We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop if you've got Dogs”
Review of Dunsmuir Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dunsmuir Lodge
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2009

With it's easy on/off access to the 5 this is great little place to spend a night or two with or without dogs. There is a great grassy meadow behind the hotel to let your dogs run although the railroad tracks are at the bottom so you need to be careful. This is throwback hotel from the sixties that's been somewhat upgraded, the bed is absolutely huge almost too big as it takes up most of the room! But, really for the money this a great stop, close to town, quiet with nice views of the trees. Our only complaint is that there aren't enough outlets in the rooms. A power strip would make a great addition for all of us tech laden travelers, phone chargers, MP3 players and computer gear to name a few items.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livinlargeinpanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2009

This was a nice place to stay. We stopped in off the road, and when we asked a local at the gas station, they said Dunsmuir Lodge was the nicest place in town. The place was real nice, and has gone through renovations. The beds were real comfy, along with four(!) pillows on the bed, and extras in the closet, and an extra blanket. We also had extra towels in the bathroom. These were big fluffy towels- not the hand towel-sized ones you normally get at a hotel! there was also cappuccino mix and hot chocolate w/ the coffee, a very nice touch. The people there were nice too. Overall, I would definitely stay again, and recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank racerXKelseyville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Dunsmuir Lodge was recommended by a friend and we weren't disappointed. Our room was comfortable and clean. The bed was big with a plush comforter and lots of big pillows. I normally don't sleep well away from home, but this bed was was so comfortable and relaxing that I was out in 5 minutes! The hotel grounds are nicely landscaped and have nice views of the surrounding mountains. The staff was friendly and recommended a couple of great local restaurants to us. We had a really nice weekend at this little getaway and plan on going back next time we get a chance.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Redwood33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2008

I have read all the reviews on the lodge before making our reservations. On the website the lodge appeared to be very cozy and inviting for our one night stay.
We are arrived at the lodge , it didn't look like the website picture of the hotel in fact we were unsure if this was the correct lodge other that reading the sign out front on the roadway.
Our room was quite dirty, carpet had many dirty spots were visible , we were afraid to walk on it barefoot !!! Bathroom towels were dirty, I unfolded the hand towel in the complementary basket and it was wet with dirty spots...room looked as they cleaned it in a hurry, or didn't brother to check if things were really clean....quite disappointing. If this is to be a pet friendly lodge, I would say I would not want my pet on lay down on the carpet...quite a mess!!!! This reminded us of of the Physco movie, BATES Motel....this was not a pleasant stay, we heard noises all night. In fact we could not sleep and left the hotel at 4am to start our next leg of our trip..
I would not recommend this lodge to any of my friends. Dunsmuir Lodge should really take note and update the rooms, understanding that this a pet friendly place, It should be more people friendly and make sure that items are in place and clean before a customer stays the night.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank binkiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

We stayed here 2 nights, with our teenager. "Suite" #3 which has a separate bedroom, so our teen could have his own room. His room was nice and large with a full size bed, dressers, table & chairs, tv, coffee maker, extra toiletries and airconditioning. The main room was a tad smaller but with a queen bed, tv, fridge, coffee maker, aircondioning and closet. The bathroom was small but very nicely done, quaint, clean and had a window.
The room was spotless, nice hard wood floors, and the beds were very comfortable. It was so peaceful, clean & quaint..
Outside the rooms you can smoke if you like, there were chairs, tables & recepticals. The soda & ice machines were located outside of the office near our room, no problem with noise from either. On the property if you walk down the stone stairs there are two brick fireplace/grills, one evening we made a fire and enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. On the property there are several nice picnic tables to enjoy as well with nice views. On top of the ice machine there is a small laundry basket with clean rags to wipe the dog, car, bike, spills...whatever. It was nice having them there, I did have to wipe down the plastic outdoor chairs but that's something I always do...like I said, it was nice to actually have clean rags available to do it with...
They did offer a continental breakfast in the mornings, nice big muffins, cereal, yogurt, fruit, coffee and juice. It was small but really adequate and really fresh....
The access on and off the highway was easy. When I called for a reservation for the Suite I also asked if they gave a discount for AAA members...they do not, however, she was more than happy to give us a 10% discounted rate. So there you go, that's customer service.
This was a very relaxed place, clean, comfortable and overall good value for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

After looking at the options between Dunsmuir and Shasta, we selected Dunsmuir. Based on past reviews from this site and information from the hotel's website, we settled on Dunsmuir Lodge. It is a cute inn, in an eccentric town. The king bed was a four poster bed (big wooden posters). Very comfortable and very clean. I looked high and low for anything to comment on with respect to the cleanliness and it was all tidy and clean. The previous reviewer is correct about the wiring. Very difficult to charge electronics. The bathroom is retro, with subway tiles as the decor. Fairly small shower (no tub in our room, but who needs it while on the road), with limited water pressure. Nice ammenities, and decent linens. No hair dryer, though.
Very close to town where there is an interesting collection of restaurants. The burger place has fantastic burgers, and to die for milkshakes. Apparently the Thai restaurant has fantastic food as well, although we did not eat there. If we were passing through again, I would certainly stay at the Dunsmuir Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank getmeoutoftherain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Nice place, great mountain scenery, clean comfortable beds, dog friendly, newer clean window treatments, non smoking policy.
Some whimsical electric wiring, outlet location not very convenient if you need to plug laptops, cell phones, etc. An extra night lamp would have been nice, because overhead lights are overly bright.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Sobrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
2.6 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
73 reviews
8.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
7.5 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#3 of 9 in Mount Shasta
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Swiss Holiday Lodge
Swiss Holiday Lodge
#5 of 9 in Mount Shasta
63 reviews
8.2 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
196 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cedar Lodge Motel
Cedar Lodge Motel
#2 of 6 in Dunsmuir
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsmuir Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsmuir Lodge

Address: 6604 Dunsmuir Ave, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2626
Location: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: $59 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dunsmuir Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunsmuir Lodge is located 1/2 mi. south of the town of Dunsmuir, and just 15 minutes from Mt. Shasta Ski Park. It is located on 4.5 acres of land and has a beautiful meadow with trees and a view of the forest across the canyon behind the lodge. All rooms are on ground level with easy access to your vehicle(s). It is a quiet and peaceful place to stay. Pets are welcome, $10 extra per pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Dunsmuir Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsmuir Hotel Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing