We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price, comfortable bed & clean room!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great price, comfortable bed & clean room!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

I book this hotel from Priceline which they offer best lower price compare by other distributor, I pay $62 plus tax total cost me $69, but when I check tripadvisor see some one can only pay $32 each night there at last June, :( but I still happy with what I paid ! :)) the guy in the front dest is nice and he give me free upgrade then I got one king non smoking suite, it come with big sofa and ottoman, also refrigerator,Microwave, hair dry, big wall mirror, Iron, coffee maker (but no glass carafe in the machine?) above these item most hotel or motel they don't offer complete in such small town, the room is so clean but different from out side look, and the bed is so comfortable, a quiet thursday night, finally I had a good mood one nighte there compare to all my travel day in San Diego !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    19
    18
    31
See reviews for
51
27
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Cheap & cheerful. Massive rooms with continental breakfast thrown in. Only stayed one night as we were just passing through.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_Lamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is a very nice hojo. I've only stayed at a couple, but this was better than some hilton properties I've stayed at. The room sizes and quality is the best aspects for me. That and the service. Nice people. I can see they are putting some TLC into it which is very nice to see. I would definetly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay, we appreciate feed back from our guests. I am glad you liked our newly renovated rooms. We are almost done with our renovation, we will have a new breakfast room, where we could serve an expanded breakfast within few weeks, and a new lobby for the comfort of our guests. Hope to see you soon.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

No frills hotel, noisy in the afternoon, parking lot very full, loud at night (and I mean 1 - 4 am), couldn't sleep, walls paper thin. bad neighborhood, but the place is being renovated so hopefully they get it right. Got put into a smoking room, I don't think they have aired that room out since whenever. Pool & Spa out of service during the renovation, at least get the Continental Breakfast working, that should be simple!

Room Tip: Get a Non Smoking Room, maybe stay close to the office, might not be as loud since I doubt managemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dsd1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
I am glad you chose to stay with us, as you mentioned our rooms are large and newly renovated, we currently in process of renovating, our pool, lobby. Our rooms are refreshed with new, carpet, furniture, bedding, and new amenties such as fridge,microwave,hair dryer,coffee maker,iron and ironing board. We do extend our applogies on our breakfast bar. We are in process of renovating a new breakfast room, that will be more comfortable and unable us to provide better breakfast offerings in the near future. Also I would like to say how sorry I am that you were disturbed by noisy guest during the night. Sometimes our guests tends to get loud, when they are having fun, we will attempt to remedy these situations better in the future, so our guests are having a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Cajon hotels

Santa cruz county Ca.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

got my price for the room on Priceline, $39.00 per night
Everything but the coffee maker was as expected- they quickly replaced the coffee maker with a one cup wonder, which for a coffee drinker, isn't of much use.
The mattress was better than what I have a home,
they are remodeling things there, the pool was closed. they have a free continental breakfast which is standard, from 6am to 9am, I was ready to leave early on check out but when I went to get the breakfast & hit the road- they must have overslept - not to worry- there was a 24hr convenience store 100ft away, tanked up my thermos and grabbed some sweet rolls and was out of there, on the road and breezed through LA without.even a slow down on the 5.

Room Tip: parking is tight , try and get an end room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BriskGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetan P, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our spacious newly renovated room, as you mentioned we are in process of renovating the pool area and a new breakfast facility to provide even better service. On your next visit try our suite or a kitchentte room with modern cooktop, and other facilities. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I got to admit, I feel I got a great deal with Hotel.com for the price location and cleaniess. I got to the hotel which name has been change from Super 8 to Howard Johnson, which I think Howard Johnson is better name. Was greeted by really nice people. So I goto my room, was happy there was a microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. Comfortable king size bed. And very clean room. I really enjoyed the poolside. There was even breakfast in the morning, all this for $32.00 night in June, Wow well worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank j1holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We booked our room through expedia and it cost very less here. Room was very spacious..nice amenities and comfortable bed.. more than what we expected !

Just a small tip.. breakfast was something that will not please you here so just keep something that you can eat here in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Snigdha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these El Cajon hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#3 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - El Cajon / San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
4.2 mi away
Sycuan Golf Resort
Sycuan Golf Resort
#2 of 14 in El Cajon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.6 mi away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#7 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East
Address: 588 N Mollison Ave, I-8 Exit Mollison Avenue, El Cajon, CA 92021-6143 (Formerly Howard Johnson)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Econolodge Inn & Suites, El Cajon Hotel, where you’ll experience an intimate, casual atmosphere with personalized service, contemporary amenities and customer-oriented features. Whether you’re here on a relaxing getaway vacation or an important business venture, you’ll appreciate our peaceful ambiance, hospitable service and convenient location without spending a fortune. Our friendly, professional staff ensures that your stay will be a memorable and relaxing experience. This El Cajon hotel is near all the attractions and activities that make this place such a fun destination. If you are looking for a hotel near fun things to do this hotel near San Diego Zoo is the perfect location to stay. We are also located within miles from Knotts Soak City and San Diego SeaWorld. Offering comfort and convenience to business and leisure travelers, this El Cajon Hotel offers value with cozy accommodations, amenities and easy access to restaurants, shopping and local area attractions. We offer our guest a more affordable room rate with luxury & friendly services. Relaxing Retreat, take a dip in our private, crystal clear swimming pool. Econolodge Inn & Suites will ensure your family a comfortable and relaxing stay. We offer plenty of room options and features especially designed to serve families traveling together. We welcome you to our hotel, and hope you enjoy your stay. Make your family vacation more attractive to Southern California - treat yourself to the Econolodge Inn & Suites. Choose this El Cajon Hotel for your travel needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites El Cajon San Diego East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson El Cajon/San Diego Area Hotel El Cajon
Super 8 El Cajon
Super Eight El Cajon
El Cajon Super 8
El Cajon Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing