We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Disapointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
“Very Disapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I had stayed in an embassy sweet in the late 90's and had a very nice experience. on this trip, the luxury i had expected just wasent there. the room was about the same quality as a days inn. the in room coffee maker was so old, I was afraid to use it. the complimentary happy hour was very disapointing. The alcohols used were the cheapest of the cheap. The comp breakfast, although cooked fresh, was very bland.and, the internet was an extra cost. at these prices it should have been comped as well. I have another business trip in the same location next week, I will be staying at the days inn instead of the embassy.

Room Tip: dont expect too much at this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outoftowner2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    227
    121
    79
    50
See reviews for
370
94
34
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Let's start with the good things... the staff was nice, the area's pretty quiet and the suite was a nice size. I stay in at least a dozen Hilton group hotels a year but I'd never stayed at an Embassy Suites so maybe I had the wrong idea going in. I expected a business hotel like I'm used to but instead I found myself sharing the halls with children and loud leisure travellers. I don't think there is an executive floor at this hotel, but I really wish there was. The suite was poorly arranged, the sitting room was nice (the suite has 2 flat-screen TVs), but the bed isn't as good as the ones in Garden Inns.

The thing I really didn't like about this hotel was the atrium area. I thought the plants were fine, but the fish ponds and overall decor was pretty offensive to me. Originality is good, but it was hard for me to take this hotel seriously. The entire atmosphere felt very motel-ish. I liked the option of self-serve or laundry pickup service but the laundry room was only accessible by walking outside first. I understand that people need to smoke while waiting for their laundry, but couldn't the laundry room just have a smoking balcony or something? Come breakfast time though, the cooked-to-order omelette was good and made up for a lot of the hotel's shortcomings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PersonalEnsign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

The kids LOVED the place. I loved the layout of the room, lots of space, excellent internet connection. Walking distance are other places to hang out and across is Denny's and Mimi's, both offering great customer services. The entire place is surrounded by places to eat and hang out. Walking distance from library (kids).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NicsInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alabama
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

What a pleasant surprise. I booked online to be close to my customer. In California, traffic problems can ruin your day. This hotel is gorgeous!. The outside is very welcoming to say the least, and then you walk into the beautiful lobby. The rooms all face inward to a lush atrium with a flowing stream of fish and turtles! Greenery and flowers as well. The full breakfast each morning is an added bonus. Add a staff of happy and so friendly employees, and you have a vacation hideaway mixed with your work. This place is indeed a pleasure. The surrounding area is easy to get about in and the people are great. Mix business with pleasure on this one.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandinmytoes2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2011

The lobby and pool were just beautiful. The Breakfast Staff (Gustavo) and Hostess (Mary) was great. She asked if we needed anything during our stay and if we were familiar with the breakfast. We had not stayed here before, so she explained everything and made us feel welcome. She even made us aware of events in town and the Brunch on Sunday at the Firestone Restaurant if we wanted to sleep in that day. Our room was lovely and we like the idea of a living room. View from room was very nice. Clean and updated. Freeway close between our events in Los Angeles and Orange County. we will be back here from now on....

Room Tip: We asked for north facing room with balconey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackey_sDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Maryland
Level Contributor
221 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed here for three nights while attending a company meeting. My 8th floor room with balcony was comfortable and clean. My Diamond-level items were in my suite upon arrival. The staff was pleasant throughout my stay. Embassy Suites complimentary breakfast was very well prepared and efficient. There are a variety of dining options as well as shopping in the vicinity. The Firestone Restaurant located on site was nice as well, with good food and an attentive staff. The hotel is well-maintained and the lobby atrium with Koi pond is very nice. Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladyinmaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Hills, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

I loved this hotel. The lobby is beautiful. They had parrots, a koi pond and waterfall. The pool was nice and clean and the breakfast area was farely large. Breakfast was great; a lot of variety. It was a full FREE breakfast everyday. They also offer drinks in the evening, (a good perk, if you drink - I don't). The room was great, it was a suite so it had a pull-out sofa. I stayed with my teenage daughter in one room while my son and brother stayed next door. We are planning to return again this summer. Great value for the money and conveinent to eating establishments, shopping and about a 20 minute drive to downtown LA,

Room Tip: Stock the fridge to save
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MsRickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#2 of 8 in Downey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
16.1 mi away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#6 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
17.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#6 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
15.6 mi away
Anaheim Marriott
Anaheim Marriott
#26 of 118 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd, Downey, CA 90241-3843
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing