We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice”
Review of Sycuan Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sycuan Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We had to spend one evening in El Cajon and this was the closest place. The room was surprisingly nice, actually large, with a balcony overlooking a putting green. The bathroom was very nice-sized as well. The rooms face the golf course, so all you hear at night is muffled traffic; in the morning you may hear golfers. Both the reservation staff and the front desk people were very pleasant.

The place would be perfect If it wasn't for 1) the loud in-wall air conditioning and 2) the fact that you can only get two queen beds (no kings are available unless you get a suite).

If you are ever unfortunate enough to have to spend a night in El Cajon this is the place.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycuan_Resort_Team, Marketing Manager at Sycuan Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
We are glad you were pleasantly surprised and enjoyed your stay. Most of our guests enjoy how quiet and peaceful it is at our property, a great place to relax even if you are not a golfer. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are visiting El Cajon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    51
    14
    9
    6
See reviews for
24
53
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Our golfing group of 10 this year had another fabulous time using Sycuan G&TR as our base. In last year's review I mentioned the need for free WiFi. I'm really pleased to say Sycuan Management sincerely reads and responds to Tripadvisor comments. This year - free WiFI! And we're not talking about some cheap installation; I ran a speedtest on my iPad and clocked a serious 22 Mps. Worked great videostreaming with my Slingbox app.
Other improvements noted were the large HD TV screens in the lounge, the golf range, and on the courses. Compared to the other courses we played this week (La Costa, Steele Canyon, Barona), the Sycuan courses were in superb shape.
As always, the food and staff in the dining room were terrific. Besides the Wednesday Pasta nite, we also enjoyed Friday's Steak & Potato nite. We'd like to suggest bringing back the Monday Lobster nite!
Our week long stay includes a golf staycation package when we can play both courses on one day. We also received a golf clinic. Besides offering some valuable tips, golf director Clint made the short game lessons fun and enjoyable.
Plans are underway for our 2015 trip.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycuan_Resort_Team, Marketing Manager at Sycuan Golf Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed using our free Wi-Fi, as well as our other amenities, we are very proud of these improvements. Thank you for choosing Sycuan Golf Resort for your group, we look forward to seeing you in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My high school reunion was hosted here so I booked a room rather than drive back to my parents' home.
The front desk staff were very courteous, very friendly, and quite helpful.
I was a little apprehensive because the exterior, while well maintained, doesn't look too different from when I was a kid.
What a pleasant surprise!
My first floor corner room was gorgeous, very spacious, clean, and had a great view! I don't often take a photo of hotel rooms but I did this time. It was such a nice room.
I compared my photos to their website and judging by the website pictures, I guess I had a one bedroom suite. I'm surprised, given the low rate I paid. So I'd say it is an even better value!
I didn't golf, but I heard from some of my former classmates say they had a really good time on the course.

Room Tip: The corner rooms/one bedroom suites have great light and nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Had never been to this resort/casino before, so I pictured in my head the huge 5-6 story hotel types similar to Pechenga here in SD area. As we pulled up I thought we were in the wrong place, but no, this was actually it.... a cute small cozy hotel around 5 minutes drive up the road from the actual casino. We stayed only one evening, attended a concert at the small theater at the casino. (Horrible smokey casino with pretty shady looking customers.) The free shuttle drove us to/from the venue. Did not have a chance to experience the spa or bar on site.
The room was large with 2 Queens, and room for a roll away if you need it... Nicely updated and had a great view over the golf course / pool. I would come to the resort again, but stay clear of the casino...

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank parka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Oh my G!!!! Took my sister here for the "Mixed Double" package which included the 1 hour spa massage and the hotel room and it was so awesome I took my husband here the next weekend!!! The beds engulf you to dreamland! The showers are awesome and consistent hot water no matter what time of the day it is. You are taken to the casino via a shuttle whenever you need to go. We also tried the breakfast at the hotel restaurant and the Belgian waffle was PERFECT!!!! Already looking forward to our next weekend at Sycuan Resort. My only request is to look into changing that 400pm check in time, wow it is a long wait...

Room Tip: The check in time is at 400pm, plan to stay at the casino throughout the day until checking in, also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandLdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, NY
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Beautifully situated about 30 minutes east of San Diego. The rooms are nicely appointed, spacious with a really large bathroom. The only negative about the room was the small amount of drawer space for 2 people. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights mainly for the golf. The courses and really nice and in great condition. The entire staff at the hotel, restaurant and golf were all super friendly. The property is about a 10 minute drive to El Cajon. No need to go there for breakfast. The restaurant at the golf course serves fantastic food. We went there each morning for breakfast. Great menu choices and all delicious. Had dinner there 1 evening. My wife had the sea bass which she loved and I had a really good steak cooked perfectly. Went to the casino a few nights, a short drive away. The hotel has a shuttle if you prefer not driving. The casino does have a non smoking room. The hotel does not charge for interest access. If we were in the area we would definitely return to this property.

Room Tip: Upper floor if you don't mind steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ron2putt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We went here for a golf getaway over the weekend. We were a group all with separate rooms and a party at the end.

the Golf Course: Wonderful. Scenic. Challenging but forgiving. Well kept. Drink service was frequent and Josette made an awesome bloody mary.

the Bar: Good mix of drinks. Simple but tasty menu.

the Restaurant: Clean. Great Variety on the menu. I had "Joe's special" eggs for breakfast and it was the perfect breakfast after a night of partying.

the Rooms: Spacious. Overlooked the golf course. clean. Comfortable beds AND pillows. Large desk. Cozy linens (towels and sheets).

All of the staff was friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. The shuttle between the resort and the casino was frequent and it was constantly picking up and dropping off. Although we never made it to the casino, our next visit here will have us going.

If i had to choose a weekend getaway to Sycuan or Palm Springs, Sycuan wins hands down.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abeyta_CLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
3.0 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
153 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
806 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.1 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#27 of 278 in San Diego
1,927 reviews
11.1 mi away
Viejas Casino & Resort
21.1 mi away
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycuan Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycuan Golf Resort

Property: Sycuan Golf Resort
Address: 3007 Dehesa Rd, El Cajon, CA 92019-2806
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycuan Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycuan Golf Resort is located in the serene Dehesa Valley, just 20 minutes east of San Diego International Airport. Our relaxing property features 54 holes of Ted Robinson-designed golf nestled among 425 acres of resort accommodations, Red Tail Grill and Echo's Lounge, and the relaxing Primrose Spa. Each of our 100 guest rooms and suites features a view of the golf courses or swimming pools. Sycuan Casino is a short 3 miles away and is accessible by complimentary shuttle. As San Diego's only 3-course golf resort, Sycuan invites you to enjoy the variety of golf and resort amenities we offer, in a picturesque, relaxing location. Sycuan Golf Resort offers all the accommodations and amenities you would expect from a first class destination resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sycuan Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycuan Golf And Tennis Resort
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing