We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Scalding Water” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express El Centro
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Scalding Water”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This Holiday Inn Express is a very basic clean room hotel. We asked for a room overlooking the pool to escape the noise. The parking is a little crazy at the front with some of those tiny tiny spots that you use a can opener to get in and out of your car, but there is more parking in the back. When showering in the morning the water turned suddenly to SCALDING HOT. I jumped out of the water and waited a minute and it turned back. I had to go back under to get off the shampoo....and after a few minutes it went SCALDING HOT AGAIN. It burnt my behind! Not blistering...but large red burn spots! BE CAREFUL!

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azahunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations IHGCare at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
Dear azahunting,

I apologize for the issues you had with the water.
We take comments such as your very seriously.
I have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.
I look forward to hearing back from you.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    24
    10
    3
    5
See reviews for
20
15
5
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This hotel was noisy, and the internet was almost impossible to get and the business centre was one computer in middle of lobby. Terrible for business. Hotels are limited in this place but def. not for those who have to work while they travel.

Room Tip: as far from noisy lobby as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odessasteppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express El Centro, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Dear Odessasteppe,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I apologize that you were having problems connecting to the internet. Next time you are here please let us know so we can assist you
with the connection. Once again, Thanks for your time.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

In El Centro your choices are limited the Marriott properties by the mall are a little nicer but this hotel is perfectly usable. Not a top performer and it doesn't distinguish itself in any regard but you get what you can expect from this brand. The location is good one exit west of Dogwood. So you are close to most everything. Nice flat screen TVs but no HDTV content so a bit of a waste. The staff is not as friendly as many you will find elsewhere





  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kawhona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I often come to El Centro, so thought this one was worth a shot. The hotel seems very nice from the outside and lobby. Location could be better as it does not have anything other than fast food close by. The rooms are better than other hotels I have found here, but my stay had lots of problems. #1 horrible smell. I find out that one of the trash cans was still full. Previous occupant of the room had left a tuna can. Who knows how long that had been there. #2 AC unit did not work. I had to call maintenance who determined housekeeping had unplugged the unit while vacuuming, thus preventing me from using the thermostat. #3 no wifi in my room. No service despite multiple tries. Wifi worked at the outdoor pool and in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpnya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Rooms are typical. Breakfast was always an issue - kept running out of food, juice, etc. Dryer ruined several pieces of clothes and management was not responsive to fixing or coming up with any other option. This hotel gets worse every year!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalRatGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I attempted to check in early but my room wasnt ready - the front desk staff could not have been nicer and even called to have the room made up early for me. They were all so very friendly. The hotel is very nice for a Holiday Inn and while I was there they were just landscaping all around the hotel. It seems very new. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelweeklyforwork2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Pros:

1- Nice bed with pillow top

2- Huge room, but as it should be as it was their Presidential Suite!!!

3- Walk in shower. Jacussi tub. Great 2 sink bathroom. Seperate toilet area.

4- Great patio area. Room for six.

5- Bar,refrig, etc

Cons:
1- No HDTV. Honest. Just old fashioned TV that didn't come close to filling the screen. Crude and sma[l with very poor resolution.Pretty worthless.

2- The main couch had NO back cushions! Impossible to use as a couch. For some reason the cushions were missing!!!!!

Question: If this was their very best I can only imagine what else lies for the unsuspecting visitor. I noticed a very large vacany rate when we were there, March 5, 2011. No one was using the pool, and yet the daytime temp was 82 on a Friday.

Very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve-KRIM-FM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Centro
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 18 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
1.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites El Centro
TownePlace Suites El Centro
#3 of 18 in El Centro
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites El Centro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crown Motel
Crown Motel
#7 of 18 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vacation Inn
Vacation Inn
#8 of 18 in El Centro
4.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 18 in El Centro
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express El Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express El Centro

Property: Holiday Inn Express El Centro
Address: 350 Smoketree Dr, El Centro, CA 92243-4557
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > El Centro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in El Centro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express El Centro 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your best option for service, comfort, and value in the Southern California desert. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in El Centro offers 100 beautifully appointed, all non-smoking rooms and minisuites with a variety of features and amenities available to ensure that your travel needs are well taken care of. Be sure to start your day off right with our Express Start breakfast; we also have conference and banquet rooms available for your event or business needs. All rooms come equipped with free high speed Internet access, in-room fridge and microwaves, irons, ironing boards, hairdryers and in-room coffee services. Pay per view movies and games are available as well. Pamper yourself in one of our Jacuzzi or balcony suites. We are centrally located in El Centro and within minutes of many recreational activities including golfing, fishing, birdwatching, bowling, museums, shopping and fine dining. El Centro Regional Medical Center and Centinela State Prison are located nearby. The Imperial Valley is famous for seasonal activities such as the Cattle Call Rodeo, the Midwinter Fair and Fiestaand the Blue Angels Air Show, held annually at the nearby Naval Air Facility.Be sure to check out the Imperial Valley Sand Dunesor Glamis, where scenes from your favorite movies have been filmed. Also experience the unique culture south of the border in Mexicali, Mexico, which is known for its shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express El Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express El Centro Hotel El Centro
Holiday Inn El Centro
El Centro Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing