We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away from this property!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Downey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Downey
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Fergus, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay away from this property!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The neighbourhood is a little sketchy. The hotel itself lacks functional equipment. The wifi was absolutely garbage, the microwave looked like it was bought in the 80's and I really mean that, one light wasn't working and the overall state of the room was deplorable. I didn't feel safe and wanted to find another hotel but my partner convinced me to stay. The parking lot is very small. The breakfast is a joke and the only fresh thing I found was the cereal. I try to give positive or neutral reviews but in this case it's impossible.
P.S. I didn't even take pictures because I was so disappointed with this property. I didn't want to have any remainders of it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnStonewood, Manager at Days Inn Downey, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
We thank you for taking time and letting us know about your concerns during the stay on May 2013 and we want to let you know that we have taken care for this at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    74
    44
    11
    12
See reviews for
73
57
21
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Check in and parking were easy. A local mall with food court within walking distance. I brought my own pillow and they even washed the pillow case for me! Breakfast bar has cereal, juice, toast, toaster strudel and coffee. I went out for breakfast. Tables and a better breakfast, more fresh fruit choices and something better than Fruit Loops would be great.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

The urban exterior didn't match the lovliness of the room. I had a nice stay rooms were clean. The breakfast presentation and quality wasn't very good.Next to a nice shopping mall and Bj's Restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Overall it was ok, the room was big and clean. We stayed for 4 nights and the breakfast was identical every day. Toast, bagels, instant oatmeal,Danish and donuts (1 kind if each -same everyday) froot loops and corn flakes. We ran out of toilet paper and had to call but he came right away. The worst part was the noise. We had people above and beside us. The tv was on all night long every night beside us. Upstairs was a group from the YMCA youth group who were loud. I wouldn't stay here again because of the lack of sound barriers between rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oktravelclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

I chose this hotel because it was in between several cities I wanted to visit. The price was also exceptional given the accommodations. I can tell the rooms have been updated. But they did a very good job with the update. The pictures are accurate. The patterns of the carpet, contemporary tiles for the bathrooms, modern bedroom furniture, six panel doors, large flat panel television and drapes all lend itself to something you would see in a four star hotel. The only thing that could have made our room look better would have been the addition of art work to add flavor to the bare walls. But considering the price we paid, I feel fortunate to have stayed in at this hotel.

Upon checking in, I could see the small lobby also served as a breakfast area. From the looks of it, I pretty much assumed the breakfasts would not be memorable despite being complimentary. That said, I decided to eat at Norm's or Porto's Bakery just a mile or two away for my breakfasts. Both offer excellent alternatives even for those with discerning tastes.

The complimentary wi-fi worked flawlessly for me. And the king size bed was comfortable. There is an extra blanket in the closet if you desire extra warmth. However, I wished I had brought my own pillow. As I tend to prefer pillows that are relatively flat. I was also pleasantly surprised with how wide the in-house safe was. One can easily store a large laptop in there if desired. Our room was the corner unit that faced the street. I was concerned about the potential noise from the traffic. But surprisingly, the room was well insulated and at worse, I heard a slight humming noise from an occasional truck. As suggested in another review, there are no elevators in this two story hotel. So plan accordingly if you have heavy luggage.

Days Inn is located in the same block as the large Stonewood shopping center. Across the street, is an In and Out Burger if you are interested in a late night snack during your stay. A few chain grocery stores and Target are also located nearby as well. I would say this hotel is in a very decent and safe area. The locals here are very friendly. The town itself would not be considered a magnet for the attractions it offers. But this hotel is great for being centrally located to all the cities I wanted to visit which were only about 20 - 45 minutes away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInnStonewood, General Manager at Days Inn Downey, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property,your comments are very much valued.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
1.3 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Downey Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Norwalk Inn
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
5.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn and Suites Pico Rivera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Downey

Property: Days Inn Downey
Address: 11102 Lakewood Blvd, Downey, CA 90241-3811 (Formerly Days Inn Stonewood)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Downey 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being centered in between Orange and Los Angeles counties, the hotel is located near many Southern California attractions. With easy freeway access and local public transportation, getting anywhere in southern California is a breeze. The hotel features newly renovated rooms with lounge chairs, air conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, and coffee/tea makers. 37" LCD Flat Screen televisions come with premium satellite channels, including HBO. Jacuzzi and Family suites are also available. The hotel provides free WIFI internet on request. In addition, complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing