We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here on day 9 of our West Coast road trip and we loved it! We loved the huge rooms, and that the kids had their own separate room. Both of which were huge. My husband loved the free happy hour drinks, I loved the free snacks. The kids also loved the swimming pool and the fish pond. We ordered room service for dinner for the kids which was very well priced ($5 each). The person at the reception area was friendly, efficient and accommodating, even deducting the cost of internet from our room fee when my husband complained. One of the best things about the hotel was the big breakfast buffet, but the worst thing was also the big breakfast buffet - it was pretty busy and noisy - like eating in a school cafeteria.

Room Tip: The corner room
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westcoastmama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

778 - 784 of 891 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

I came here on business travel with an associate. We had preferred to stay nearer to LAX however this hotel had much better rates. Everything seemed fresh and clean. The customer service was great. I had forgotten my laptop cord and was able to borrow one from a member of the staff.
A couple negatives that relate to layout and design:
1) The breakfast area is very cramped. There are not enough tables and customers are constantly bumping into people sitting down to try to move about. They actually need to lose about 2 tables so people can walk through.
2) The "fitness center" is a typical afterthought, "lets just use a hotel room" setup. There are 4 cardio machines crowded into the room. And in the outer suite, there are some weight machines and dumbells. If they only paid half as much attention to a fitness area as a swimming pool area, things would be better. Again, this is a design flaw, not any employees' fault.
One other note, the staff does seem very slow to pick up room service trays as I noticed they were sitting outside adjacent rooms for many hours.
All in all, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jumbonav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed at the Embassy Suites in Downey in July 2011 while I was traveling for business. The rooms were very spacious, updated and clean. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The manager's reception is a nice perk - free snacks and booze, and the complimentary breakfast buffet was good as well - pancakes, potatoes, fruit, etc. I ordered room service, and it came right away. The restaraunt immediately next door (I think it was called Mimi's) was quite good as well and very convenient. I will definitely stay here when in this area again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MabelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

An old but remodeled hotel near Downtown LA. Staff is very helpful, rooms are good for the price. Managers reception is well attended by all, but dont expect an upscale crowd. Everything you need is within walking distance but nobody in SoCal walks anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Looks better from outside.
The rooms are renovated, anything aged seems to be quite old. The bar and restaurants closes at 10 pm and there is nothing around which would be ok for avoid dinner after a long trip to LA. The waitress in the restaurant recommended us the Denny's on the other side of the street. They are doing good omelets at breakfast, that may be all I can remind of this stay

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikkelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed six days at this hotel. We wanted to go to Universal Studios and visit relatives in Anaheim and this hotel was half way distance to both. Everyone at the hotel was very nice and always had a smile on their faces. The room was very clean and comfortable and I saw the maid service taking apart the sofa and cleaning it along with vacuuming the rugs. Alot of hotels do not do that. I noticed in our room, we did not have an alarm clock, so I called the front office and within 10 minutes, a nice gentleman came up to deliver one. The price of our room included a full breakfast every day which was good.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

I had horrible experience at Embassy Suites at Downey. I booked hotel or four days but in reality I just stayed one day and checked out early and lost my money for remaining three days.

The reason I checked out was because my room was nasty. Bathrooms were dirty; there were hairs in my bathroom. The bath towels were foul and smelling bad. The air condition was not working in my room. I called front desk and complain about it. The person at front desk told me that technician would be at my room in few minutes. Half hour passed by and whole night went away but nobody came in my room to fix air condition. I request king size bed and they gave me two queen size beds. Next day in morning I checked out from hotel and manager on duty told me that he can only work out refund me one day money for inconvenience and if I check out I would be loosing my money for rest of three days. I booked Embassy Suites at Downey hoping that it is Hilton property and would have good experience at hotel but on the contrary Embassy suites spoiled my vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam8470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
1.3 mi away
Studio Inn And Suites
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#3 of 8 in Downey
241 reviews
4.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Near Downey Studios
3.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Norwalk
16.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#2 of 19 in Garden Grove
3,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd, Downey, CA 90241-3843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range: $183 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing