We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Railroad Park Resort
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Dunsmuir(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Inn & Suites Hotel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsmuir Lodge(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
$97
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Lodge Motel(Dunsmuir)(Great Value!)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss Holiday Lodge(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mount Shasta Resort(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shasta Inn(Mount Shasta)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Strawberry Valley Inn(Mount Shasta)(Great Value!)
$139
$135
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Lodge(Mount Shasta)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
149
76
13
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
76
13
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining carcastle cragsrail carsgift shopunique experiencefun place to staysmall creekprime ribpool and hot tubbeautiful settingroad tripknotty pinecreek runningreal traingreat for kidsrv sitesnice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
225 - 230 of 248 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2007

dusty, cramped little train cars with worn out beds and linens--not at all comfortable, very poorly insulated/ventilated--I was miserable with asthma and allergies the whole time and attribute it directly to the musty caboose and very poor ventilation;

service is unhelpful and indifferent, bordering on rude, not a warm, welcoming atmosphere at all; grounds are not well-kept, I got the feeling no one really cares about appearance and upkeep;

restaurant only open Sat and Sun;
not recommended

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank chazo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

I was worried that the railroad park would be tacky and loud but it was just the opposite. The railroad cars are well preserved, the rooms are surprisingly comfortable and the setting is rustic and peaceful. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

Stayed: September 2007
Thank rjr0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

So cool to observe history and partake in some of it. The caboose cars are restored into lovely individual bedrooms with lots of wood paneling (ceiling included), a small but adequate refer and heating or air conditioning. Plenty of elbow room and quiet too! Dinner rooms are also restored rail cars which complimented the excellent fare. Service to a "T" with a friendly proffesional touch. A nice place to relax and commune with nature as our home is in Paradise, Ca. and the name says it all. Would reccommend to anyone anytime. A pleasure to see old objects still in use rather than in a scrap pile. Regards: Bob n' Melvina M.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Melbobski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

This place is great if you are a family that is into the outdoors.
This is not the "Ritz Carlton" but a friendly little place tucked away
in the mountain side , next to Castle Crags State PArk.
The caboose rooms are just that, rooms made out of cabooses.
They are clean with a good size refrigeratior in each caboose.
There are also cabins that you can reserve which have a little more living space in them. Some have kitchenettes with a large living area between it and the bedroom. My family likes caboose #8 because it has a very nice shady pine tree next to the creek than runs through the resort and you can keep an eye on the pool from this location as well. It is also dog friendly and only charge $10 a night for your pet.
The restaurant is only open on Friday and Saturday now but if you go, try the almond crusted halibut! If it is during the week, the Pizza Factory in Dunsmuir delivers directly to your caboose or drive a whole mile into Dunsmuir for a variety of venues. The kids will love the Burger Barn or Hot Dog Depo.
Have fun !!!! We always do. Stay quiet in the pol and you can swim until midnight!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank deadzheadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Our son loves trains, so we booked two rooms (a caboose and a cabin) here. We booked the rooms by calling the hotel directly, and we were very clear that we required rooms with 2 beds that were preferably close together. They said it would not be a problem.

We arrived to find that both requests were ignored. We were given rooms with only one bed each located far apart. While we could deal with the distance, the one bed was a problem. When we asked at the front desk, they were indifferent. They said "I don't understand what the problem is". To us it was simple - we booked a room w/ 2 beds you gave us a room with 1. They said there were none available, and seem irritated that we were bothering them with such a petty complaint.

Also - the website promotes the on-site dining cars, but be forewarned - they are only opened on weekends. You must drive into town to eat. during the week.

The caboose and cabin were pretty worn, but reasonably clean - maybe one star.

It's a good place if you have kids who love trains, but don't expect a friendly reception or for them to respond to any problems or concerns. Don't expect to get what you book.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Bob999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews