We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Fairly decent hotel. I booked online and check-in went very smooth. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, and bathroom was good. Air conditioner/heating unit appeared new and worked well. Motel 6s lack shampoo and internet, so take that into consideration. I was able to use my DSLs dial up provider with a local number with no problem.

A previous review speaks of scummy people. I noticed that there were people who live there week to week or month to month, but these are just people trying to get by in high price San Diego, and I don't think it's fair to call them "scummy". They didn't bother me at all.

My room was right by the stairs, so I did hear some stomping every now and then, but I seem to get this wherever I go. I also heard some loud music when I went outside. I'm not sure where it was coming from, didn't sound like it was right at the hotel. When I was in my room, with door closed, I didn't hear the music.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ritteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 56 of 56 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2006

After 100 rejected bids on Priceline for a 5 night stay in San Diego (August 6 thru the 11th), I gave up and booked at the Motel 6 in El Cajon for $50 per night, their internet special. The room was absolutely clean, two comfortable beds, immaculate bathroom with bathtub, air conditionaing that worked. TV includes cable and HBO. It was a perfectly servicable room and not small. The motel has 1 ice machine and soda machines and reasonably priced laundrymat, all near the front office. The parking lot was lit and apparently guarded at night although our car was the only one with the special security lock that we bought just for the occaision. Every morning they had free coffee in the office.

This is a no frills outfit, but honestly, it wasn't bad. Nothing dirty or torn, everything well cared for. Daily maid service is included.

There is a nice major shopping center just a few blocks away.

The only negative was some of the other motel guests were definitely scummy. But if you go into your room, and lock the deadbolt and the second special lock, i do not see any danger at all. And of course you have the room phone and your own cell phone in case there ever were an emergency. Frankly, we liked the place so much that when we got tired on the way home to San Francisco, we willingly stopped at the ButtonWillow /McKittrick Motel 6 (for only $37 on a Friday night) and once again found the same perfectly acceptable room. (The Motel 8 or whatever it's called wanted $80 for a room in the same town, glad we didn't stop there. ) I really think that the Motel 6 is okay.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OldSanFrancisoLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alessia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank paolaarriaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zugvoegel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.9 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
776 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 El Cajon CA
Super 8 El Cajon CA
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
254 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in El Cajon
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon

Address: 550 Montrose Ct, El Cajon, CA 92020-3450
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range: $65 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon 2*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Motel-6, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon Hotel El Cajon
Motel 6 El Cajon
Motel Six El Cajon
El Cajon Motel Six
El Cajon Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing