We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average is being kind about the food; service not even close to average”

Thai Palms Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Average is being kind about the food; service not even close to average”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

After reading the reviews, we hustled on over thinking some Thai food would really hit the spot. Well, no, not really. We had vegetable rolls- pretty, but kind of pricey for lettuce, part of a carrot and a slice of cucumber, but might have been the best part of the meal. The Mrs had Pineapple Fried rice. It had chicken (not the best parts- with grizzle in almost every piece, beef (OK, but burnt), shrimp (with tail shells still on), and pork (OK). My special salad was not special, but the tomatoes were excellent. There was one waiter and only 4 tables occupied at the most. Way too much for him to take care of. Very,very slow sort of like pulling teeth to get anything including the check. If this is the best in DHS, well it is not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    47
    21
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great Thai food in Desert Hot Springs”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The resort we stayed at didn't have a restaurant, so we tried Thai Palms - and went back for all our dinners! Delicious and reasonably priced Thai food, in an unpretentious restaurant. Desert Hot Springs didn't have many options, especially for my vegan friend, and this turned out to be a wonderful option for everyone.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank drivingmisssarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The place is not great on decor BUT the food is very very good and the price is great. Go for lunch if you want value

Helpful?
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Carryout was fine”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

After going to Living Waters spa for the day, we stopped here at Jeff's suggestion and ordered to go. It was fine, nothing earth-shattering. But we haven't found great Thai in the desert yet- we'll keep looking. But in the meantime, we enjoyed Thai Palms overall.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ValerieinVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food Okay...BAD SERVICE!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Food was okay...had better. No Service, which means very bad service for someone new to the DHS area. My buddy had produce sticker on pepper in which we notice 5 minutes into his meal (dinner), the manager wanted to remove only $2.00 dollars, but I told him that we would only pay for 3 out of the 4 meals, but he instead the $2.00 the manage continue to argue with me, as I mentioned no reason to argue with me, since the error was on your end, what did we do wrong: NO SERVICE and A PRODUCE STICKER ON HIS MEAL (PEPPER); so waived the 1 meal.

*We waited for an apology, it never came.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ramon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Palms Restaurant also viewed

Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Thai Palms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing