We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“change of manager, big change.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this Motel on previous occasions and it was dull and uninspiring, possibly due to management.
Recently the motel has been refurbished and the atmosphere is relaxed, happy and harmonious under the new manager.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

this property was clean . in the parking lot and also fairly clean inside the rooms, management were helpful and courteous as well,, anyone looking for the ritz -carlton you may want to pass this motel up.however for a fairly clean , and good night sleep , this may be your best deal on price

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EDDIE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a 2 night business trip. I was pleasantly surprised at the room. It had hardwood floors, art deco towel holder and they painted one of the walls orange. It was clean and spacious for motel 6. My only two minor complaints are the Internet is slow and the shower pressure was soft. But they really impressed me and I think all motel 6 should follow suit. Also there is an abundance of food places within a mile of the hotel. Will definitely stay there again if I'm back in SD.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank Bert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The room was decently priced, was very clean (has been newly remodeled), and even though we arrived after dark and couldn't tell if the neighborhood was good or not, we didn't have any problems with the location. Close to the mall and shopping. About 20 minute drive to Sea World. Would probably stay again.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Kewellbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Basic rooms. Newly renovated. Dodgy area. Definately not a holiday destinaton. Nice carpet free floors make for clean and bright. No fridge in room and only communal microwave available. No frills here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Check in went smoothly. Coffee was ready early the next morning. Very comfortable, firm mattress. Clean walls-looks like the property has been recently improved. Quiet 2nd floor room. Very clean other than a few hairs in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HungryManUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nieces from Sweeden arrived for their reservations and the Motel had sold their room, Understanding is Credit Card holds rooms all night according to Motel 6 Corp.The Night Audit a very rude Woman also said they would would not be able to stay anyways because the were under 21 ( 20 and 19) and that is a City Law., We went across the street to a Super 8 where the Man said the first night because of Comic Con he could not match Motel 6 but gave us the room lower than the asking rate, and matched the other 4 nights He suggested we contact Motel 6 Customer Service which we did I also called the City Attorney and he said the is no Age limit on the books, the Woman is Lying. The do suggest 21 and no lower than 18 but noit a law. I went on and read the ECMC No mention of the afe The Woman is a LIAR and on top of this they tell me she has been there for years and has told this Lie for years, Coast the Motel Owners 1420.00 for losing the reservation and I will never send anyone to them Place is shady looking, locals hanging all over, bikes propped upi against the railings Looks more like an apartment complex than a Motel. Than God for the Super 8 and the nice man there And we could not even get him to bad mouth the Motel 6, he only gave us suggestions what we could do As for the Motel 6 If your the owner FIRE YOUR NIGHT AUDIT she is rude,she lies adn she costs you business. As I have found out since , even from your Sercurity Guard no one likes her

Room Tip: DO NOT stay if your have relatives or friends that have to check in after midnight. Also call first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Mike M - Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience and service you received as your nieces attempted to check in. These issues are certainly not consistent with our standards for service at Motel 6. Thank you for calling our Guest Relations department to report your experience so our team can take action to address the issues you encountered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.9 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
168 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
777 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 El Cajon CA
Super 8 El Cajon CA
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in El Cajon
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon

Address: 550 Montrose Ct, El Cajon, CA 92020-3450
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range: $63 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon 2*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon Hotel El Cajon
Motel 6 El Cajon
Motel Six El Cajon
El Cajon Motel 6
El Cajon Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing