We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Retreat”
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
los angeles, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Retreat”
Reviewed December 30, 2008

I've been to Sagewater Spa twice now to take a personal retreat from the pressures of work and the city -- just to read, write, soak, hike and reflect on life. Cris and Rhoni create a welcoming atmosphere, but also respect your quiet, personal space. Spend hours soaking in the pool, reading in your quiet room and generally enjoying the magic of the desert. It's only about a 20 minute ride up to Joshua Tree National Park -- another great place to reflect and to hike or scramble on rocks. If you're looking for a simple, zen-like getaway with not too many frills and a lot of warmth, this is your place!

  • Liked — The peaceful atmosphere.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank raedog_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
272
54
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2008

My wife and I have stayed here in the past, as well as some of the other spas in Desert Hot Springs.
Sagewater has some of the best water (we think) and Rhoni and Christina are the best hosts, hands down. But it really is all about the water. It really relaxes, soothes and generally makes you feel good.
All of the rooms have kitchens, which is a big plus, as the dining options are not great in the area. Besides, we prefer to maximize our time in the water and poolside relaxing. There is also an outdoor gas grill which used on a couple of nights.
We like the simple and open mid-century feel of the place and the very sunny outdoor area.
We are looking forward to our next visit!

  • Liked — The water, the sun and the quiet atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Occasional other guests who don't understand the idea of a quiet spa atmosphere...
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jamo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

The owners and their dog, Sage, made us feel most welcome at the Sagewater Spa. The hotel is simple, clean and sleek but without the pretentious attitude...just right for my husband and I. We both had outstanding massages and loved the warm water pool. I highly recommend this place!

  • Liked — friendliness and kindness of the owners
  • Disliked — room was a bit stark
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank babachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This was my second time at the Sagewater. I brought my brother and his wife along as well, and they loved it. We hiked Joshua Tree by day and returned to the Sagewater late each afternoon. There is nothing like soaking in that restorative water after a taxing hike. My sister-in-law got an aromatherapy massage that she said was incredible. We grilled lamb the first night, and had a beautiful dinner under the stars. The beds are super comfortable, and the linens are luxe. We all slept well.
Rhoni and Christina, who by now feel like family, pointed us towards the family-run Capri steakhouse in Desert Hot Springs, where we had an incredible steak dinner our second night. Afterwards, we tore it up with the locals at Playoffs sports bar-fun!
The Sagewater is simple, lovely, and without gimmicks. It's all about Rhoni and Chris and their effortless ease at hosting. Desert Hot Springs is a strange little town, but once you walk into the courtyard, you have your own haven. I plan to continue using Sagewater as my base whenever I return to the splendor of the Joshua Tree area.

  • Liked — Rhoni and Chris make me feel like part of the family
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank eeleeleel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I first went to Sagewater Spa 3 years ago and have been dreaming ever since of the day I would go back. And the time finally came for my return for my birthday this year. It was everything I remembered and more. Sagewater is the place of ultimate serenity and for someone who has been desperately overworked and severely needed to "get off the grid," it was absolutely PERFECT! The pool is a perfect 90 degrees and slipping in and out is never a shock on the body no matter what time of day or night. The beds are divine with the Frette linens and staying there is the ultimate in laziness without any sort of associated guilt. If you bring in all your own wine and food, there's no reason to ever leave this perfect Oasis in the desert. And if that's not enough, Rhoni and Cristina (the proprietors) are just amazingly awesome and make you feel completely at home. I will be going back every year for the rest of my life.

  • Liked — The feeling of being secluded--a true getaway.
  • Disliked — Not enough bath/shower products.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spygirlprod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

It had been a long week, months for that matter, and driving up to this white building in the middle of the desert truly did look like an oasis. Within 30 minutes of arriving, we were floating in the lovely pool, enjoying the water from natural hot springs that pumps directly into it. Later we sat poolside and noshed to absolute silence except for the occasional breeze. It was the most relaxing afternoon we had in a long time.
Cristina and Rhoni were amazing hosts. With just seven rooms, the atmosphere is one of family and friends. We mingled with them and other guests, shared wine and stories while floating in the pool well into the evening.
The rooms are perfect. Accompanied with a small kitchen, we were able to bring all our favorite things to eat and drink and never leave the location - which is exactly what we wanted. Plus you are given the most amazing coffee cake when you check in!
The coup de grâce was the 1.5 hour in room massage we both had.
If you are looking for a total escape, minimalist relaxing weekend, we highly recommend Sagewater Spa.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shoot072403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2008

My husband and are overworked Los Angelenos and really had a wonderful weekend unwinding at Sagewater Spa. It's very minimal and sparse in decor and activities, but it's ALL ABOUT the mineral pool and hot tub. Slide in and the stress peels right off you. We went when it was hot and, for some reason, a hot pool felt amazing (??). The water does wonders for you skin and hair and just leaves you feeling yummy. And the hospitality is fab--owners are sweet and funny and make you feel right at home:)

  • Liked — The mineral pool and hot tub
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank e-ink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
1.5 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,181 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
553 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
153 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
467 reviews
11.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Property: Sagewater Spa
Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 hot mineral water hotel in Desert Hot Springs. WINNER of 1 of the 25 BEST SMALL HOTELS in the US! Sagewater Spa, a seven room mid-century modern retreat, is a serene environment for adults who desire complete relaxation. Our facilities are exclusively for hotel guests and we do not have day spa guests sharing the property. We are known for our clean hot mineral well water pool and spa, minimalist designer rooms with desert or mountain views and well equipped kitchenettes. The finest Frette linens, TV, Wi-Fi, Aveda amenities, homemade Gramma B's Coffee cake and Organic European roast coffee. A gourmet poolside BBQ and views of Mount San Jacinto, professional massage treatments and facials add to the splendor. Featured on the cover of T + L , Cool Hotels, Best Designed Wellness Hotels, Tashen SPA, NY, LA, London Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, ELLE, SPA, Harper's, Traveler, LA, NY, SF Magazine ++. We understand that, "Quiet is the New Luxury." and a weekend away at Sagewater Spa feels like a week away anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing