We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sage Water Spa : An Oasis in DHS”
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sage Water Spa : An Oasis in DHS”
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Book at least 3 nights at this truly relaxing and welcoming spa in Desert Hot Springs. The owners Rhoni & Cristina are gracious and friendly hosts that know how to make your stay relaxing and special. The pool in fed by the hot spring is always at a comfortable and irresistible 90 degrees. I never wanted to get out! The rooms are spare but comfortably equipped with a kitchenette and luxurious bedding. The pool area has a stone grill if one does not feel like dinner in Palm Springs. Request a treatment from Art, for one of the best massages ever. I can recommend Sagewater Spa enthusiastically, I have stayed there several times and always left wanting to return.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Michael212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
272
54
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
beelay
1 review
Reviewed January 19, 2009

This is the place to go if you're looking for a meticulously maintained property immersed in a scenic oasis that is Desert Hot Springs. Right when you arrive the gracious host Christina (and Sage) welcome you with open arms and a radiant smiles-clearly their objective is to be certain that you are relaxed right when you get to the front door. Any of the rooms are sparkling clean with finished cement floors and full kitchenettes equipped with all necessary utensils, toaster, coffee maker and fridge. At night the outdoor grill is always available to 'Que tasty burgers or whatever you want to cook up. Once settled in, we relaxed around, and in, the mineral pool and spa that leave your skin silky soft and smooth when you get out. Although you'll want to spend most of your time in them. And just when you think the day is coming to an end, lying there on the lounge chairs, watching stars begin to take the sunny sky's place, Christina busts out with her homemade Caipirinhas and Rhoni, equally all smiles and warmth, is right there to offer you chips with homemade (spicy) salsa. What happens after is your business. Enjoy.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank beelay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2009

I love this place. There's a lot of attention paid to design, which is simple yet elegant. But the best part to me was their attention to saving energy (cooling) which is a big deal in the desert. We're not asked to sacrifice but just do smart things like shut stuff off when we leave. The pools were wonderful too as well as Cris, Rhoni, and Sage! I will definitely return! Chris

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Olive58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

I've been to Sagewater Spa twice now to take a personal retreat from the pressures of work and the city -- just to read, write, soak, hike and reflect on life. Cris and Rhoni create a welcoming atmosphere, but also respect your quiet, personal space. Spend hours soaking in the pool, reading in your quiet room and generally enjoying the magic of the desert. It's only about a 20 minute ride up to Joshua Tree National Park -- another great place to reflect and to hike or scramble on rocks. If you're looking for a simple, zen-like getaway with not too many frills and a lot of warmth, this is your place!

  • Liked — The peaceful atmosphere.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank raedog_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2008

My wife and I have stayed here in the past, as well as some of the other spas in Desert Hot Springs.
Sagewater has some of the best water (we think) and Rhoni and Christina are the best hosts, hands down. But it really is all about the water. It really relaxes, soothes and generally makes you feel good.
All of the rooms have kitchens, which is a big plus, as the dining options are not great in the area. Besides, we prefer to maximize our time in the water and poolside relaxing. There is also an outdoor gas grill which used on a couple of nights.
We like the simple and open mid-century feel of the place and the very sunny outdoor area.
We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — The water, the sun and the quiet atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Occasional other guests who don't understand the idea of a quiet spa atmosphere...
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jamo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The owners and their dog, Sage, made us feel most welcome at the Sagewater Spa. The hotel is simple, clean and sleek but without the pretentious attitude...just right for my husband and I. We both had outstanding massages and loved the warm water pool. I highly recommend this place!

  • Liked — friendliness and kindness of the owners
  • Disliked — room was a bit stark
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank babachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This was my second time at the Sagewater. I brought my brother and his wife along as well, and they loved it. We hiked Joshua Tree by day and returned to the Sagewater late each afternoon. There is nothing like soaking in that restorative water after a taxing hike. My sister-in-law got an aromatherapy massage that she said was incredible. We grilled lamb the first night, and had a beautiful dinner under the stars. The beds are super comfortable, and the linens are luxe. We all slept well.
Rhoni and Christina, who by now feel like family, pointed us towards the family-run Capri steakhouse in Desert Hot Springs, where we had an incredible steak dinner our second night. Afterwards, we tore it up with the locals at Playoffs sports bar-fun!
The Sagewater is simple, lovely, and without gimmicks. It's all about Rhoni and Chris and their effortless ease at hosting. Desert Hot Springs is a strange little town, but once you walk into the courtyard, you have your own haven. I plan to continue using Sagewater as my base whenever I return to the splendor of the Joshua Tree area.

  • Liked — Rhoni and Chris make me feel like part of the family
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eeleeleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
1.5 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
554 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
467 reviews
11.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#2 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Property: Sagewater Spa
Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 hot mineral water hotel in Desert Hot Springs. WINNER of 1 of the 25 BEST SMALL HOTELS in the US! Sagewater Spa, a seven room mid-century modern retreat, is a serene environment for adults who desire complete relaxation. Our facilities are exclusively for hotel guests and we do not have day spa guests sharing the property. We are known for our clean hot mineral well water pool and spa, minimalist designer rooms with desert or mountain views and well equipped kitchenettes. The finest Frette linens, TV, Wi-Fi, Aveda amenities, homemade Gramma B's Coffee cake and Organic European roast coffee. A gourmet poolside BBQ and views of Mount San Jacinto, professional massage treatments and facials add to the splendor. Featured on the cover of T + L , Cool Hotels, Best Designed Wellness Hotels, Tashen SPA, NY, LA, London Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, ELLE, SPA, Harper's, Traveler, LA, NY, SF Magazine ++. We understand that, "Quiet is the New Luxury." and a weekend away at Sagewater Spa feels like a week away anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing