We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inconsistent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie Johnnie & Luigi

Frankie Johnnie & Luigi
Ranked #10 of 176 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

This place has been around for years. When I first moved here from San Francisco, my pizza bench mark was very high. Everyone told me to try Frankie.... I did, and I have for the last 12 years. BUT...they have always been inconsistent. Their general food menu is very good and tasty, but I come here for the pizza. I hate soggy pizza and that is what has happened here a number of times. When they are on, the edge crust is crunchy, the meat is cooked perfectly, and the middle is cooked to perfection. So it's like rolling the dice, you win some, you lose some. One more thing, they are very expensive for pizza.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onebreakfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    33
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord
Level Contributor
311 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A tasty local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stopped in with two friends to catch an "after the game" meal. Nice people. Nice service. And, a menu with much variety. Obviously very popular with the neighborhood folks!

Thanks to Mauricio for the nice serice

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank saolsen11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
Level Contributor
159 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Once was enough for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Based on the high reviews, we decided to try this place. For us it didn't work out so well.

The wife always likes pasta dishes and asked for one with any kind of seafood in it. Surprise, there isn't any. In fact, we couldn't think of a single restaurant that we ever visited which didn't include some form of seafood pasta. Thumbs down from the wife.

We also tried that sausage bread that a couple of other reviewers were raving about being so good. Hmmm, well, our dog loved it.

As for my dish, the Eggplant Parmigianas was just so so for me.

Staff is nice, friendly and fast.
The room ambiance reminded us of a Denny's restaurant. Not saying that is bad, just isn't going to be a place for a romantic dinner. Also sort of loud in there.

Overall, we thought it was just ok for us.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Yummy yummy yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I like to go here a few times a year. We always order the sausage bread appetizer, it is amazing. I personally love the Caesar's Fantasy salad or the Lasagna. He hubby really enjoys the Shrimp Alfredo. Big plump shrimp. We usually do not have desert because we are too full for it.

The service is always excellent. Everyone is friendly. The food is prepared quickly but it is always good.

If you have a chance to go here, then you should.

Helpful?
1 Thank vacationsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Pizza in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great family food. Love their pizza. Great place for a family meal and their Italian food is very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DublinSkip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie Johnnie & Luigi also viewed

 

Been to Frankie Johnnie & Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing