We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge El Cajon
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    23
    21
    49
See reviews for
29
33
24
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way
2 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I wont stay again, nice town and there is a best western down the street that is much nicer. Because i went through expedia i wont get any reward points. Expedia sucks also for putting me in this hotel!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have been staying here on and off dice October 2011. The staff is very friendly and personable. Hemali the manager is very sweet, caring, help and intelligente.
I enjoy staying here

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtdavid85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Before I begin, I admit that I have stayed at this Travelodge a few times before. Yes, there used be problems, as described in previous reviews. But I have to say,the current owners have dedicated
themselves to completely changing and improving this property. The New, Clean and Renovated Rooms are Great! And at the good nightly rates (compared to other hotels in the area), I was pleasantly surprised. The Newly done Rooms have Fresh Paint, Brand New Carpet. Upper & Lower Crown Molding, Brand New Beds! (I know it was Brand New cuz the Furniture company just installed it as I was checking in), Marble Window sills..etc... From the way I remember the Rooms at this Hotel... It was like Night & Day... I am impressed (and that's not easy to do!).
They have also Renovated the Parking Lot Hardtop, it looks much better. The Swimming Pool (which, at my previous stays frightened me, it was dirty) is now Crystal Clear. I think I am most impressed by the Service. They were Nice, Happy, Professional people.... I can tell the Owner (who lives on site) is now dedicated to Improving and Renovating the Property. I also noticed they will not Tolerate Druggies and Homeless to Loiter. Fact: It's not a Hilton.. But this place has done a Big 180 degree Turn. They are still Improving. I Really like what I see. The Rates are still Great... I will Definately Stay here Again.. And for the First Time, I would Recommend to a Friend... Good Job El Cajon Travelodge!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobUSMC71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

The clientel they let stay here is scarey to say the least. The place is old and run down. The rooms are clean and decent. I was not happy with the noise andtraffic at the property.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickczap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Horribile Hotel Room!!!! Parking was horrible, didn't even have any spaces available in the lot, we had to park across the street. When we told owner/manager we wanted a refund he said no and gave us attitude. Once we get into the room it was tiny, and looked dirty! The bathroom is a tiny hole in the wall, we were even grossed out to take a shower there! We did not even sit on toilet, was old and stained! The air conditioner didn't even cool the room! After getting about 2 hours of sleep because I felt so uncomfortable there, i finally wake up to the noise of water running through the pipes and the neighbors talking....the walls are very thin as well! I don't think I'll ever stay at a Travelodge again after staying at this location!!!! Now I'm paranoid of having bed bugs after reading all these reviews! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME STAYING HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JStar19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011


I just recently stayed here couple of days ago for the night and I reserved the room through Hotwire and paid $56 for the night. We checked- in at night & their front desk to check- in was outside. Can you say Ghetto!? They had scary druggies just chilling outside their hotel rooms. I asked for a double bed but he said he would need to charge me $10 more, so I just stayed with a king. When we got to our room, it smelled like mold, the lock of the door was broken (someone must've broke in before). The walls isn't even pleasible to look at because there was holes everywhere. Bathroom windows had a little crack. Let's just say it looked like I was in that movie Vacancy. I didn't felt safe at all. The next morning, me and my husband had several bug bites so the bed do have bed bugs. If your allergic, then stay away. Based on my overall experience, I wouldn't stay here again. And $56 is way over priced for this nasty hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mscheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Cajon
1.2 mi away
Days Inn San Diego-East/El Cajon
2.0 mi away
Best Western Courtesy Inn
Best Western Courtesy Inn
#4 of 15 in El Cajon
146 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lodge Of La Mesa
Lodge Of La Mesa
#5 of 8 in La Mesa
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Continental Inn
0.5 mi away
Super 8 El Cajon CA
Super 8 El Cajon CA
#3 of 15 in El Cajon
238 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relax Inn and Suites
Relax Inn and Suites
#6 of 15 in El Cajon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge El Cajon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge El Cajon

Property: Travelodge El Cajon
Address: 425 W Main St, El Cajon, CA 92020-3321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > El Cajon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in El Cajon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge El Cajon 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located off Interstate 8, the Travelodge El Cajon provides easy access to El Cajon points of interest including San Diego State University, Barona Valley Ranch Casino, Viejas Casino & Outlet Center, Sycuan Casino and the Westfield Parkway mall. Nearby San Diego attractions include Qualcomm Stadium, the world renowned San Diego Zoo and SeaWorld San Diego. Perched on the edge of San Diego's pristine coastline, Seaport Village offers dozens of shops, boutiques and sidewalk eateries. The hotel is also close to Old Town San Diego, Mission Beach and Pacific Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge El Cajon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge El Cajon Hotel El Cajon
Travel Lodge El Cajon
El Cajon Travel Lodge
El Cajon Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing