We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hospitalilty. Quirky. Clean!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Hospitalilty. Quirky. Clean!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here one night in the middle of our camping trip to take advantage of the locale to the west entrance of Sequoia and King Canyon (off HWY 180). It was interesting coming up to the place in the middle of nowhere, but the folks were super nice, the room was CLEAN,they serve you a nice continental breakfast in the morning, and great amenities (free internet). Mention if you are military and Cyndi takes off the tax! :) I Highly recommend this spot!

Room Tip: Top floor...has a deck with chairs and a fridge and microwave to use!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitchyPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
20
32
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012 via mobile

I pulled in here after deciding that the places in the park weren't good value for money and the were a couple of rooms free.

It is definitely quirky although I don't think motel does it justice but neither does hotel. It has a feel of an 'out dated' English B&B to it but for all the right reasons.

There was a real mixed crowd of nationalities staying when I was there which made for a great conversation.

It isn't the near any place to eat so I was given the offer to eat there and the Chicken Alfredo was nicely home cooked and a much more sensible portion size than I'd had all trip! I think the huge wooden bar area needs a bit of development but the whole communal sitting/dining area had a very spacious feel about it, despite the crazy decor. A lovey old wood burning stove in the corner made a real treat.

Rooms were very clean and had patchwork quilts on the beds. Breakfast fine but nothing more than standard fare of waffles and cereal.

In area that seemed to be quite expensive (purely around location rather than quality it seems) this option I think is a good value find if you can be bothered to drive the 10-15min outside King Canyon Park (I paid ~$90 inc. dinner)

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoys_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cordova, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

After getting lost after dark in King's Canyon, we were extremely tired and just needed a place to eat and sleep. We pulled into the Snowline Lodge at about 11:30 p.m. After asking about a room, we asked about suggestions on where we could find a bite to eat. Cyndi went to her kitchen (remember...it was almost midnight by this time) and cooked us up a fantastic meal. She set up a table upstairs on the balcony and served it. After waking up late the following morning and getting our suitcases in the car, Cyndi told us that there were waffles and oatmeal inside if we wanted some. It was about 11 a.m. and, where most motels or hotels would have put all their continental breakfast items away, she waited for us to get up and fed us! Although it was not the nicest place we've ever stayed, it certainly was the most friendly! The rooms were clean and had character. And, the location made for an extremely peaceful night. I compare it to staying in a sweet little cabin in the woods...in need of a few repairs. We hope that people don't go on first impressions and give it a try.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DBruce58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Okay, so the place is not the Hilton -- not even the Holiday Inn. But it was fun. Clean bed and bathroom, quiet, and interesting, eclectic stuff. And the best part of all is Cindi -- she clearly loves people and will do anything within her power to make you happy. Also, a great location - just a few miles outside of Kings Canyon. I say, go for it! You won't meet a nicer proprietor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Very friendly staff a few bugs but they are not to be found in our room. In the morning we got delicouis pancakes. At first the hotel doesnt come off as pretty and the black cat isnt a good sign but the luck is not needed becuase it is a fine establishment

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcquackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed one night at Cyndi’s Snowline Lodge during June 2011 after making a reservation by phone. We were excited to find a location so close to the park, especially one week in advance. The rate was very reasonable compared to places inside the park. Upon arrival, we noticed that the outside property needed a lot of cleaning. For example, we saw old junk including rusty vehicles, campers, wheel barrows, grills, etc. The lobby and check in area on the first floor is an old bar room that smelled very musty. There was tons of old furniture from when the room still functioned as a bar such as a piano with a lady mannequin on top, old leather couches, faded artwork, dusty knick-knack’s, etc.

There are four rooms located on the second floor. We stayed in room 4, which had been remodeled. We found the room to be very clean and quaint in contrast to the rest of the property. The bathroom included a new sink, tiled shower, and toilet. There were also brand new sheets and towels. The room had a small TV and DVD player, although we did not use them. There was only one accessible electrical outlet in the room and none in the bathroom.

In summary, this place has potential, but friendly Cyndi has a lot more work ahead of her. Renting a large dumpster to clean-up the property would go a long way. Anything to improve curb appeal, such as trimming the weeds and planting flowers would also attract more customers. We saw a few cars pull in and turn right around after looking at this place. This emphasizes that first impression is everything. Unfortunately, although the hospitality and room cleanliness was superb, this is only one piece of a lodging experience. Without further renovations to this property, we would not recommend staying here at this time.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank NatlPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

this is a building owned by a lady named cyndi. she has great intentions of creating a great resort but it has a way to go still. the building has 4 upstairs rooms for guests. the property had several, maybe 4-5 campers that i think had people living in them. the room was clean and dry. heat was via a space heater. there was a pot of coffee and waffles provided in the morning complimentry. i had quite a time communicating with her prior to my arrival. the location is great in the beautiful mountains just a few minutes from the entrance to kings canyon natl park. with that said, based on a concern for the safety of the structure, and feeling that my families safety may have been too much at risk, I am going to recommend not staying at this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happytravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlap
11.3 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
5.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
19.8 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Cedar Grove Lodge
Cedar Grove Lodge
#4 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
24.4 mi away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
22.4 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Property: Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Rd, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Dunlap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cyndi's Snowline Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing