We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto's

Porto's
Ranked #1 of 6 Dessert in Downey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles
1 review
“WONDERFUL...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

The food is execellent and the cakes are out of this world good...plan on getting a carrot cake for super bowl...

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    61
    16
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleburg, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Bakery - Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was visiting southern California during Christmas and went to Porto's Bakery in Downey three times. Their cakes, pastries, sandwiches, breakfast and coffee are all excellent. They were busy (30+ people in line) during two of the visits but the line was moving quickly. Their prices are awesome and much cheaper than many bakeries here in Florida. Their quality is top notch and I wish they would expand NATIONWIDE. Porto's is #1.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love the fact you can try an individual dessert each time you go there. My daughters are working their way down the list! Great customer service. Love the fresh squeezed juices and sandwiches as well. Lines look long but always go fast.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Puente, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“awesome cuban cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I love Porto's, everything is so good here! It's definitely a stop that must be made if you're visiting Los Angeles, it's a taste of great food in the melting pot.

I've only been to the Cafe twice but I was lucky enough to have a coworker that lived next to the Glendale location bring us some treats every now and then. You can't go wrong with anything but the best are the guava cream cheese pastry, potato balls, and meat pies - I can eat these all day!

Their sandwiches are good also, I've tried the pastrami and the turkey croissant. Although when I ordered the croissant, they ran out of croissant and I had a substitute of wheat roll which was still really good! The plantain chips were really good also, i'm not big on plantain chips but these were really good.

The service is really quick and excellent; with the amount of people that visit this location.

Parking can be a pain especially during busy hours; even though they have their own parking structure, the number of patrons surpasses the number of spaces available in the structure. Luckily there's a public parking structure for downtown downey adjacent to the Porto's parking structure, it's not that far to walk and there's tons of parking without the headache of trying to get a spot in the porto's parking structure.

I hope there will be more locations in the future...it definitely won't be too much of a good thing because it will never too much.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kchen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
June Lake, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breakfast pastries as delicious as they looked.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Beautiful, airy, light storefront. Was there on Christmas Eve and it was packed with people walking out with HUGE bags. Prompt service, can't believe how our waitress remembered all of the 11 items we ordered just by listening to me all at once, quickly packed them up and showed them all to me by name and rung me up. Very reasonable prices (was expecting higher) and loved their slightly smaller size pastries instead of the jumbo oversized ones. Clean store, sparkling and friendly. Will definately go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JuneLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing