We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
CJ Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #20 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Reviewed June 7, 2006

We arrived Crystal Hotel Spa and Resort on Christmas day, our first impression was this was simply once a great facility that has simply gone down a slippery slope. It is very obivsious the resort is seriously understaffed. The resort complex is huge, the facility was not properly keep up. The parking was full of debris, the corridors has many burnt out light bulbs. The atomsophere was quiet all right, it has almost a creepy feeling to it. This is not what we had anticpated. We paid $155 / night for the Jacuzzi Suite, right off that bat, things did not go well. The room was spacious and large with two large queen bed. The decor was very 80ish, but biggest problem of all was the plumbing in the bath room was making clunking noise. A call to the front desk revealed that they had onsite to take care of the problem until next day. As a remedy they moved us to the room next door. Although this room has no noisy plumbing but it has lists of troubles. The window blinds is broken, the control knob on the jucuzzi tub was mssing. Worst of all, they had dirty linen / towls. A couple of towels has stains on it. Yikes!!! Despite that, it does have its virtue, the jacucci tub with natural hotspring is very enjoyable. The facitlity itself was well equipped, just not taken cared of properly. For the $ we spent, we simply feel it was NOT worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Impala96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
14
Reviewed April 9, 2006

The hotel looked abandoned and needed a lot of TLC although the hot tubs outside and the indoor Japanese bath were enjoyable. We had an in-room Jaccuzzi tub and it was nice especially late at night. They have plenty of really nice and hot mineral water coming out of the shower.

Although the spa and bath experience was nice and enjoyable (probably at any place in Desert Hot Springs), the hotel has a lot to improve in its appearance and customer service. People at the front desk were not friendly and didn't know how to make guests welcomed. For the second day of our stay, we didn't get shampoo, soap and towels. We let the front desk know about it, but it took forever for them to bring those items because they were short-staffed. There was no deadbolt on the door. They gave us towels with bad coffee stains or huge holes. That was unbelievable considering the room cost way over $100! Even Motel 6 must have shampoo, bar soap and nicer towels at least.

I heard the ownership just changed and I am guessing the new owners may work on improving the place, but personally, we will not go back to the place.

If you want to check out the Japanese bath, probably it is best to use it for a day without staying at the hotel. The day use is $15, which seems a little more than other hotels in the area. We may go back to use their Japanese bath, but we will not stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2006

Ok this hotel looks abondoned! I walked in thinking it was a joke. There brochure totally fools you into thinking its a nice place. Motel 6 looked excellent compared to this place. The area surronding it is like a dump. Honestly stay in motel 6 if your even thinking of staying here. The door numbers were written on paper pasted to the door! come on! Dont get fooled. Its definalty a one star hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2006

When you first see the Crystal Hotel and Spa Resort,in Desert Hot Springs, it looks just like another huge Hotel Conplex, Once you enter into the Lobby area with its Mural of Desert,and then step out onto the Pool Deck, with its Hot Mineral pool and Jaccuzi's, the Santa Rosa and San Jacinto Mountains in the backgroumd, a feeling of serenity overcomes you.
If you have reserved one of the Mini Suites or even one of the Deluxe Suites with its own private Hot Mineral Jaccuzi tubs, you feel as if your weekend of tranquility is about to start, but wait, there is more,the Crystal Hotel and Spa Resort has an "Onsen", this is a Japanese Bathhouse, here you will find two huge Mineral Water Whirlpools, changing rooms for Men and Women, and best of all once again the gorgeous view of the Mountains.
The Hotel has several excellent Massage Therapist to its disposal, to make your weekend of R&R complete.

5  Thank renataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 율리안나
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,217 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
567 reviews
1.6 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
154 reviews
1.1 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Inn
Desert Hot Springs Inn
#12 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CJ Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 67585 Hacienda Ave, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4826 (Formerly Crystal Hotel Spa and Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Hotel Class:2 star — CJ Grand Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your CJ Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cj Grand Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Cj Grand Hotel And Spa
CJ Grand Hotel & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing