We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, wonderful hosts”
Review of Lure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Downieville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lure Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Downieville
Reviewed July 20, 2009

This was our first time staying at the Lure and couldn't be happier.

We stayed in the Monte Cristo Cabin which was right on the water. We had everything we needed and a short stroll down our own little path to the river. We only stayed for a couple of nights as there were two five day vacationers either side of our weekend (normally they have a five night minimum requirement, but we got lucky), but it definitely wasn't long enough. The camping cabins looked great too. A wonderful place to take kids and the dog. Will definitely be going again next year. Just make sure you bring mosquito repellent. They were everywhere.

Just a note for people with small kids though. Downtown is not really within walking distance. We brought bikes for us all to ride to and from downtown, but the 49 is not a place to ride with kids, so we ended up having to get in the car if we wanted to go downtown.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank BayAreaDirtDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Lure Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 33 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2008

I have to say I am taken back with one of the review about the bad service they reported. It is because of the owner/managers hospitality and going out of their way for us that made our trip that much better.
Our cabin (small home) on the river was beautiful. The log cabin was spotless and the grounds kept impeccable.
We are a family of seven, and we had more than enough room not only on our cabin but outside to all enjoy our own special interests, whether it was sitting quietly by the beautiful river reading, tubing down the river, gold panning, fishing, or short drive to a nearby lake to hike. Incredible vacation and we will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank RJGANDERSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I am somewhat taken aback by previous reviews.

We booked our vacation at "The Lure" prior to reading other reviews, and were a little concerned that we would be disappointed when we arrived--we booked "The Ruby" cabin. Yes, it is an older cabin--most have been built in the last 12 years, according to the owners, but "The Ruby" is perfect for two people. It has the best access to the river, and is fully equipped--full kitchen; gas stove/oven, coffee maker, microwave, toaster, full-sized refrigerator--all we lacked was a garlic press and juicer! The bed was so large I had to hike to find my wife. The only drawback is that it has an apple tree in the deck that kept bombarding us with little apples throughout our stay. I suggested to Linda, the owner, that she should provide miner's helmets to the guests at "The Ruby"!

I made a point of inspecting the resort. given the rather negative reviews I had read, and found it exceptionally clean, incredibly well landscaped and compared to other options in the area, excellent. Super swimming holes there too. Even the camping cabins appeared clean, well-kept and the communal bathrooms were clean and well stocked. As good, if not better, than any state park we have visited-- and we've visited alot! Every guest I encountered was very happy, and most were returnees. We had no problem getting an extra roll of toilet paper. The owners were accomodating and non-intrusive. Dog friendly too!

You must realize that the area is somewhat isolated--no TV, Radio, Cell phone access--just what we were looking for. The towns are small (325 people), with appropriately limited resources. However, without exception, everyone we encountered was friendly to the point of amazement and provided every comfort and accomodation we could ask. Got a great New York Strip steak at the Downieville Grocery together with some nice craft brew.

We will certainly return to The Lure, with eager anticipation. It is a wonderful location, an exceptional facility, an incredible natural experience, but yes, there are no dishwashers.

I'd attach photos, which I took alot of, but I'm a Luddite.

You gotta know where your goin to.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SparkydogEscondidoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We have stayed at the Lure Resort several times over the years. I am sad to say that over the years, things have progressively gotten worse. We always stay in the camping cabins. The management is shoddy at best. The bathrooms and shower were filty when we arrived and were not cleaned during the 4 day duration of our visit. The bathrooms were not kept stocked with enough toilet paper to accommidate the 8 camping cabins. You have to pay to take showers and there is very low water pressure at best. It costs at least $1.50 to get a 12 minute shower and all you get is a trickle of water that barely washes you off. Not only that but the office does not stock the change that is necessary. The cabins are not cleaned properly. Screens are broken on doors exposing sharp points of metal that easily rip luggage and cause injury. In addition our cabins were full of spiders and cobwebs in the windows and they were not swept, dusted or mopped. This is not an inexpensive resort and for the price you pay, you should receive much better service. This is an absolutely beautiful location for cabins and the river location is wonderful, if you don't mind the mess, you will love it.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank VonBeering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

nice location but surly service and shoddy maintenance (showers that don't work, missing doors, broken faucets, toilets that tip over). better off staying with the nicer, more pleasantly run places (and actually less expensive) such as Carriage House or Riverside Inn.

Stayed: July 2008
2  Thank angler2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

This was our second stay at The Lure Resort, both times being in October. Both times we have stayed in the Monte Cristo Cottage which has, we feel, the best view of the Yuba River. The cottage is rather new- I'm guessing maybe 6-7 years old-- made of logs on the outside and finished with good knotty pine on the inside. It has a full kitchen, but no dishwasher, two bedrooms with queen beds, one average sized bathroom, and a combo living and dining room with a gas log stove and a sofa bed. You are on the river alongside some small rapids which add a pleasant "roar". There is a large deck overlooking the river with a plastic chaise lounge, 4 plastic chairs, a dining table, and a Weber charcoal BBQ.

The beds were comfortable, but the sofa bed (when used as a sofa) was sagging. It didn't appear old, but just was rather uncomfortable to sit on. We did not use it as a sofa bed. The dining room table is large and can sit at least 6 people, but only chairs for 4. They must have had problems with guests allowing others who are perhaps camping some place else to come in and use the bathrooms in the cottages. They make it very clear this is not permissible and that guests of guests must register at the office. Don't plan on renting a cottage and having friends staying elsewhere come over to use your facilities or plan to have a large group for a BBQ on your deck.

These are "housekeeping cottages", meaning you must clean up after yourself- empty your own trash, clean up everything before you leave, make your own bed, etc. They provide linens and towels.

Visitors to Downieville in the off season (before Memorial Day and after Labor Day) should be aware there are EXTREMELY limited and unreliable services and provisions available. There is a small grocery store with a deli and meat department, but it's run by a couple. We had planned to purchase some meat there and BBQ it on our deck, but for some unknown reason the deli/meat counter was closed. The store itself closes at 6 p.m. There was another restaurant in town but it was closed for repairs. The only thing available to us was a small pizza parlor which closes at 7 p.m. - so we had pizza instead of steak.

This visit we traveled with friends and they chose the Ruby Cottage. They were unhappy. Although it has a good location on the river, it is VERY old and is not recommended. The next best cottage we felt was High Commission.

There are also some cabins on the property. They too are along the river, on another section of the property, but looked very small.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank JIMCHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downieville
22.1 mi away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
293 reviews
23.6 mi away
Northern Queen Inn
Northern Queen Inn
#4 of 5 in Nevada City
117 reviews
12.5 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Sierra City
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
No photo provided
My Sisters Cottage
#3 of 5 in Sierra City
1 reviews
21.5 mi away
Nakoma Resort
Nakoma Resort
#2 of 2 in Clio
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lure Resort

Address: PO Box 95, Downieville, CA
Location: United States > California > Downieville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Downieville
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lure Hotel Downieville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing