We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SMI - wicked cool place...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SMI - wicked cool place...”
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Travel dates: June of 2009 (went twice)

I went to Sea Mountain Inn with my new wife in 2009 and wanted to share our experience there. Now keep in mind I had been to Hedo II (5) times prior to going to SMI so I had experience and something to compare this new resort to.

We live in LA so we hit the freeways and 1 hour and 40 mins later we found ourselves pulling up to SMI in what is an otherwise residential neighborhood. This at first throws you off but you can can tell it's clearly the resort from parking and the giant sign on the wall. When you get to the front gate you'll find it locked but you push a button and one of the staff will see who you are. (I think it's on camera too). In a few moments a staff member came to let us in and take us to the office.

Now the staff at SMI is what makes it great. They take care of you and make you feel at home from the start. We were handed drinks and filled out the sign in sheet. In about 4 mins we were off to our beautiful room. The rooms are VERY nice, no kidding. If Hedo II is a 5-6 (on a scale of 1-10, then SMI has 8-9 rooms on that same scale. Big beds, VERY clean and all the bedding/towels are high quality. The room is Zen like. Big flat screen TV on a mount in the corner of the room with a DVD player built in, a mini fringe, and a very nice shower. Again, the rooms are awesome. BTW, they give you a welcome package including lube, condoms and a porn DVD, score! lol

Dewey is an owner at SMI, he's not only a nice guy but a complete riot. I swear he's drinking Red Bull 24 hours a day, the man never stops keeping the party alive and well.

Outside the room there is a nice pool and bubbling hot tub. The resort itself is not huge, perhaps the size of the nude pool at Hedo. Lot's of naked people engaging in open sex, there are NO sex police at this place, that's for sure. It seems a lot of the guests were there for the sex and sharing. The pool was very busy during the day and the hot tub got busy at night.

The music at the resort rocks, a nice mix of party tracks that get you going. In the morning it's chill music till about 10am. There's also a disco room with stripper pole that got it's share of use while we were there. Also a bed in the disco got used more than a few times as we soaked away in the hot tub.

Food: Snack foods are free to guests but it is snack food. If you want a nice Hedo like meal, either order from anywhere or go out. We went to a market prior to going where we got drink and food to help us with our munchies. I'm pretty sure there was a microwave in the room. If not, I know the staff would warm up your snacks in theirs, they're very nice.

Speaking of staff, unlike Hedo they will walk around either topless OR naked, that's a switch. As they stroll around you'll be offered drinks often as you lie there asking yourself if you're in Jamaica or America.

Here's my ratings:

Staff - 10
Rooms - 10
Music - 10
Pools - 9
Food - 5 (snack food)
Party atmosphere - 10
Price/value - 8 (mostly sold out each weekend)

So as a summary, if you're looking for a Hedo like escape here in the states, you'll be very happy. For us SMI is a great 2-3 night place, any longer than that we'd jump on a plane and head to the Tropics. We're thinking of going this weekend, can't wait.

I did a review of the resort here as well: http://vacationbarefoot.blogspot.com/search/label/Sea%20Mountian%20Inn

Chad

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laglazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    57
    16
    12
    12
See reviews for
3
342
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We've been here once before, back in August when I was first around 14-15 weeks pregnant. I'm now 35 weeks pregnant and asked my hubby if we could go for a night for my birthday before our son is born. And even in the 4-5 months that we haven't been to SMI they've updated their landscape, as well as their pool and other areas. I love the fact that there is free wireless internet so that I can access email and the internet easily. Being 8 months pregnant I was expecting to be gawked and stared at but when Sam walked us around when we first checked in everybody said their hello's and introduced themselves and it was completely comfortable for me. The room was completely clean and sanitized when we walked in, as well as the grounds were always clean and presentable. The only thing that could make SMI's rooms better would to be have a full sized mirror above their beds. We had only met Dewey this time that we stayed, and he is the greatest host there could be. He was pouring margaritas and vodka to all the non-pregnant guests, lol, late into the night and he had even organized a Halloween in January costume contest with prizes! All in all, I had a great time with my hubby and am going to try and convince him to take me back there in the next couple weeks so we can get some last minute romance in before our lives get consumed by a baby, haha.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meandyou9087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The trip was great. It was our first visit to a resort like this and we were a little apprehensive. But once we got the the environment was so comfortable and the fact that everyone staff and guest were so friendly and helpful. the mineral water is amazing. the rooms were spotless, and service was impecable, We can't wait to return on or next trip

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank funnthesunMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I had never been to a resort that offered such an exceptional experience for couples. When I first entered the grounds it immediately captured my mind and I began to realize I was not in Kansas anymore. The grounds are covered with foliage and trees with South Asian artifacts intertwined. Upon checking in and getting to our room I found one of the most comfortable rooms, with a bed as luxurious as any 5 star I have stayed in. The staff is lovely to interact with and they treat you with the upmost respect and kindness.

At first, I felt the grounds were a little cramped; but was proven wrong many times throughout our stay; it's just big enough to offer you little excursions of ecstasy, both private and public. The heated pool was a delightful treasure as it stays open all night and offers you aquatic play under the midnight moon and stars of the California dessert. The built in palapas offered just enough shade for those of us that need it with plenty of poolside chases for all to relax and enjoy the sensual tranquility. The club at night was always the center of attention and offers couples the chance to get their boogie on in more ways than one.

As we were checking out I had already begun to fantasize about our return to this hidden gem in the dessert.

Oh yes we will return! Again and Again!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TracerX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Calif
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We are fairly new to this nudist and Lifestyle scene. I will tell you that this place makes you feel very comfortable and the rest is up to you. Nudity is the most natural good feeling there is. Nobody there worries about being, or having, the perfect body. You will see every build you can imagine. Nobody is pushy and it is so laid back you will not believe it. Just remember, it is "Lifestyle" friendly, so make sure you understand what this means and are okay with it. This beautiful place is very pleasing regardless of your participation in the various events, or not. Also, the guests are ONLY couples and single females, making for a very NON-threatening environment. That's one of the things that really makes this Spa exclusive and we LOVE IT! If you have never been publicly nude before, I would suggest wrapping a towel around you and walk the property. Give yourself a short time limit with the towel, then take it off, and just be yourselves. Enjoy!
P.S. The Desert Springs mineral water (in all pools) is amazing!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeaseGeese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We spent several days at SMI after the Thanksgiving Weekend and boy did we have a great time. The owners Dewey and Julie, along with Samantha and the rest of the staff, treat you like family. They were constantly coming out to see if you needed either a refill on your Margarita or would like to have a shot.

The resort and gardens are very well maintained and very clean, as also are the rooms. The pool was crystal clear and heated just right.

One thing that is great is that after enjoying a fun filled day in the sun and at SMI and you can choose to order dinner so its brought to you as room service or you can head out and have dinner in one of the many Palm Springs restaurants and walk around the streets window shopping (unlike the resorts in our neighboring countries where you don’t dare go out at night). Then when that’s all done you come back and enjoy one hell of an evening in the disco and Jacuzzi.

We recommend trying to get a room next to the Jacuzzi (its next to the disco), so that you are right in the middle of all the fun.

If you are looking for a resort that has a sexually charged atmosphere, SMI is the place to go. The rooms are much nicer and newer then Hedo and unlike Desire, you are not confined to designated areas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We have just returned from a one night stay at Sea Mountain. We have never been to any place like this nor have we ever been exposed to any "lifestyle" activities. We love the boutique style of this intimate little place in the desert.

So lets get to the good part..once you step in you very much feel as if you are in an intimate oasis. The warm pool, the statues and buddhas,..all of the art..it feels so relaxing. And the pool and lounging areas were much larger than I expected. It was raining and cold while we were there but the 5 couples also there did not seem to mind one bit. We spent a great amount of time in the hot tub and disco/playroom (which I would say is smaller than the pictures) but these things dont matter much when you feel as if you are totally at ease with a bunch of friends and having the time of your life.

The thing I noticed most was the level of intimacy among everyone. There was simply a spark among the couples and the banter and easiness in communication and pleasure was simply amazing. My husband and I felt so good on our drive home..we jumped right in to bed when we got home also! This place does amazing things and that water is heaven!

I cant even imagine what SMI will be like during a regular weekend with 100's of people floating around the pool and dancing in the disco.

We'll be back...soon..very soon! Oh and Samantha is THE BEST hostess ever!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tat2miracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
0.2 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#31 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mountain Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mountain Inn Resort

Property: Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Address: 66540 San Marcus Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-2638
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Mountain Inn Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Mountain is a luxury nude resort for couples and women only and its adults only with a female staff and 5 star service and semi all inclusive and mineral water boutique hotel for couples and women. The sea mountain was named best of the USA by AOL and MSN and Maxim and FHM including ranked as best celebrity secret by MTV VH1. There are 15 awarded rooms with king beds Egyptian linens flatscreens and mineral water in the showers and sinks. There is a 24 hour dance lounge and 24 hour pools available for day spas night spas and vacation stays. There are No single men on the property ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sea Mountain Inn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mountain Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sea Mountain Inn Resort Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing