We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bike stop - so-so restaurant”

Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Dulzura
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Take a trip back in time to Old California when you visit Barrett Junction Cafe and Mercantile. This historic building has been a local hot spot for 100 years. Barrett Junction Cafe serves its Famous ALL YOU CAN EAT Country Breakfast Buffet on the weekends and Family Style Fish Fry every day of the week. Enjoy our family style dining room. Room enough for 200 people (now that's a BIG family!) And our outdoor patio comfortably seats 300. Book your next family reunion or club event with us. Clubs and organizations, families, and individuals are always welcome.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This place is a good bike rest in a long and windy road. The best I can say about it is that the beers are cold and the chairs don't rattle.
The food? Just like stopping by Costco's deli...

Thank CamyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Thank you for the kind review. It is regrettable you did not enjoy the food as much. Since your visit there have been many changes. We look forward to your visit again, we are sure you will enjoy your meal this time. Again thank you for taking the time out to provide a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Great service, Bill has been there for 22 years. Small diner feel. The BBQ ribs were amazing. Drinks were cheap. The ride up there is great on a motorcycle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Hello, as the new social media manager and virtual office assistant it has fallen to me to review and supply a thank you for the reviews here at TripAdvisor.

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a wonderful review of the food and cafe in general. We hope you come again soon.

Your time and consideration are welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The food is ok. My hubby really likes the ribs but the place is GROSS. ALWAYS check you glasses and eating utensils BEFORE you use them. EVERY time we have gone (yes, more than once;-P) my glass has had lipstick on it or gunk in it. Yuck!

The merchantile is the biggest rip off in history. DO NOT buy anything from these crooks. They will sell you junk and try to tell you it's an antique. Don't be fooled like I was. Buyer Beware.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SnapDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Public Relations Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

SnapDragonfly,

I am so sorry that you had such a bad experience visiting our cafe the last time you were there. I would like you to know that in the past year and half, efforts have been made to clean up and improve the conditions. The staff has changed and we are always striving to improve.

Thank you for sharing your review. I hope you come out to see us again.

By the way, the cafe does have collectibles and memorabilia for sale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Barrett Junction Cafe is basically out in the middle of nowhere, however it is a great place to not only have a good meal, but to also enjoy the scenic ride there and back. It is 19 miles from the 94 intersection at Jamacha Rd (where the Edward's theaters are) and from there takes about 30 minutes to get to.

I had not been out there in about 35 years and now I am sorry I had not gone back more often. We had the infamous fish fry dinner and it was just as wonderful as I remembered it. Food is served family style and there is more than enough to eat. The fish was flaky, tender and delicious. The atmosphere is just funky and fun, like being back in the old West.

We were a group of 8 and the service was first class. Not only was our waitress one of the best servers I have ever had, but the owner even made time to come over and talk to us.

If your tired of the "same old same old", hop in the car and head out here. It is also kid friendly, so take the whole family. They will have a great time and this place will not break the budget, as prices are very reasonable. You will be glad you went. We will definitely go back again and certainly a lot sooner than 35 years.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager & VA at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Hello, as the new social media manager and virtual office assistant it has fallen to me to review and supply a thank you for the reviews here at TripAdvisor.

Thank you for taking the time to provide a wonderful review of the cafe. Your time and kindness are appreciated.

We hope you come out again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Barrett Junction is about 25 miles from San Diego and is a beautiful drive out Highway 94 to Dulzura, through golden pastures and rocky hillsides . Everything in the restaurant is like it was 40 years ago--the Alaskan cod is lightly breaded with tartar sauce or vinnegar on the side, the hush puppies are served with honey, and there are sides of a surprisingly fresh lightly dressed salad, beans and wheat pilaf. There are long red-checkered plastic covered tables and a funny little area as you come in with a mixture of old west items, second hand glasses and dishes, etc. Big sign outside says "Rattlesnake eggs" but we never asked....Great place to go with a group of friends or family. This is a family owned business that does not advertise--and it should! It's great fun, and great food and like stepping back in time! (I forgot to mention that their barbeque is also superb, but we can never get past the fish!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SpringValleyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Hello, as the new social media manager and virtual office assistant it has fallen to me to review and supply a thank you for the reviews here at TripAdvisor.

Thank you so much for taking the time out to provide your experience visiting the cafe. Our Fish Fry is still served daily all day. Your kind words and time are appreciated.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing