We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always the BEST!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Maddalena

Cafe Maddalena
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always the BEST!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

A must meal once in your life! You need to dine here to know what I mean. And there's a big difference between dinning and eating! Wonderful food and amazing owners and staff. Four stars......

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    21
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Surprising Restaurant in a Small Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The food was surprisingly good for the funky little town of Dunsmuir. I had a fish dish that was made in a "fish and chips" style, but not the greasy, heavy style so associated with f&c. It was light and fluffy and delicious.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rivetcatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth a stop into Dunsmuir”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Dunsmuir is a little town where about 50% of the buildings are empty. There's a lot of old fashioned charming architecture, but Dunsmuir is not a destination spot.

However, if you go, Maddalena's is probably the best dining there. It's small, with a big emphasis on fresh seasonal and creative recipes. We dined inside, but the patio dining looked very nice and intimate.

I had the pork loin on a bed of lentils and root vegetables. This was very good with lots of rich flavors. The meat was nicely seasoned and seared, but a bit dry. My husband had the carbonara, which he said was very good. We ordered the wild mushroom torte appetizer, which was also pretty good, but not great. The pear tart was the seasonal dessert special, so we thought we'd give that a try. The pears were dry and hard, but the topping was crispy and tasty. Flavors were nice, but texture and juiciness were lacking.

All in all, we thought that the meal was very good, but not exceptional. Service was excellent. Would we go back? Only if we were already in Dunsmuir and needed to dine, because there didn't seem to be anywhere else. Otherwise, we wouldn't necessarily make a big effort to return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WannabeTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tucked Away and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Cafe Maddalena's lack of fame is due primarily to its location in Dunsmuir which is a charming town but not a big tourist stop. Many people drive right by it (or through it) on the way to Mt. Shasta. Maddalena has developed a small but faithful following over the years and anyone who eats there once will make a point of returning when in the area. The food is excellent, well-prepared and ingredients are local when possible. Recent dinner choice there included a pasta with locally-gathered chanterelles. Service is very gracious and atmosphere is friendly and inclusive.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsmuir, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG THE BEST FOOD IVE EVER ATE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

WOW!!! This restraunt is the best !!! EVERYTHING i ate here was fantastic,i recommend this place to anyone!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris N JoAnna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe Maddalena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing