We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average BBQ at slightly above average prices”
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
Ranked #2 of 104 Restaurants in El Centro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
El Centro, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average BBQ at slightly above average prices”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I consider myself a BBQ professional..haha. I do love a good BBQ though and have eaten it all over the US. Famous Dave's has a good atmosphere (typical rustic chain decor) and good portions. The flavor is pretty good also. Where they lost me was the price. To spend $60 for two people seems a bit steep, but they are the only BBQ place in town. If you want better BBQ, head to City BBQ in Columbus, Ohio.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vander1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    35
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Centro, California
2 reviews
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great Location, Excellent Food, Chicken Marsala and Jelopino Talapia dishes are testy. Enjoy the dinner.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vijay p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calexico, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Too Sweet!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

The food is good if you like all the flavors of sauce on your meats to have a sweet taste to it. Tooo Sweet!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“No matter the location, the food is consistently good”
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner at the bar where the staff is friendly and attentive. The new burnt ends are very tasty and the ribs were tender and flavorful. Can't go wrong with the Mac & cheese and sweet corn for the sides. Will definitely dine here again the next time we are in town.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good BBQ and more”
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Everytime I go to this area, this is a required stop for me. I always go for the combo plate of ribs and catfish and with the baked beans. We end up ordering a dozen muffins for take out too.

Their pudding was recommended to me but I never get to try it since I always get too full with the meal. This place is ideal for healthy appetites.

Service is sometimes slow and during my most recent visit, it took some time before we got a table.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ton2viray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 
El Centro, California Desert
El Centro, California Desert
 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing