We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not Just Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frankie Johnnie & Luigi

Frankie Johnnie & Luigi
Ranked #10 of 167 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Alamitos, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Just Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Frankie, Johnnie and Luigi too, like the original in Palo Alto, is famous for pizza. However, the menu has just about every Italian dish you could think of. And the food is all good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    30
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
326 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Pizza Joint”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Service was adequate. Pizza is generally good. We're not talking about fine dining here, but a nice neighborhood Italian restaurant with pizza as the specialty. We also had a rather bland salad, and I also had the Friday night Clam Chowder as well (that was a little salty). Nice place for family dinners, basic food. No frills.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Italian Food As Good As It Gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place is a bit off of the radar but I have known about it for years and every time that I eat here it is a great experience. Very casual with great food. Their pizza is most likely the best around for at least 20 miles. They are expensive (the pizzas) but well worth it. The staff is friendly and provides great service. I have had many items on their menu. My favorite is the OssoBucco. The pastas are great, and so our their salads and bread. This is a great place year to year and for the life of me I cannot understand the negative comments in some of the other reviews. I have never had a bad experience....Go for it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Martymm5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

It's been a couple of years since I was last here. I took my golf friends and they loved it. The Osso buco is amazing, the lasagne tremendous, the bread and garlic butter Devine....wonderful place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joeandkathy789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
137 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Service is still lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

After 7 months, we went back to use a gift certificate. Our server was nice but she forgot to give us the famous bread appetizer. We thought they took it out but the table behind us were given some. So i guess it's selective or maybe you have to ask for it? This is my son's favorite but we told him maybe we can try other places and he agreed. A lot of people commented on the poor service, can't management do anything about it?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frankie Johnnie & Luigi also viewed

 

Been to Frankie Johnnie & Luigi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing