We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dinner Destination for Best Fish Fry in the County”

Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Dulzura
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Buffet
Description: Take a trip back in time to Old California when you visit Barrett Junction Cafe and Mercantile. This historic building has been a local hot spot for nearly 100 years. Barrett Junction Cafe serves its Famous ALL YOU CAN EAT Country Breakfast Buffet on the weekends and Family Style Fish Fry every day of the week. Enjoy our family style dining room. Room enough for 200 people (now that's a BIG family!) And our outdoor patio comfortably seats 300. Book your next family reunion or club event with us. Clubs and organizations, families, and individuals are always welcome.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Barrett Junction is about 25 miles from San Diego and is a beautiful drive out Highway 94 to Dulzura, through golden pastures and rocky hillsides . Everything in the restaurant is like it was 40 years ago--the Alaskan cod is lightly breaded with tartar sauce or vinnegar on the side, the hush puppies are served with honey, and there are sides of a surprisingly fresh lightly dressed salad, beans and wheat pilaf. There are long red-checkered plastic covered tables and a funny little area as you come in with a mixture of old west items, second hand glasses and dishes, etc. Big sign outside says "Rattlesnake eggs" but we never asked....Great place to go with a group of friends or family. This is a family owned business that does not advertise--and it should! It's great fun, and great food and like stepping back in time! (I forgot to mention that their barbeque is also superb, but we can never get past the fish!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SpringValleyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Hello, as the new social media manager and virtual office assistant it has fallen to me to review and supply a thank you for the reviews here at TripAdvisor.

Thank you so much for taking the time out to provide your experience visiting the cafe. Our Fish Fry is still served daily all day. Your kind words and time are appreciated.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

A big old howdy in the back country of San Diego. We stoped in for a early buffet breakfast here on a Sunday morning. Coffee , juice, eggs, bacon & much more. Enjoy the ride !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WoHop132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Hello, as the new social media manager and virtual office assistant it has fallen to me to review and supply a thank you for the reviews here at TripAdvisor.

Thank you for the time and consideration to provide a wonderful review of your visit to the cafe.

The ride is still wonderful and the breakfast buffet is served Saturdays and Sundays starting at 8 a.m.

Again thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Barrett Junction Cafe is one of those great places out in the middle of nowhere that will have you coming back again and again. We frequently ride our motorcycles out in this beautiful back country. The cafe is on Rt 94 and this road has some incredible scenery. The cafe building is very interesting and is a large building. There are many interesting historical items and pictures to look at while you are there. The cafe includes a little saloon area that is really fun too. If you like fish and chips, then you will not find better fish in the whole San Diego area. Believe me we have looked and always keep coming back to Barrett Junction Cafe. Stop on in and you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager & VA at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014

Hello, as the new social media manager and virtual office assistant it has fallen to me to review and supply a thank you for the reviews here at TripAdvisor.

We appreciate the time and your kind words in your review. Please don't be a stranger.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Public Relations Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded today
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarrettJunctionCafe, Social Media Manager at Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2014
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile also viewed

Been to Barrett Junction Cafe & Mercantile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing