We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great pizza!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johnny Carino's

Johnny Carino's
Ranked #4 of 103 Restaurants in El Centro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
261 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were traveling through El Centro and enjoyed our dinner at Johnny Carino's restaurant very much. The pizza was great. The fresh Italian rolls and butter was nice as well. It was better than average for sure. And the atmosphere and service was good as well.
We would stop there again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WireWrapGems2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    28
    10
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Centro,CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret for The Best Happy Hour in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The food is delicious always. But we enjoy the wing nights especially! It's a great atmosphere to enjoy dinner with the family or a nice get together with friends. Prices to meet every budget. They have great happy hour specials all the time. But note those specials are only provided at the bar area not at dining. Luckily, they recently expanded that area. Enjoy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenrocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent at Johnny Carino's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

If the outside looks were any indication towards the quality of the food, we could expect a nice meal.
After a shared appetizer of Italian wings we went onto 2 pizzas, likewise shared between us. The crusty edge and rich topping was nothing short of being delicious.
We ordered dessert too.

3 desserts to share. Number 1 was a lemon cream cake, Number 2 was tiramisu and number 3 was Italian chocolate cake served warm and with vanilla ice cream. The desserts cannot be described other than being a wild feast of heavenly taste.

And being a dessert-kind-of-guy I was more than impressed about the portions served. Especially the tiramisu and the chocolate cake would have been enough to make desserts for 2 persons each.This restaurant also offers an impressively long list of different bottled beers and drafts.And if you are still not convinced: Service was great too.
Matching the quality of the food were the prices. After all it’s not a Denny’s or a fast food joint. But I wouldn’t call anything on their menu for overprized.
See a full review with pics at: http://american-traveler.blogspot.com/2014/03/a-great-place-to-eat.html

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank harwerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“American Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Early dinner tonight and the place was to capacity at 4pm. Salads are extra when ordering just a small heads up. My peperoni pepperoni pizza was cooked in a wood fired oven and came out light and crispy. No real hint of smoke flavor but that was ok since the pepperoni was extra spicy. A good pie that passed the slice fold test. My wife had the lasagna and I traded a slice for a taste. Ricotta was fluffy and the sauce was rich and flavorful. Portion size is perfect. Great place and if you get a choice sit near the open kitchen to get some great entertainment of the flurry of activity they call the dinner rush.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KenVOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Just awful.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Bad service, bad food. Ordered the Rosemary Chicken. Do not do that. Not rosemary... It was like they made a sauce out of store brand Italian dressing and a lot of corn syrup, then glopped it onto everything. Rolls contain fennel - which is good if you like fennel. "Fresh" vegetables were fozen. Spaghetti was also pretty lame, but at least it was edible. Cannot recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonoran_Skies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Carino's also viewed

El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 

Been to Johnny Carino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing