We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel 6”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
“Motel 6”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The things I did like about my stay was that the air conditioning worked the entire time and the water never ran cold. I was very please with those two things and whenever I needed more towels I was supplied with them 24/7. The beds were not to bad but they did not have enough pillows. The television worked but is kind of small. The weather was average when I went there and I did not use the pool. From the outside it looked a bit dirty. I did like the fact that the hotel was right next to a restaurant, a police station, and right down the street from a mall. They also had a security watch at night. Overall my stay was average at Motel 6. I was there for business and needed a cheaper stay.

Room Tip: The lower floor is easier to access and easier to carry bags into. All rooms are normally quiet. Low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schroe81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    16
    17
    6
    11
See reviews for
15
10
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Very surprised when I checked into the room the other day. For 43 bucks a nite I wasn't expecting too much. The room was spotless, good size and most of all the staff was really nice and just very helpful. Not a big fan of the neighborhood. It is right next to the 8 freeway and you get some noise but there were some shady characters lingering around. All in all though a good place for a couple nights. Again the staff is a difference maker!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscud1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2011

My family has had to stay at this motel 6 several times. This time the GM said he couldnt rent to us again, because our last room smelled like dogs! Wait they except pets, so I guess we didnt fit their clientel. We are prostitutes, druggies, recently released from prison and we always clean up after our pets as well as other peoples pets. I am a long term customer and would never go back to any Motel 6 after this.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimP71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Cajon hotels

Chula Vista, California
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

I really enjoy staying there because of the value and the location. Everytime I go the staff is friendly and the room is fresh and clean... they got my vote!

Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank forever70s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2010

We had no towels and the room smelled like urine. One of the twin beds were lop sided. When I woke up the next morning, my back was aching. When we checked out, management refused to give me back photocopies of our driver license information. They stated that it was city policy and they will destroy our personal information after 90 days. However, I do not know if this is true. If something ever happens like identity theft, I will know where this transpired. WE WILL NEVER TRAVEL THROUGH EL CAJON CALIFORNIA AGAIN !!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 246179ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2010

I'm scratching my head at the glowing comments about this motel. I stayed here for one night in March 2010. I've stayed in plenty of Motel 6 locations and this is the worst room that I've had. The bathroom tile was pretty dirty. It looks as if this was designed to be a wheelchair accessible room (see the bathroom pictures). But that doesn't make sense because there was so little space. There was barely any space between the edge of the bed and the desk. The carpet was thin and frayed and the edge of the nightstand was missing its trim. The room was obviously tired and worn. At least it was just one night.

As for location, it's right off the freeway so it's convenient. The area seemed a bit seedy, though.

We were just passing through for the night. But if I were to stay longer, I would have spent more for a room in the hotel circle area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sactosally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motel 6, El Cajon,California
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I just wanted to say how incredible the customer service Tony Patchin, the General Manager gave me.Arriving late I was having problems with my interntet....Tony Patchin went all out to help me to make sure internet was on for me, when a extra mile to find a extra plug for me.One incredible thing I noticed was that when I went to the office, he was actually happy to help me!!!! He was NOT annoyed, he just wanted to make sure I had everything I needed. This was quite a shock compared to other places I have stayed. Give Tony Patchin a raise!! I will deffinetly be back the rooms were very clean too !!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incredibleeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Cajon hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
0.7 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 El Cajon CA
Super 8 El Cajon CA
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in El Cajon
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon

Property: Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon
Address: 550 Montrose Ct, El Cajon, CA 92020-3450
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon 2*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Motel-6, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 San Diego - El Cajon Hotel El Cajon
Motel 6 El Cajon
Motel Six El Cajon
El Cajon Motel Six
El Cajon Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing