We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and very unique”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dunsmuir
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Railroad Park Resort
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Unique is the key word here. The cabooses are a thing of the past and so staying in one is such an unusual and delightful experience. We had 2 cabooses (traveling with another couple) and so we got to see the insides of 2 types of cabooses- one with and one without cupola. Both were great, but the one with the cupola was especially fun for us

We had car #28 which was beside the river and had good views of the Castle Crags and it had a cupola. We also had car #22 across from it which also had good views of the Crags and was along the river, but also beside the pool. They were great locations for views and close to the river and pool. Car #28 had a queen bed only and Car #22 had a queen bed and two twin beds.

Both cars had a small fridge, microwave, and table (larger table in the car with only 1 bed). The bathroom had shower, toilet and sink. Amenities were basic - soap and shampoo, shower cap. Plenty of towels. I don't believe there was a hair dryer (I could be wrong, because I brought my own). The rooms were very clean and air conditioned. Car #22 had a large flat screen TV, no DVD player. Car #28 had a smaller TV and again no DVD player. There were train tracks a ways away and the train whistle would blow softly during the day and night at times, adding to the ambiance. The resort had wifi, but because the cars were made of metal, you had to go outside to get a signal, and it was easy to use around the pool.

The pool was clean as could be, as was the hot tub. We had an issue with mosquitoes in the evening, probably because we were near a river, so bring repellent if you're sensitive to bites. The views of the Crags were quite nice and I HIGHLY recommend this place.

We got in around 8:30 which is when the office was closing- so we were fortunate. So if you're going to be checking in after 8:30, be sure to arrange for late arrival. We hadn't planned on being so late, but the views in the area were spectacular and we'd stopped a lot along the way here. There wasn't a restaraunt at the resort, but we made a run into town for beverages (maybe 5 minutes away by car) at a small store, then drove into town for breakfast the next morning.

Now. Was this a resort? Some people complained in previous reviews that this was misleading. Miriam Webster Dictionary definition: "resort: a place providing recreation and entertainment especially to vacationers," which is exactly what this did. It's situated near the Pacific Crest Trail, in a beautiful location along a river, with unique and fun motel rooms. Does it have terry cloth bath robes? No. Whirlpool bathtubs? No. It's WAAAAY better.

Room Tip: Ask for a car along the river when booking, and a cupola if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marsha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 239 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

Kids will love staying the night in a refurbished caboose with tons to see at the resort including a pond, streams, a pool and old rail cars and memorabilia including an iron engine only 1 of 5 in the world. Dining in an actual, albeit stationary, dining car is also a treat. Food is decent. Only complaint is they aren't open for breakfast but we remedied that with a amazing brunch at cornerstone cafe in dunsmuir. Resort setting is stunning beneath the towering rocks of castle crags. Staff are friendly. A must-stay place!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steffania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a road trip to Portland, Oregon. I cannot recommend them enough. Not only did we get to sleep in a caboose but the front desk clerk was super helpful with dinner recommendations and things for our room. The views are awesome too. The room was spacious and warm. The pool and grounds were clean and well tended. And did I mention all the train cabooses are so stinkin' cute?

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parkershouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Yes, these rooms are literally old train cars with cupolas that have a spectacular view of the Castle Crags, but the accommodations are a bit tired and worn for the money. The restaurant was closed while we were there, so you need to go to town for food (where there are some great restaurants and a welcoming brew pub). They are dog friendly- a bonus for us. On the down side, the shower was no more than a mister, the heater was loud and constantly cycling on and off during the night, and housekeeping missed a few cobwebs. All in all, a fine stopover, but not worth a destination.

Room Tip: Get a caboose with a cupola- the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LoulieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We arrived late, but the owner made arrangements for us to get in late. We were hardly aware of the surroundings. What fun to sleep in a railroad car at least once in your life! The hot tub was great even though it was freezing outside. The car we were in sloped a little so expect to get cozy in bed. Wow, what a setting to wake up to. Mountains all around and railroad cars everywhere.

Room Tip: We stayed in one by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

we drive between reno and seattle every year - and always stop here. Dog friendly, great pool, beautiful view and super fun for my son. We actually look forward to the drive now.

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room. But - the caboose with the loft looks fun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSunshineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Staying in the Caboose Motel was one of the highlights of our road trip. They have done such a great job here. It was a big hit with the kids and Mom & Dad. We had plenty of space in our Caboose with a Queen bed and two twin beds. The beds were clean & comfortable. The setting is beautiful. I wish we had more time to explore while we were there. Just a fun experience that we will not soon forget.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a Caboose. They do have regular rooms as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Bug-a-Boos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunsmuir
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Tree House
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Dunsmuir
Travelodge Dunsmuir
#6 of 6 in Dunsmuir
74 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dunsmuir Lodge
Dunsmuir Lodge
#4 of 6 in Dunsmuir
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
McCloud Hotel
McCloud Hotel
#1 of 3 in McCloud
201 reviews
9.3 mi away
McCloud Mercantile Hotel
2.3 mi away
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railroad Park Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railroad Park Resort

Address: 100 Railroad Park Rd, Dunsmuir, CA 96025-2604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Dunsmuir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Dunsmuir
Price Range: $75 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep in a Caboose....Eat on the Train. More than a place to lay your head; it's a step back into railroad history while enjoying modern comforts. Breathe in the pine-fresh air and relax beneath the beauty of Castle Crags. An adventure awaits you. Chose an authentic caboose, rustic cabin or the RV park and campground. Pets are welcome and a walk around Murphy's Pond is just the ticket for travel weary legs. Dine in the historic Wells Fargo or Pullman Car. Sip your favorite cocktail surrounded by railroad memorabilia. Ah! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railroad Park Hotel Dunsmuir
Railroad Park Dunsmuir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing