We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

The room was decently priced, was very clean (has been newly remodeled), and even though we arrived after dark and couldn't tell if the neighborhood was good or not, we didn't have any problems with the location. Close to the mall and shopping. About 20 minute drive to Sea World. Would probably stay again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kewellbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    15
    5
    10
See reviews for
14
7
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankston, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Basic rooms. Newly renovated. Dodgy area. Definately not a holiday destinaton. Nice carpet free floors make for clean and bright. No fridge in room and only communal microwave available. No frills here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kezbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Check in went smoothly. Coffee was ready early the next morning. Very comfortable, firm mattress. Clean walls-looks like the property has been recently improved. Quiet 2nd floor room. Very clean other than a few hairs in the bathroom.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryManUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Nieces from Sweeden arrived for their reservations and the Motel had sold their room, Understanding is Credit Card holds rooms all night according to Motel 6 Corp.The Night Audit a very rude Woman also said they would would not be able to stay anyways because the were under 21 ( 20 and 19) and that is a City Law., We went across the street to a Super 8 where the Man said the first night because of Comic Con he could not match Motel 6 but gave us the room lower than the asking rate, and matched the other 4 nights He suggested we contact Motel 6 Customer Service which we did I also called the City Attorney and he said the is no Age limit on the books, the Woman is Lying. The do suggest 21 and no lower than 18 but noit a law. I went on and read the ECMC No mention of the afe The Woman is a LIAR and on top of this they tell me she has been there for years and has told this Lie for years, Coast the Motel Owners 1420.00 for losing the reservation and I will never send anyone to them Place is shady looking, locals hanging all over, bikes propped upi against the railings Looks more like an apartment complex than a Motel. Than God for the Super 8 and the nice man there And we could not even get him to bad mouth the Motel 6, he only gave us suggestions what we could do As for the Motel 6 If your the owner FIRE YOUR NIGHT AUDIT she is rude,she lies adn she costs you business. As I have found out since , even from your Sercurity Guard no one likes her

Room Tip: DO NOT stay if your have relatives or friends that have to check in after midnight. Also call first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel6, Public Relations Manager at Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mike M - Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience and service you received as your nieces attempted to check in. These issues are certainly not consistent with our standards for service at Motel 6. Thank you for calling our Guest Relations department to report your experience so our team can take action to address the issues you encountered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Cajon hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Awful place with scary people around it.
No toilet paper in the room when we arrived, we had to go ask for it and received half of one.
hair in the bed
VERY slow wifi, that you have to pay in extra (3$ for one night)
Badly located, far from everything.
Too much noises. Our room were on the parking lot, we heard every single car, and every scary guys speaking in front of it.
DON'T
GO
THERE

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Where do I start. I've stayed at a few Motel 6 locations and this one by far was the WORST. Online it says free WIFI.. its not you have to pay $2.99 per/ night. The ladies at the front desk were very rude and unprofessional. Once we got into or room it smelled of animal. (dog, cat or maybe a combo of both). My children have asthma and are allegric to pet dander, So this was no fun for them or me. I called down to the office to ask do they allow pets in every room and she stated (in a very snotty tone) yes, and they steam clean all carpets after every guest with a pet. NOT!!! There was a shortage of towels and we would have to call the office constantly for towels. When we would return to our room the key would never work so we would have to go to the office to get them fixed. The maid did not clean our room nor did she change the sheets or make the beds. However she did empty the trash and FINALLY brought us more clean towels. Our last night there we had to wait on clean towels AGAIN for hours. We finally got them sometime after 10pm. NEVER AGAIN will I stay here. I'd rather sleep in my car.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StraightNochaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
276 reviews
274 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

stayed here for 10 days. the room is a typical, basic motel 6 room but was smaller than average. there was a desk and chair but no table. the room was clean and never saw any bugs. i used the fan as white noise to drown out any traffic noise. there are 23 tv channels. the laundry room had a (filthy) microwave that was often used by guests.
as others have said, the motel has a problem with towels. sometimes no towels were left by housekeeping and it was hard to get them. also no coffee was available 2 of the days. the front desk workers were never rude to me.
overall it was a decent place to stay. i saw no police or persons of ill repute, had no problems during my 10 day stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
0.8 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#3 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
4.9 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#1 of 14 in El Cajon
4.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 El Cajon CA
Super 8 El Cajon CA
#4 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon

Property: Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Address: 550 Montrose Ct, El Cajon, CA 92020-3450
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon 2*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Motel-6, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon Hotel El Cajon
Motel 6 El Cajon
Motel Six El Cajon
El Cajon Motel Six
El Cajon Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing