We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel and golf, shame about the wifi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sycuan Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sycuan Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Certificate of Excellence
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel and golf, shame about the wifi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The Sycuan Resort is quite nice. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Food is decent but not more than that (though I heard that the Eggs Benedict were very good). The golf course I played (Oak Glen) was in good condition, very pretty and quite challenging. I have no interest in the casino aspect so can't speak about that. BUT a charge of $9.99/day for WiFi is ridiculous, particularly when most places now offer free WiFi. I think they can get away with it ONLY because it is a couple of miles to get to the nearest free WiFi spot. Still, I'm sure they're making enough on the casino and resort that they could afford to give free WiFi. There are NO porters so you've got to hump your own bags. Choose a ground floor room for that but you'll hear anyone walking above you.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are nice for access but you hear anyone walking in the room above you. Choose ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UltimateWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    50
    14
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
52
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We booked a golf package at $199.. two rounds of golf and room. The rooms are great.They are 80's vintage but wonderfully redone. Huge bathrooms (no tubs) and spacious rooms. Wi fi is not included ($10.). Grounds are well maintained.
Golf was not so hot. Very shabby. Lots of play so I guess this is a deal.. Not sure what the round rate was but it must have been cheap since the course was loaded.
Weird deal with the Sycuan Casino.. They own the whole deal..The Casino is 3 miles from the hotel but shuttles are available at your call. We had a great meal at the Casino at their fine dining place.. 2 top sirloins plus the fixings for a very reasonable sum..
No drinking liquor on the floor of the casino. We are used to Nevada and desert casinos, we like to have our drinks when we gamble.. disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to attending the couples golf academy. We arrived at the hotel around 230 pm and were very disappointed when they told us check-in time was not until 4 PM. Once we finally got to our room we were impressed with being ground-level overlooking the putting green. Saturday morning we attended our golf instruction with Rick who I could not say kind enough words for. This guy was absolutely amazing patient courteous etc.... It was a very pleasant experience to learn from him. After three hours of instruction and golfing 18 holes we were looking forward to going back to our room to relax. They had not cleaned the room so we went to dinner then came home around 9 PM to find they completely forgot to clean the room. On our second day of golf we had 15 minute wait times on all par threes. They had stacked the course so busy that on several holes there was three groups waiting to tee off. By the 14th hole we had finally had enough and called it quits

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JQBarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went as a foursome from Colorado. In mid April. Absolutely fantastic! Incredible deal. The courses were in fantastic shape and the grounds are great. Got room and true unlimited golf w/ cart for unbelievable rate. This was our third year in a row here. Seriously, there isn't a bad thing I can say. And I usually don't have a problem with that when involving any type of business.

Room Tip: The beds sleep so well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patrick w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

I had to be at a meeting in El Cajon. You may be aware that El Cajon lacks nice hotels. But I did not want to fight traffic in and out of San Diego. Well, I found a great place to stay. This is a good and tennis place, but it is 10 to 15 minutes into town. Facilities are kind of 1960's look motel court, but nicely upgraded to current. New fixtures in the bath. Nice and comfortable beds. Good desk and power connections. The restaurant had GREAT food. Good options and good service. Conclusion: if you need to be in el Cajon, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidSHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

The grounds are lovely -- fabulous old trees with lanterns hanging off of them -- but the buildings are unimpressive: motel style. The rooms are OK however and the bathrooms huge. The balconies and patios look out over the golf course which is nice. There were two pools but each felt like an afterthought, sort of oddly placed and configured. I had to call the front desk for a towel as it was a significant distance from our room, but someone showed up in 15 minutes with two towels and a smile. There was no other option for "service" however at the pool -- just a Coke machine. This is really a hotel for golfers. I can't imagine they attract many guests who aren't there for that purpose given the lack of traditional resort amenities. Not sure I'd return unless there was some reason to be right about there in El Cajon.

Room Tip: No elevators (and no one who offered to help with our luggage), so request a ground floor room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 43reds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traveling3500
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great Customer Service from Golf Shop personnel .Wife and I play every week at Par 3- Pine Glen Course.Very challenging. Usually flows well, starting late morning Tee Time.They have 2 other Golf Courses at Sycuan. Very good shape, tricky greens, they have Senior Rates.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellng3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
4.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
7.2 mi away
Ayres Lodge Alpine
Ayres Lodge Alpine
#1 of 2 in Alpine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
BEST WESTERN Courtesy Inn
#3 of 14 in El Cajon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Continental Inn
8.3 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego - La Mesa
10.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lamplighter Inn & Suites at SDSU
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sycuan Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sycuan Golf Resort

Property: Sycuan Golf Resort
Address: 3007 Dehesa Rd, El Cajon, CA 92019-2806
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sycuan Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sycuan Golf Resort is located in the serene Dehesa Valley, just 20 minutes east of San Diego International Airport. Our relaxing property features 54 holes of Ted Robinson-designed golf nestled among 425 acres of resort accommodations, Red Tail Grill and Echo's Lounge, and the relaxing Primrose Spa. Each of our 100 guest rooms and suites features a view of the golf courses or swimming pools. Sycuan Casino is a short 3 miles away and is accessible by complimentary shuttle. As San Diego's only 3-course golf resort, Sycuan invites you to enjoy the variety of golf and resort amenities we offer, in a picturesque, relaxing location. Sycuan Golf Resort offers all the accommodations and amenities you would expect from a first class destination resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Sycuan Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sycuan Golf And Tennis Resort
Sycuan Golf & Tennis Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Hotel El Cajon
Sycuan Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing