the heat on which made it fine for us. Even with the windows open the location was totally quiet all night long. For the money and parking I would definitely stay here again if I was traveling again with a car in the Bay area.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank westpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8ElCerrito, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.We value that very much.
looking forward to seeing you again when visiting our area in the future

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington
Level Contributor
461 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

This is a clean hotel. Myself and family members have stayed here several times.

Hotels in the Bay Area are generally very expensive. This hotel is reasonably priced.

This is not a destination hotel for spending your vacation. This is a clean place to stay that is safe, and does not cost an arm and a let.

Enjoy your visit to the Super 8, El Cerrity

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zip98221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Mira Vista, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back.. we try hard to make the guest expireance as pleasunt as possible.You may be interested to know that we have expanded our breakfast spread to include such items as Oatmeal, yogurt, waffles etc. we look forward to see you again in the near future.

Thank You
The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cerrito
3.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
3.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
La Quinta Inn Berkeley
#7 of 20 in Berkeley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mira Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mira Vista

Property: Hotel Mira Vista
Address: 6009 Potrero Ave, El Cerrito, CA 94530
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cerrito
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in El Cerrito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Mira Vista 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at Potrero Exit on I-80 east bound. We are minutes away from Berkeley/Emeryville. Located only block and half away from Del Norte BART Station with easy connection to Oakland/San Francisco and onward to SFO International Airport.There are shopping centers and restaurants nearby.Nearby attraction - UC Berkeley, Golden Gate Field Race Track, Alcatraz, Pier 39/ Fisherman's Wharf, Napa Valley Wine Country, Six Flags Discovery Kingdom, Jelly Belly Candy Factory, AT&T Park SF and Oakland Colosseum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mira Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Berkeley El Cerrito Hotel El Cerrito
Super 8 El Cerrito
Super Eight El Cerrito
El Cerrito Super Eight
El Cerrito Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing