We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Reviewed June 22, 2013

It's not a bad place to stay, especially for the budget-minded. I do wish that other guests would have kept quiet until a little later in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Andrea,

Thank you for taking the time and giving us your feed back. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at our Inn. We offer budget rates and outstanding rooms, our guest does not mind driving a bit to save a lot. I have spoken to our night auditor to keep an eye out for people making noise, we are sorry you were disturbed by other guest making noise.

We are looking forward to your next trip to San Diego.

Thanks
Chetan Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 131 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Patrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I reviewed this hotel from the enternet and the pictures where not true to what the hotel really looked like. It is a very old hotel and needs and up grade. the area that this hotel is in is scary. I wanted to go to the store that was across that street my husband would not let me go alone because of all the people hanging out and asking for money. I will never stay at a howard johnson hotel again.

Room Tip: don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missme_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry we did not meet your expectations, yes I agree the hotel is old, however we have done many improvements in last 12 months such as a brand new lobby, breakfast room, case goods, carpets, bedding, exterior and many other upgrades, and we are always looking into ways we can improve our product at an amazing price. Many of our guests tells us we have the biggest and the best rooms in the area.

I wish you would have said something during your stay, we welcome the opportunity to improve guest experience.

Thanks
Chetan Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I visted this hotel today with a coupon from Roomsaver.com for $49.99 for King room and as per the employee I spoke with in person all their "King" rooms are smoking only and only suites come non-smoking? Meaning if you want a smoke free room you cant use the coupon., Beware. I'll never go there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ljsmith21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Mr. Smith,

I am sorry about the confusion on our advertisement, unfortunately due to limitation of the size of the ad we cannot put all our room types and rate. Therefore we advertise our lowest rate, and room type. We mention in the ad the rate is "Starting From" to give indication that we offer other room types. We do have non smoking king rooms however the day you requested this room we were sold out of the non smoking king.

We are sorry of any confusion.

Thanks
Chetan Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chetan P, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
0.2 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
1.2 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 15 in El Cajon
159 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn San Diego Near Qualcomm Stadium
1.6 mi away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in El Cajon
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Address: 588 N Mollison Ave, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range: $63 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econolodge Inn & Suites, El Cajon Hotel, where you’ll experience an intimate, casual atmosphere with personalized service, contemporary amenities and customer-oriented features. Whether you’re here on a relaxing getaway vacation or an important business venture, you’ll appreciate our peaceful ambiance, hospitable service and convenient location without spending a fortune. Our friendly, professional staff ensures that your stay will be a memorable and relaxing experience. This El Cajon hotel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. If you are looking for a hotel near fun things to do this hotel near San Diego Zoo is the perfect location to stay. We are also located within miles from Knotts Soak City and San Diego SeaWorld. Offering comfort and convenience to business and leisure travelers, this El Cajon Hotel offers value with cozy accommodations, amenities and easy access to restaurants, shopping and local area attractions. We offer our guest a more affordable room rate with luxury & friendly services. Relaxing Retreat, take a dip in our private, crystal clear swimming pool. Econolodge Inn & Suites will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our hotel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Make your family vacation more attractive to Southern California - treat yourself to the Econolodge Inn & Suites. Choose this El Cajon Hotel for your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson El Cajon/San Diego Area Hotel El Cajon
Super 8 El Cajon
Super Eight El Cajon
El Cajon Super Eight
El Cajon Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing