We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mother's Day Outing”

Hana Japan Steak House
Ranked #14 of 178 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
East Bay, Ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best Mother's Day Outing”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Went here for the first half of my Mothers'- Mothers' Day weekend. Great food, great atmosphere and great service.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N_Franklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“We Enjoyed It”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I know Hana Japan has had some terrible reviews, but we went there because they give a $23.95 credit for a birthday dinner and I wanted to have some teppanyaki. My daughter and I brought her three children (6, 4 and 2). The two older girls seemed to enjoy both the food and the "entertainment." I thought the food was very tasty. I got the filet mignon, my daughter got the salmon and the girls got shrimp. Everyone was pleased with what they got. You also get soup, salad, rice and tiny appetizer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GinOaklandCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A Junior Benihana's”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

The closet Benihana's is in Concord. This is the next best thing to it. Simple, easy, and very close to home.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CassieKat306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't waist your money on this unsanitary place”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This restaurant was really in bag shape. My family and I went to eat at this restaurant the other night. They had water all over the floor in the back and I over heard the staff say that this happens quite frequently. I saw some food drop and get put back on a tray. The chef we had burned my sons cheek when he messed up a trick with his knives. Living in the Bay Area , I know that you could find a much better place to eat.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tova01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milpitasca
Level Contributor
493 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Horrible - GO ELSE WHERE!!!!”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I had a gift card to use and I took my 4 year grandson here for lunch. It was dark and we were 2 of only 4 dinners. Clue 1!!!. The chef tried to put on a little show, but that was terrible also. He spoke no English - just grunts. Even the 4 year old wasn't in the least impressed. Food was pretty bad. As other reviewers have stated there is a strange smell in this restaurant. Do NOT go here. It is really bad!!! It is nothing like a Benihana restaurant !!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alicerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hana Japan Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Hana Japan Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing