We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals night: fab”
Review of Sophie's Cellars

Sophie's Cellars
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 6, 2018 via mobile

Saw this place on the internet so we went for the local wine and cheese platter on a Friday at 4pm: John and David were super friendly and knowledgeable hosts and John clearly had extensive knowledge of the wines on offer. We opted for a bottle of rose and sat out on the patio overlooking the hills: gorgeous. The cheese platter was delicious and a perfect complement to the wine: there’s a fire pit too and the ambience is very relaxed and friendly, we were so pleased we visited here.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank CathySiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 20 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2018 via mobile

We visited during a recent camping trip. It was the best thing we did all week! Wine was excellent, cheese was outstanding and staff was A#1.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Tatebiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

No one, at least locally, knows more about wine, soil, and growing conditions that John, a proprietor of Sophie's Cellars in wonderful downtown Dujncans Mills. Well, actually, the town is only about a block long. It is, however, is a MUST STOP on your journey to The Coast.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

The owner is a wealth of information. I learned a lot about wine. I like how he basically poured a flight and we could take them all outside and enjoy the perfect weather.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank barkus1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2017

Let me add my voice to the praises heaped on John and his enterprise, Sophie's Cellars. His wine knowledge is encyclopedic but offered without condescension or any sort of superior attitude. He simply shares his passion and makes it fun and appealing. He also manifests it in the small but superbly chosen inventory he keeps on hand. I haven't enjoyed the Happy Hour but was there when it was being laid out and sincerely lamented the fact that I simply had to leave to meet friends.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Commci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Cellars also viewed

Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
 
Jenner, Sonoma County
Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sophie's Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing