We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day Spa Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We went for the day spa and each got The Moroccan Mystical Ritual. It was relaxing and the massage was quite good, however for the price point we were expecting more. The hotel is very charming (even though the surrounding town is not so nice), the mineral pool and jacuzzi were nice and the manager/owner was kind and offered us use of a hotel room for the day. All in all, a pleasant experience in itself, however they should not charge the price of a higher end spa when they really are a much more modest establishment, with modest amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zida75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Zida75,
Thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback about your visit! Glad you loved your treatment, but we agree that we are a modest little inn (with just 12 rooms and Spa Studios). Since we really can't compete with the big box spas as far as size and scale, we tend to make up for it by offering the best in actual Spa treatments. Still, we've taken your note to heart! We've reduced our room rates for the summertime...so come and stay overnkight with us and see if you don't find us quite the bargain!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 313 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have stayed at El Morocco Inn and Spa several times over the past few years. Each and every time has been a wonderful experience with everything just perfect: Atmosphere, rooms, pool , spa, etc. The inn has a first rate staff led by Bruce, a guy who insures everyone has a great visit. We just couldn't ask for a better get-away and are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Dan & T!
How fun to see you've posted a little note to us here on TripAdvisor! We really enjoy having you come and stay-and are genuinely glad you've found it to be a relaxing, rejuvenating experience each time you return. We keep working on things around here such as our Far Infrared Sauna (now we've set it so it's always on...you never have to wait for it to warm up!) and the Spa Garden even has an outdoor shower! Glad you told us you loved your Couples Moroccan Massage-it seems you two try a different treatment each time you visit...(next trip, try the Moroccan Rain Treatment-my personal favorite!)
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Wonderful place where my husband and I spent our honeymoon. Very private and sensual. This was our 3rd visit and everytime it has been excellent. Service is attentive without being overbearing. The decor is authentic and a feast for the eyes. This place is for relaxing and exploring your senses. Play chess in the garden on the jumbo chess board, sit on the lounge chairs enjoying the healthy breakfasts, listen to the background music of sounds of Morocco and soak in the mineral hot tub or swim in the mineral pool. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Geri J,

First, continued best wishes and congratulations! It was our pleasure to have you stay with us again (visit number #3) We know our inn isn't very big, but it's nice to hear you found our little getaway to be sensuous and romantic-and have had fun exploring the Spa garden...who won the Giant Chess game? Coming back for a rematch? Looking forward to your return!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Favorite things: warm mineral swimming pool, giant Jacuzzi pool swathed in fabric, and spa garden at night. Had a delightful time and thoroughly enjoyed the nightly complimentary Happy Hour! One night I sat quietly reading on my ipad while they brought me those yummy Moroccotinis and the other nights I sat at the bar and shared laughs with the other guests.

I found my room immaculate with interesting and authentic Moroccan furniture - loved those doors and lanterns - thought I had taken a magic carpet ride! Spa garden was fun with hammocks and at night it was another world. (Okay the hot spring pools were great at night, but that goes without saying.)

We will return soon!

Room Tip: Love the room with the kitchenette even though I didn't cook! I understand that none of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi JoanJ,

Thank-you for this review! We continue to strive for great stays for all of our guests...and hope to see you again and again! The warm mineral spring-water swimming pool and Jacuzzi (open all night long!) are calling....come back and let's raise a "Morocco-tini" at happy hour to pure relaxation!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My best friend was visiting Desert Hot Springs and I drove up to have dinner with her from San Diego. I met her at El Morocco where she was staying before ur dinner and thought it was so adorable and quaint that I would incorporate a trip there into my next "staycation." I am so SO happy I did. We hiked all day at Joshua Tree, and after arriving in the mid-afternoon filthy and exhausted, we were greeted by a super-friendly young lady who before even checking us in, gave us a full tour of the property. You don't get that at the Hilton's of the world. I was so impressed by all of thought that went into planning every single detail of this place. They have a full library of DVD's on loan, a delicious continental breakfast with fresh ground Starbucks French Press coffee, a "Morocco-tini" complimentary cocktail hour, complinmentary snacks around the clock, a pool that is the PERFECT temperature, hot tub, sauna, and a constant supply of the most delicious untreated water I have ever tasted. (SOOO refreshing after a day of hiking!) I genuinely wish we could've stayed longer. This family ran property is the definition of customer service and personal touch that I guarantee you will never get elsewhere. OH! And did I mention they offer a discount for military (a definite plus for us!) and if you mention you're a YELP user? They do, and it's awesome. I will be raving about this place to everyone. All of the other guests were also loyal to El Morocco and were all on their 4th plus stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Hi Ray Clay...

Just wanted to say thank-you for this wonderful review of our services! As you already know, we are a small 12 room inn and so we are always thrilled when we hear we got it right. And...we agree it's a great place to retreat to (and relax in these magical mineral waters) after a day of hiking or sightseeing! We hope you'll keep coming back like the others you mentioned in your review!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went to El Morocco (EM) on a whim recently w the wife, and were let down by: an untidy slightly musty room with particles (apparently crumbs) on the floor, slightly soiled sheets; a cold pool which according to owner was so on account of a broken pool heater; kitschy movie set style of location decor, ie how westerners envisage Morocco (think 1001 Arabian Nights or Thief of Baghdad w Steve Reeves and you get the picture); a far too nosy/micro-managing on-site owner who lassos you at check-in and keeps hanging on (avoid "story-time" over "Moroccatini's"); and a valley-like location in the suburbs. EM is not worth the time or $, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank countjunuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear countjunuzi,

We've just received the coveted TRIPADVISOR Certificate of Excellence Award for 2013...so you can't imagine how disappointed we were to read your review.

We work tirelessly to provide every guest with a high quality escape from everyday life, and we take your input very seriously when you feel we've missed our mark. You can be certain we'll work more closely with our housekeepers to further insure a top notch room cleaning and to that end, we'll be inspecting each room a second time prior to our guests' arrival. We've also added a checklist so hopefully, we won't miss a thing..even crumbs!

You are right, our check-in tour is pretty detailed. We try to cover most things such as our spring-fed pools which are open around the clock, the Spa Garden with Hammocks and games like giant chess, the Kasbah Lounge with breakfast hours, etc. We're doing our best to be helpful.

Our nightly Happy Hour offering-where we serve "Morocco-tinis" (Iced, Sugar rimmed, Sake based Martinis) is a time where guests can sit around and chat-asking about Restaurant suggestions, Morocco, things to do like hiking in Joshua Tree, visiting the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, etc., but it's always optional.

We also serve our other guests directly in the pool or spa-and over at their chaise lounges-offering them their own private time to relax.

By the way, our natural mineral-spring water comes from our very own well and flows into both pools-our covered Jacuzzi Spa is at 104 degrees and we do cool the larger swimming pool down to about 89 degrees-which is still pretty nice for those silky midnight swims!

Always working for your best getaway,
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We've stayed here a couple of times and enjoy being able to go for a late night dip in the pool. Since it's in a residential location we had pizza delivered for dinner and didn't leave once we checked in. No kids gives it a relaxing vibe - we'll be back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RachaelRachaelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnCollectors, Owner at El Morocco Inn & Day Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Hello Rachel,

Just wanted to say thanks for coming to stay again...and for taking the time to post this kind review! We love that you love the ability to use those warm pools all night long-with a little pizza on the side! Hope to see you again soon!
Bruce and the Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
0.6 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,217 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
567 reviews
0.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
125 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
154 reviews
10.1 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Morocco Inn & Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Morocco Inn & Day Spa

Address: 66810 4th St, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-3269
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#5 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range: $165 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Want to really feel "transported"? Without the high cost??? Our silky warm and natural spring-fed mineral water swimming pool & huge bubbling spa are open for you around the clock! This Moroccan inspired getaway features 12 guestrooms, each with a California King bed, microwave & mini fridge, exotic textiles, bistro tables and chairs, beautiful lamps,Moroccan furnishings & artwork. A Lavish complimentary continental breakfast is set out daily in the Kasbah Lounge and we offer our complimentary nightly signature cocktail, the "Morocco-tini"! Besides having 2 pools filled with healing geothermal spring mineral waters, you can also choose from a wide range of deeply relaxing Spa treatments including Massages, Body Scrubs, Clay Wraps and Facials! We also offer Discount Spa Packages year 'round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your El Morocco Inn & Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Morocco Inn And Spa
El Morocco Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Hotel El Morocco
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing