We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not expecting much, but Nicely Surprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express El Centro
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in El Centro
Certificate of Excellence
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not expecting much, but Nicely Surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for just one night and it was a great find. From the outside it can look a bit plain, but the room was comfortable and well appointed. Ofcourse this still is just a simple hotel. This location has rooms for parties and get togethers, though you would never guess it from the outside that the decor in the hotel is rather nice. I believe it only has about 100 rooms. The decor was nice and for the money I do believe it is a great deal considering some other places we've stayed at. We had room 239, a king bed junior suite. My husband spent a few minutes out on the balcony, not much to see but the motel 6 accross the street and the freeway. The bed was comfortable, I didn't wake up at all until morning. The expanded continental breakfast they offer is great! we got there towards the end of serving time so we missed out on a few hot items othewise the gal kept bringing out fresh items and the room you eat in has a large screen tv to watch and everything is clean and well organized. for a comfortable one night or even a few more this place is good. Checkin was a breeze too, and if you want something to eat in the middle of the night...jack-in-the-box is the only thing near by.

  • Liked — A nice place in an odd location
  • Disliked — the musty smell of the room at first, opened windows and was fine after a while.
  • Tips/Secrets — This locale makes a good overnight pitstop for those coming or going to Mexicali
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veroaleli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    11
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
15
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2005

I had the opportunity <grin> to have business in El Centro and wanted to stay somewhere decent. I found this property and booked it without a) knowing the area or b) not having any expectations. I was pleasantly surprised that the staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The rooms had the A/C already blowing (outside was pushing 110 F) and the shades were drawn so the heat wouldn’t penetrate into the room. I was given a room facing the Interstate and didn’t even hear one car during the stay. I would recommend this location if you have to travel I-8 or have work in El Centro. On a side note, I did joke with the front desk about requesting the Presidential suite and the wanted to know if I wanted to reserve it, for only 159.00 a night. I was tempted and visited the suite and it was well laid out and comfortable looking but I passed.

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2005

This is the best property to stay at in El Centro. The site is a long bkock off of the Interstae, while others back up to I-8, which I'm sure is noisier. The property is about two years old, but is kept in very good condition. I would have guessed about 9 months old. The interior as well as exterior is well kept, with maintenance kept up. Rooms are spacious, with granite tile floors as well as bath surrounds. This compliments the granite counters in the bath and sink area (this was in a larger room). The refrigerator and microwave are a nice touch. The high-speed internet also was appreciated. Beds were comfy, the TV a big 32 inch model. Rooms were quiet, and the AC unit made cold air on the warm afternoons. Exercise room was good with an elypitcal trainer that I used a few times.

Guest services were helpful and very nice. All in all, they get high marks all around.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tomp4657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2004

The prior reviewer has confused this hotel with another one. You can't leave Los Angeles on your way "up the coast" and stop off in El Centro. El Centro is about 150 miles inland from San Diego, and probably 4-5 hours southeast of L.A. I have been to the HI Express El Centro and it is one of the nicest motels for business and leisure travelers you will find. Very high quality property, very clean, and excellent service.

Helpful?
8 Thank timetraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2004

This Holiday Inn Express in El Centro was the first stop on a honeymoon trip up the coast. Upon arrival we were greeted by being informed our reservations were not in the computer. The desk staff seemed unconcerned, telling us they could easily provide me with a room of equal value. That was fine, but all I could think about was the extra time spent restating my information and credit card number.
The room was VERY nice and the best part of the whole stay. Small, but very professional and comfortable.
That night my wife and I were bothered by some loud, thumping bass - I went up front to complain and found a very loud dance/party taking place in the ballroom just 5 doors down from our room. (My original reservation had asked for a room on the top floor.)
When the thumping subsided VERY late that night, the fire alarm went off - a scruciatingly piercing alarm that went on for a very long time because it appeared (from listening to the front desk staff) no one knew how to shut it off. It would go off several more times that night, well into the morning hours.
I woke the next morning expecting to make use of the excercise room but instead found it filled with fans and was told by staff that the fire sprinklers had drenched the carpet and the area was off limits.

I will not stay in this hotel again. It was so frustrating I am wary of ANY Holiday Inn Express now.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Centro hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites El Centro
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites El Centro
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 20 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Vacation Inn
Vacation Inn
#6 of 20 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crown Motel
Crown Motel
#9 of 20 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 20 in El Centro
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Property: Holiday Inn Express El Centro
Address: 350 Smoketree Dr, El Centro, CA 92243-4557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express El Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your best option for service, comfort, and value in the Southern California desert. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in El Centro offers 100 beautifully appointed, all non-smoking rooms and minisuites with a variety of features and amenities available to ensure that your travel needs are well taken care of. Be sure to start your day off right with our Express Start breakfast; we also have conference and banquet rooms available for your event or business needs. All rooms come equipped with free high speed Internet access, in-room fridge and microwaves, irons, ironing boards, hairdryers and in-room coffee services. Pay per view movies and games are available as well. Pamper yourself in one of our Jacuzzi or balcony suites. We are centrally located in El Centro and within minutes of many recreational activities including golfing, fishing, birdwatching, bowling, museums, shopping and fine dining. El Centro Regional Medical Center and Centinela State Prison are located nearby. The Imperial Valley is famous for seasonal activities such as the Cattle Call Rodeo, the Midwinter Fair and Fiestaand the Blue Angels Air Show, held annually at the nearby Naval Air Facility.Be sure to check out the Imperial Valley Sand Dunesor Glamis, where scenes from your favorite movies have been filmed. Also experience the unique culture south of the border in Mexicali, Mexico, which is known for its shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, IHG, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express El Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express El Centro Hotel El Centro
Holiday Inn El Centro
El Centro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing