We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Western Great Deal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Continental Inn
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Apple Valley
1 review
“Best Western Great Deal”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was recently in the El Cajon area to participate in a Poker Tournament- I needed a local hotel that would not break the pocketbook.
I booked at Best Western Continental Inn base upon valued and location.
Great decision on my part.
The price was a bargin - and it provided a great place to stay.
Good location, clean rooms, and very friendly and helpful staff.
Comfortable Beds - and a decent breakfast is included.
I will must certainly be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAppleValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    45
    45
    38
    38
See reviews for
111
48
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This Best Western is right off I-8 freeway. The room amenities were dated, but the room was very clean and the bed comfortable. I put the wall AC unit fan on and could not hear the traffic - slept well. The rooms open to the outside - not my favorite when traveling alone. The area around the hotel of just OK; gas station very near the front entrance of hotel. The continental breakfast was good. The staff at the front desk and breakfast area was very nice. The Denny's across the street was easy to walk to and food was great. i would stat again for one night or if i was with a traveling companion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNSNOWBIRD1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama, United States
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Admittedly, my husband and I went to this place because we found a bargain on the internet. We should have kept right on going and not stopped. There was a used hypodermic needle in the parking lot, as well as a lady sitting on the grass who had consumed a large bottle of alcohol. The latch was broken on the door, so we felt the need to put heavy furniture in front of it for some added measure of safety. The bed was very uncomfortable. Walls were thin, and we could hear the conversation in the room beside ours. I would not recommend this place at all.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these El Cajon hotels

San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I frequent this Best Western often, for a number of reasons -- the helpfulness of the staff, the pleasantness of the personnel, the cleanliness of the room, the comfort of the beds, a very nice pool and jacuzzi area (possibly the nicest, definitely the warmest, jacuzzi I have had the pleasure of enjoying, and so much more. The prices are very reasonable for the quality that you receive, and, I sincerely am looking forward to My next visit, which will be soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Due to some personal engagements in the greater San Diego area, we have been staying here repeatedly in the last several months. It is our preferred place to stay because of the location (ease of access to the greater San Diego & El Cajon area), the pricing, and the staff friendliness.

The rooms are straightforward & clean, with the standard amenities. The morning meal fixings make it simple to grab a quick bite & be out & about for the day.

The rooms have been getting updates this year, with new flat screen tv's & new mattresses, which are definitely appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amlabs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

But I will list out a few things that I find important:

The carpet with clean. Walked around a bit without shoes or socks. No stickiness or yucky feeling on my feet. Although I still preferred to wear booties.
The bathroom was clean. No mold or mildew. No slow draining tub. Good water pressure and heat. No dish to hold the bar soap next to the sink; not a big deal. But water and suds got all over the immediate counter.
Had a refrigerator and microwave. The microwave was very weak.
Bed was acceptable. No bed bugs. Average firm mattress.
The motel is sandwiched btwn the highway, which is hidden behind tree, and the main streets of El Cajon. Something to keep in mind of you're a light sleeper. Target is down the road if you need to grocery shop; Starbucks was a block away. The city's mall and downtown were a close drive as well.
All in all-would I ever return? Prob not. Chose this spot originally cuz the husband and I were there for business and we were not familiar with the area. This motel was very close to where we needed to be, and I get BWestern rewards. There is a second BWestern in town. When we're back next month, we'll check that place out unless there is a huge difference in cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntnttaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

BW Continental INN has become my hotel of choice in the San Diego area.
Great prices and good location.
It is an older Best Western - but clean and comfortable.
Great location - only 20 minutes to the beach and 20 minutes to Syscuan Casino (my favorite)
Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Best Western Seven Seas
Best Western Seven Seas
#140 of 278 in San Diego
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Continental Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Continental Inn

Property: Best Western Continental Inn
Address: 650 N Mollison Ave, El Cajon, CA 92021-5618
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Continental Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Best Western Continental Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Continental Hotel El Cajon
Best Western El Cajon
El Cajon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing