We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, rustic feel and beautiful birds”
Review of Cedar Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Cozy rooms with space to be comfortable. Quiet and clean. The birds are very beautiful and add a little extra charm! Easy to find and get to from I-5. The rooms have fridge, microwave and TV with a fairly good selection of channels.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spolcys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your review Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 156 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

My wife and I stayed at cedar lodge in August and were very pleased with the condition of the room and the attitude of the owners Mike and Sylvia this was definitely the nicest room we had stayed in on our 3 weeks holiday in the USA it had a clean freshness about it and everything was well presented. Thankyou

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Cedar Lodge Motel last week and were very happy with our stay. The rooms are extremely clean and recently refurbished. We found our room to be nice and quiet ensuring a good night's sleep. The towels were so new and fluffy we had towel lint stuck in our hair. The owners were very nice and very kind. The motel is centrally located, good fishing nearby as well as a variety of attractions and parks.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike R, Owner at Cedar Lodge Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you for your review so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sylvia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

See the prior review for all of the info on this great motel, I fully concur with that more complete review. Just a great place to stay when I am up there fly fishing. It is nice to know that everything is clean and sanitary.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teecoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This is a family owned place and the pride of ownership really shows. There is a lovely outside sitting area with barbeques and benches with huge mature trees. There is a bird aviary which provides a choir of birdsong (which you can't hear from your room), it is very peaceful. The rooms are sparse but very clean, which is what is important to me, and it is very affordable, especially compared with rooms in Mt. Shasta. We hiked to Mossbrae Falls and McCloud River falls, so were delighted with the tranquility when we came back to our room! Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flwergrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were two women friends who traveled to the Shasta area for hiking and sightseeing. Our stay at Cedar Lodge Motel in Dunsmuir, Ca, July 11, 12, 13 was a very pleasant experience. As other reviews have mentioned, the prior owners came out of retirement a few years ago to repossess their former lovely property, after their buyer had let it deteriorate, reneging on the payments. Mike and Sylvia Robinson are doing a fantastic job to salvage their equity in this charming single-story motel shaded under the big cedars. Our spacious room (#1) was one of five that are now completely renovated with comfortable beds, (3 pillows each and extra blanket in the closet) frig, micro, flat-screen tv, new carpet, paint, tasteful simple décor, spotless bathroom w/ tub/shower. Towels were new, thick and large enough. If you don't need them changed daily, be sure to tell Marcia before she brings clean ones! There was a table w/ two chairs for eating in our room, plus a small table & 2 chairs just outside each room on the front porch. We loved that we could open windows on opposite walls, and in the bathroom, to enjoy the fresh mountain air. We did not even need to use the AC, which we were told was in good working order. A new ice machine is outside.
The large parking lot allowed for easy turnaround of trucks, and we could park right in front of our door. At the back, there's a lovely grassy picnic area w/ 2 BBQs and tables. Mike has redone his wonderful aviary and fish pond. The gardens are pleasing to the eye - all created and tended lovingly by Sylvia and Marcia.
The British owners and their relatives Cliff and Marcia all live on the premises, and are available 24 hours a day to offer their assistance and friendship. If we needed anything (more tea or coffee, a dish or whatever) Marcia told us to just ask. They really care about the comfort of the guests, and are working hard to bring the entire place back to its glory days. They keep everything very clean and functioning. I am already planning to stay again in the fall with other hiking friends. We will take the nice one-bedroom w/ full kitchen and patio/garden that sleeps up to six.
If you prefer to steer away from the cookie-cutter chains, and want a basic clean place to sleep, where you can cook in your room or outdoors, then this mom & pop motel is a terrific bargain. We really enjoyed chatting with our friendly hosts about the birds and the area. You can walk to a pretty waterfall, and the Sacramento River and Botanical Garden are just down the road. The I-5 entry/exit is very close.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Leigh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at cedar lodge motel this last 5 days and it is great place to stay Nice and quiet and clean. The rooms are clean and they work very hard to keep the rooms clean and to make the customer happy and comfortable. I would recommend this place to everyone that wants to come up and spend a few days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shasta2010_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
2.5 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
108 reviews
0.3 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
73 reviews
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
4.0 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
62 reviews
5.1 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#7 of 9 in Mount Shasta
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge Motel

Address: 4201 Dunsmuir Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-1723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: $53 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO CEDAR LODGE MOTEL! 5 mins from mnt Shasta Located at Dunsmuir Avenue, on business loop 5, Cedar Lodge Motel offers quiet, comfortable accommodations for the traveler, whether traveling north or south. Conveniently located in the shadows of Mt. Shasta, in the heart of the Siskiyou play land, Cedar is one of the highest-ranked motels in the Dunsmuir area. It is a favorite for individuals, couples, families and groups alike. We have the right kind of rooms with the right amenities to meet all of your expectations. In addition, we offer a myriad of outdoor activities in the vicinity. SKIERS WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Cedar Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing