We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, inspiring, rejuvenating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sagewater Spa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sagewater Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, inspiring, rejuvenating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Sagewater is unique. The mineral pool rejuvenates and revitalizes every single part of your body and soul and the views of the desert and mountains are simply beautiful. Swimming at night watching the stars with a gentle breeze, eating outside, having a glass of wine and some delicious homemade hummus Rhoni (our wonderful host) made for us... It was perfect. The rooms are lovely, very cozy, extremely comfortable and I guarantee: you will have the most replenishing sleep you've had in a while.

I definitely recommend it to everyone looking to get away to find peace, quiet, rest, inspiration and sun. You have to come and experience it for yourself. I have been to several spas in Desert Hot Springs and Palm Springs and Sagewater simply beats all of them by far.

I am looking forward to coming back... hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriasantamonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    17
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
269
52
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had the good fortune to be a guest at Sagewater Spa and I will never stay anywhere else.
First of all, the entire place is immaculate! I have never seen a cleaner and more elegant place anywhere. The waters are truly a piece of heaven. I lay in the water late in the evening and watched the full moon light up the skies. It was such a beautiful experience, I was rejuvenated in one day. Imagine how it would feel after six or seven days. The owners bent over backwards to make sure I was comfortable. And I'm not talking about doing Yoga.

This is the best buy for the money and I know because I have frequented others spas in Desert Hot Springs and there is no comparison. Do yourself a favor and rent a room for as along as you can manage. It will be so worth it.

Room Tip: They're all good. I mean it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andcag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west palm beach
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I just love Sagewater Spa. We have returned several times and I just had to write another review about it. My work is very hectic and so at times I need to get away to relax and take a vacation away from it all. Sagewater Spa to me is a jewel... the hosts Rhoni and Cristina are so warm, wonderful and caring and that sets the tone for the Spa. It is in a beautiful setting surrounded by the hills of the desert.. the light is exquisite... The rooms are beautifully done, simple and elegant. The mineral pool luxurious. It is very heavenly being there and the service exquisite. I travel from the east coast just to spend several days there to relax and recharge and be in be in the presence of such wonderful hospitality and ambiance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bengiwestpalmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Sagewater Spa is the reflection of our guests! Please know that having you stay and return is a
huge part of our paradise. Looking forward to seeing you both during Modernism Week!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had been at Sagewater Spa for over 5 years and always our reeencounter with nature give us a sense of staying in heaven.
We travel intyernatiotionally for many years and every time we are back in USA as part of our habits it is a must to go to Sagewater Spa.

As soon as we arrive we are very welcoming by Rhoni, Cristina and Sage (Schnauzer) very therapeutic reception. The place is minimalist, but very comfortable accommodations and also conveniently equipped to be in it. Before our arrival we do a quick stop at the local market to supply us during our stay. Each room has a fully equipped kitchen so, we don't need to go out for lunch or dinner we are able to BBQ by the pool side as well as to cook easilly in the kitchen in our room. The beauty of it, we can eat by the pool under the patio area and be able to share moments with others interesting guests, or if we don't want to talk we will be able to connect with desert nature (quiet and rustic). After long trip we can't wait to soak in the pool and spa - the water is fantastic Hot Mineral very healing!!! As part of our relaxation we book incredible massages in our room by excellent professionals, because Cristina owned a large Massage School in So.California, so they know what is right for you - "paradise" - Rhoni and Cris guide us to the best treatments for our needs. You won't regreat. Just trust.
Also, they helped us to do some sightseeings around as - Joshua Tree Park, Integratron, Cabot's Museum and others to explore during our stay. Always new experinces!!!!
This is our favor spot in USA.
Thank you both for maintain this special place for us!
We can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in different rooms and our preference it is anyroom with spectacular mountain views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aldo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review, I know that English is your second language and you are really quite eloquent. Also, thanks again for letting our other guests know more about us and also for sending your family and friends to stay with us when they are in the U.S. Since Cristina is fluent in Spanish, Portuguese and some Italian, it's been comforting for our foreign travelers to be able to communicate in their native language. I speak English with a Boston accent which also makes for some interesting exchanges!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The managers were very kind and welcoming. I would definatley recommend Sagewater if you are looking for a calimg and relaxing getaway vacation. The massages were great and the pool is very close so we were able to relax in the beautiful hot mineral water after. We will definatley be coming back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovelyday0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorterHouse09, Owner at Sagewater Spa, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We have so much gratitude for our glorious guests. Everyone enters Sagewater Spa and instantly respects the property and the privacy of other guests. I've never been to a place that is as quiet and relaxed., a place to truly unwind the mind. Sage Spa is transformative.
Everyone has their own values about what is important and when it come to our top ratings I am always proud of our attention to detail and cleanliness that everyone appreciates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We do a lot of traveling and I do quite a bit of research on lodging... with a goal to find amazing yet understated places such as the Sagewater Spa. We just got back from a two night stay for my birthday, incredible! Minimalist motel chic with the most amazing mineral water pool that you won't ever want to get out of. Rhoni is amazing and so great in helping you plan activities if you so choose, although I imagine sleeping, soaking and sunning is top priority for most guests. The key to this place is simplicity- rooms are simple as are amenities- no nightly housekeeping or turndown which is fine with me- the pool is glorious, grounds are quiet, no kids or throbbing poolside club music. Heaven.

Tips: this is a BYO food/drink place, each(?) room has a its own little kitchen and there is a BBQ by the pool. I love this idea since once you get on grounds you won't want to leave. And it allows you to eat what you want. Bring at least two swimsuits as you'll be spending most of your time in them. Prepare to bliss out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ty2728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guerneville, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were lucky enough to stumble upon the Sagewater spa a few weeks ago and it was amazing. When you walk through the doors you enter a new world. We settled into our room and we were in the pool within minutes. The property was so comfortable that instead of eating dinner out, we brought it back and ate on the patio. Just such a comfortable and welcoming place. Then we had massages in our own room and whil my wife was being massaged I was getting loose and ready for my massage in the mineral pool and hot tub. These wonderful women and their little dog have created the vibe that works for us very well. I am going to go and book for December right now actually.

Room Tip: Our room had two beds and a kitchen. I don't think every room has the kitchen and that was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.5 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#4 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Spa
El Morocco Inn & Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#10 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sagewater Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sagewater Spa

Property: Sagewater Spa
Address: 12689 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4759
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Green Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sagewater Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
#1 hot mineral water hotel in Desert Hot Springs. WINNER of 1 of the 25 BEST SMALL HOTELS in the US! Sagewater Spa, a seven room mid-century modern retreat, is a serene environment for adults who desire complete relaxation. Our facilities are exclusively for hotel guests and we do not have day spa guests sharing the property. We are known for our clean hot mineral well water pool and spa, minimalist designer rooms with desert or mountain views and well equipped kitchenettes. The finest Frette linens, TV, Wi-Fi, Aveda amenities, homemade Gramma B's Coffee cake and Organic European roast coffee. A gourmet poolside BBQ and views of Mount San Jacinto, professional massage treatments and facials add to the splendor. Featured on the cover of T + L , Cool Hotels, Best Designed Wellness Hotels, Tashen SPA, NY, LA, London Times, Chicago Tribune, Boston Globe, ELLE, SPA, Harper's, Traveler, LA, NY, SF Magazine ++. We understand that, "Quiet is the New Luxury." and a weekend away at Sagewater Spa feels like a week away anywhere else. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sagewater Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Sagewater Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing