We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of Character!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dunlap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cyndi's Snowline Lodge
Reviewed June 3, 2012

After getting lost after dark in King's Canyon, we were extremely tired and just needed a place to eat and sleep. We pulled into the Snowline Lodge at about 11:30 p.m. After asking about a room, we asked about suggestions on where we could find a bite to eat. Cyndi went to her kitchen (remember...it was almost midnight by this time) and cooked us up a fantastic meal. She set up a table upstairs on the balcony and served it. After waking up late the following morning and getting our suitcases in the car, Cyndi told us that there were waffles and oatmeal inside if we wanted some. It was about 11 a.m. and, where most motels or hotels would have put all their continental breakfast items away, she waited for us to get up and fed us! Although it was not the nicest place we've ever stayed, it certainly was the most friendly! The rooms were clean and had character. And, the location made for an extremely peaceful night. I compare it to staying in a sweet little cabin in the woods...in need of a few repairs. We hope that people don't go on first impressions and give it a try.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DBruce58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

Okay, so the place is not the Hilton -- not even the Holiday Inn. But it was fun. Clean bed and bathroom, quiet, and interesting, eclectic stuff. And the best part of all is Cindi -- she clearly loves people and will do anything within her power to make you happy. Also, a great location - just a few miles outside of Kings Canyon. I say, go for it! You won't meet a nicer proprietor.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Very friendly staff a few bugs but they are not to be found in our room. In the morning we got delicouis pancakes. At first the hotel doesnt come off as pretty and the black cat isnt a good sign but the luck is not needed becuase it is a fine establishment

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mcquackin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed one night at Cyndi’s Snowline Lodge during June 2011 after making a reservation by phone. We were excited to find a location so close to the park, especially one week in advance. The rate was very reasonable compared to places inside the park. Upon arrival, we noticed that the outside property needed a lot of cleaning. For example, we saw old junk including rusty vehicles, campers, wheel barrows, grills, etc. The lobby and check in area on the first floor is an old bar room that smelled very musty. There was tons of old furniture from when the room still functioned as a bar such as a piano with a lady mannequin on top, old leather couches, faded artwork, dusty knick-knack’s, etc.

There are four rooms located on the second floor. We stayed in room 4, which had been remodeled. We found the room to be very clean and quaint in contrast to the rest of the property. The bathroom included a new sink, tiled shower, and toilet. There were also brand new sheets and towels. The room had a small TV and DVD player, although we did not use them. There was only one accessible electrical outlet in the room and none in the bathroom.

In summary, this place has potential, but friendly Cyndi has a lot more work ahead of her. Renting a large dumpster to clean-up the property would go a long way. Anything to improve curb appeal, such as trimming the weeds and planting flowers would also attract more customers. We saw a few cars pull in and turn right around after looking at this place. This emphasizes that first impression is everything. Unfortunately, although the hospitality and room cleanliness was superb, this is only one piece of a lodging experience. Without further renovations to this property, we would not recommend staying here at this time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank NatlPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

this is a building owned by a lady named cyndi. she has great intentions of creating a great resort but it has a way to go still. the building has 4 upstairs rooms for guests. the property had several, maybe 4-5 campers that i think had people living in them. the room was clean and dry. heat was via a space heater. there was a pot of coffee and waffles provided in the morning complimentry. i had quite a time communicating with her prior to my arrival. the location is great in the beautiful mountains just a few minutes from the entrance to kings canyon natl park. with that said, based on a concern for the safety of the structure, and feeling that my families safety may have been too much at risk, I am going to recommend not staying at this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank happytravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2011

I posted a review about this lovely place under the "Snowline Motel" Just wanted to reiterate how much we enjoyed our stay! Cyndy and Jeff have really worked hard to overcome the previous owners bad rep.... The rooms are extremely clean, the service was great, the location perfect! Thanks for a wonderful weekend! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank taholocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

We happened on this place on the way out of Kings Canyon. We were going to camp, but the weather didn't cooperate...The owners, Cindy and Jeff are very nice and friendly. The rooms are unique and very clean. Loved the breakfast on the deck! they provided coffee, tea, milk, oatmeal, toast,and make you own waffles every morning. As another reviewer put it, the downstairs is a work in progress and has lots of potential. There are only 6 rooms, so the motel has a nice comfy feeling to it. They sent us to a resturaunt for dinner, down the hill a bit where the food was very good and we even got a discount. I would stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taholocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunlap
11.3 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer Family Camp
Montecito Sequoia Lodge & Summer...
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
654 reviews
5.8 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
549 reviews
19.8 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
2,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
9.1 mi away
The Branded Calf B & B
The Branded Calf B & B
#1 of 1 in Squaw Valley
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cyndi's Snowline Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cyndi's Snowline Lodge

Address: 44138 E Kings Canyon Rd, Dunlap, CA 93621-9711
Location: United States > California > Dunlap
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Dunlap
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cyndi`s Snowline Hotel Dunlap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing