We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Booooo” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of CJ Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CJ Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Booooo”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2008

The hotel is nice but the service is bad. There was one particular person named Roy (apparently the owners son or something) that treated everyone badly. He was such a you know what to everyone especially to the employees. Stay away from here, lousy service.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
6 Thank shadeofgrey08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    2
    3
    13
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
ca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

i would not go there if all of workers treat me as their operator, very unprofessional attitude. when i call for rate, she's like, 'ugh.. here is your total, OK??' you just loose another customer~

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovevegas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Desert Hot Springs hotels

L.A., California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

I stayed at this hotel several times before, but clearly the new management has a different idea of customer service.
Our friends and us took two rooms: both bathrooms were dirty (hair on the floor, soap in the sink, no towels, dirt on the mirror). When we asked for towels, we were given two for each room, because they "had run out of towels". The towels were dirty (one was even blood stained!). The sheets were cheap, and not ironed: they looked as if they had been used and not washed before our arrival.
The AC/heater was broken, and kept blowing full force, alternating hot and freezing air, all night. We called the lobby for help, no answer.
We will definitely not go back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2007

What a disappointment! This place looks so good from the outside, but once inside, it's a dump. To start things off, when we checked in at 4PM, they checked us into a dirty room! When we finally got in to the room, it was clean, but very bare bones. Let me just list the problems: No blanket on the bed, just a thin coverlet and threadbare, cheap sheets. TV only got 4 channels. Remote for TV was broken, no batteries. No clock radio. No pictures on the walls. Filthy lampshade on the only lamp in the room. Hallways of hotel were smelly and water stained. Several jacuzzis and one very large pool unusable/ out of order. Remaining pool and jacuzzi packed with people and small children. (Several children under two undoubtedly peeing in pool.) No coffee maker in room. Very tiny refridgerator in room promptly froze our drinks solid, no way to adjust temp. Rude, uncaring desk staff. By all means, avoid ths property!!

  • Liked — The views from the room
  • Disliked — The customer service was atrocious!
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elisavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
valencia,ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

The ownership of the hotel has been changed recently, and the new owner began to renovate it. Unlike in the past, the room and spa were clean and the service was acceptable. The hotel still needs a restaurant.

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank sjhan12652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2006

We arrived Crystal Hotel Spa and Resort on Christmas day, our first impression was this was simply once a great facility that has simply gone down a slippery slope. It is very obivsious the resort is seriously understaffed. The resort complex is huge, the facility was not properly keep up. The parking was full of debris, the corridors has many burnt out light bulbs. The atomsophere was quiet all right, it has almost a creepy feeling to it. This is not what we had anticpated. We paid $155 / night for the Jacuzzi Suite, right off that bat, things did not go well. The room was spacious and large with two large queen bed. The decor was very 80ish, but biggest problem of all was the plumbing in the bath room was making clunking noise. A call to the front desk revealed that they had onsite to take care of the problem until next day. As a remedy they moved us to the room next door. Although this room has no noisy plumbing but it has lists of troubles. The window blinds is broken, the control knob on the jucuzzi tub was mssing. Worst of all, they had dirty linen / towls. A couple of towels has stains on it. Yikes!!! Despite that, it does have its virtue, the jacucci tub with natural hotspring is very enjoyable. The facitlity itself was well equipped, just not taken cared of properly. For the $ we spent, we simply feel it was NOT worth the money.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Impala96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

The hotel looked abandoned and needed a lot of TLC although the hot tubs outside and the indoor Japanese bath were enjoyable. We had an in-room Jaccuzzi tub and it was nice especially late at night. They have plenty of really nice and hot mineral water coming out of the shower.

Although the spa and bath experience was nice and enjoyable (probably at any place in Desert Hot Springs), the hotel has a lot to improve in its appearance and customer service. People at the front desk were not friendly and didn't know how to make guests welcomed. For the second day of our stay, we didn't get shampoo, soap and towels. We let the front desk know about it, but it took forever for them to bring those items because they were short-staffed. There was no deadbolt on the door. They gave us towels with bad coffee stains or huge holes. That was unbelievable considering the room cost way over $100! Even Motel 6 must have shampoo, bar soap and nicer towels at least.

I heard the ownership just changed and I am guessing the new owners may work on improving the place, but personally, we will not go back to the place.

If you want to check out the Japanese bath, probably it is best to use it for a day without staying at the hotel. The day use is $15, which seems a little more than other hotels in the area. We may go back to use their Japanese bath, but we will not stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.6 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Spa
El Morocco Inn & Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyundae Resort And Spa
Hyundae Resort And Spa
#20 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CJ Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CJ Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: CJ Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 67585 Hacienda Ave, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4826 (Formerly Crystal Hotel Spa and Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — CJ Grand Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your CJ Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cj Grand Hotel And Spa
Cj Grand Hotel Desert Hot Springs
CJ Grand Hotel & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing