We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful step out of the ordinary”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunsmuir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Railroad Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Oregon
Level Contributor
183 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful step out of the ordinary”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Who needs another Best Western or Holiday Inn, when you can stay in a real Caboose, surrounded by craggy mountains and the fresh air of northern California. You will stay in a caboose that has air conditioning, refrigerator, small TV ( who needs it..,) and a great shower! Coffee maker is provided as is wireless, although that may be weak depending on where you are. The pool and hot tub are nice additions too for the family.

Get out of the ordinary and indulge yourself in a wonderful step back to the glory days of railroad cars. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a caboose near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpn7330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    67
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
74
81
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Whether you are passing through the Shasta National Forest or making Dunsmuir a destination, the Railroad Park Resort is a terrific mountainside Roadside Attraction. The railroad park, set in a stunning canyon next to a small stream - a tributary of the Sacramento River, is a delight for both kids and adults with kids' imaginations. Nicely nicely spaced around a great outdoor swimming pool (and jacuzzi for the colder weather), the railroad car "rooms" are clean and adequately sized, with air conditioning for the hot summer days, TV's with cable, coffee makers and refrigerators. We enjoyed playing in the stream, breathing the pine-scented mountain air, and soaking up blue sky and sunshine around the pool. In the right season you can fish from the stream or go into Dunsmuir Town Limits and fish in the Sacramento River.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShikokuGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is not the Ritz but it is a fun and totally different "motel". There are 28 railroad cars, all with queen or king sized beds. Needless to say the walls are thick and there are no adjoing rooms. We found our refurbished caboose to be a great accommodation.We also had dinner at the restaurant there was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
186 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

How many times in your life will you get to stay in a real caboose or a boxcar? This place has several, complete with modern washrooms, TV, phone, bar fridge, and everything else you would expect to find in a "regular" hotel room. The cabooses and boxcars circle a pool, hot tub and central BBQ area. There are also dining cars and a bar car, but for some reason they are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays. If you're looking for something different, give this place a try.

Room Tip: Try to schedule your visit here to be other than on a Monday or Tuesday so you can enjoy the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talisker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Let me start by saying if you are expecting a fancy "Ritz-Carlton" type of place to stay - this may be disappointing for you. However, if you want to indulge your childhood fantasies and sleep in a REAL rustic railroad caboose - this will do it for you. The cabooses have been completely refurbished to nearly original standards. Our caboose (#15), had a full bathroom, a very comfortable king sized bed, color TV and small refrigerator. Each caboose is separated from the other cabooses and very, very quiet inside. No one is sharing a bedroom wall, and no one is above or below you. No hair dryer for the ladies - so be sure to bring one if you need it. There is a restaurant on site within a dining railroad car or you can drive the short distance to Dunsmuir, where there are several restaurants to choose from. The park has a small pool with a jacuzzi. Our caboose had air conditioning which was nice as it gets pretty hot during the summer, but cools right down in the evening making it nice for sleeping. There are a lot of dragonflies, bees and wasps flying around so be sure to take bug spray if you need it. The bugs weren't a problem for us, but they may be for some people with allergies. The caboose was incredibly clean and bugs were not a problem inside. Put this one on your bucket list folks, we really enjoyed it !!

Room Tip: Check the internet site for pictures of interior cabooses and cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skipadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottonwood, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Absolutely a great experience. Sleeping in a caboose with a capula on top for viewing and enjoying a beverage. The peaceful surroundings, a very picturesque view of Craig Mountain. Pool, Spa, Great train dining car restaurant and lounge opens at 4pm. 4-5 days a week. Go to the caverns in shasta, or walk behind the waterfall in Dunsmuir not far away. FUN FOR THE YOUNG AND THE OLD.

Room Tip: If your lucky enough to catch the owner who built the railroad park visits the lounge around 4-5pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed one night in a "king caboose". It was one of the coolest places I have ever stayed. The caboose was very comfortable with TV, full bathroom with shower. The grounds are nice with beautiful scenery. Dunsmuir is a nice little town with good restaurants and shops. Plenty of hiking trails and a near by lake. I wish we could have stayed a few more days.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emtdan61270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
8.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Tree House
#1 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#5 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
8.3 mi away
Strawberry Valley Inn
Strawberry Valley Inn
#4 of 9 in Mount Shasta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
Oak Tree Inn Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
9.3 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
8.2 mi away
Shasta Inn
Shasta Inn
#6 of 9 in Mount Shasta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Park Resort

Property: Railroad Park Resort
Address: 100 Railroad Park Rd, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in a Caboose....Eat on the Train. More than a place to lay your head; it's a step back into railroad history while enjoying modern comforts. Breathe in the pine-fresh air and relax beneath the beauty of Castle Crags. An adventure awaits you. Chose an authentic caboose, rustic cabin or the RV park and campground. Pets are welcome and a walk around Murphy's Pond is just the ticket for travel weary legs. Dine in the historic Wells Fargo or Pullman Car. Sip your favorite cocktail surrounded by railroad memorabilia. Ah! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railroad Park Hotel Dunsmuir
Railroad Park Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing