We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
South Gate, United States
1 review
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I always thought the Embassy Suites would be much better than Best Western. All it is is more expensive. The bathrooms were the worst with mold spots and bubbling paint. I had two rooms and found stuff from the previous occupants under the beds and sinks. The sliding doors to the balcony were off the rails and were extremely heavy and difficult to open. One of the walls in the bedroom had a gross smear on it. The blow dryer in one of the rooms didn't work. When I asked to be moved from the first room the second one wasn't any better, and later that day they had rented the first one out again, without fixing the problems I complained about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lilia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    236
    129
    82
    52
See reviews for
390
99
36
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I just recently stayed at the Embassy Suites for 3 days for a business trip in Downey, CA. I am a Federal employee and when I checked in I was asked by the registration desk to provide my Government ID, although they were presented with my Government issued credit card for check in. I have stayed at many Embassy Suites and was never asked for two forms of id at check in. Then the gentlemem said because you are staying with us for more than a night you have complimentary breakfast and cocktail hour. Excuse me but that's the expectation at any Embassy Suites you stay at whether you stay one night or five. Then when you go to cocktail hour and breakfast, they actually have the nerve to pull out a list with guest names and rooms to check off in front of you before they serve you, which I never experienced at any other Embassy I have stayed at. Additionally, the bathroom was tiny and it smelled like mildew and piss, as if it was not properly disinfected by the cleaning staff before I checked into the room. Lastly, they did not place my receipt under the door the final morning of my stay, so I had to checkout earlier tjan planned to retrieve my receipt, unlike any other Hilton property that I have ever stayed at. All of this said I was not impressed and will likely never stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tiffdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My stay was for 3 days and it was very nice in Downey. The hotel staff are all very kind and courteous. I usually stay at the Anaheim hotel location and they are the same. The room was clean and tidy and spacious. The breakfast buffet was very good in spite of the wait in line. Due to the popularity of the breakfast buffet, the seating was crowded but the use of the restaurant tables were available for overflow. The overall atmosphere was tropical and very nice. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Fernando L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Stayed here to split time between Anaheim and DTLA. Very good value. Very clean and quiet, the staff was very nice. Downey is a nice city. Grocery shopping and convenient restaurants are close. We used the pool, fitness center, breakfast and management reception. All were nice. Breakfast does not start at the posted 6:30am, though, and they may not be ready to serve at 7. this is a minor complaint about a nice stay. A typical/above average Embassy Suites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had another great nite - everything was very clean, comfortable, quiet, and relaxing. The mini bar made our stay even more enjoyable. we enjoyed the waterfall & koi. The staff was friendly - breakfast was super. we will be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Had a great time, not the cheapest rate but when you add in the breakfast and evening reception, for a family of four it was a great value. Nice location with plenty of local dining, much of it just a few minutes’ walk away. No huge (hidden) parking fees. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
2 Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Once again the Embassy Suites rein. Perfect for families and excellent friend staff. The complimentary breakfast was extraordinary, and the interior of the hotel and rooms are superb! Always a wonder stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank missyalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#3 of 8 in Downey
230 reviews
4.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
1.3 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Norwalk Inn
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
16.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd, Downey, CA 90241-3843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing