We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Oasis behind the Walls - You won't want to leave”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hacienda Hot Springs Inn
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Desert Hot Springs
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Awesome Oasis behind the Walls - You won't want to leave”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is relaxing with a capital R! It is very romantic and a sense of peace overcomes you while floating in the warm pool (90 degrees) and walking around the beautiful gardens. The garden area has been set up with several private places to just sit and talk or watch the birds. We had the pleasure of having a a family of roadrunners for company.

The rooms are a bit on the rustic side with flat screen tvs and great products - There is a Bar-B que which we cooked dinner on each night. Our room had a small kitchenette and a private patio. We took our dinner out there and watched the stars and the eclipse of the moon. Listened to the owls singing their song during the night.,

Karl, the manager, is a sweetheart. He is gracious and accommodating. Book a stay, you won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Rooms with Kitchettes, so you don't have to leave the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanti108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    26
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
95
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

This was our second visit to the Hacienda and the moment we arrived its like you walk into an alternative reality. We were visiting the area for Modernism Week and had spent the previous 2 days on walking tours in Palm Springs. We had vague plans to do stuff on the 2 following days but apart from buying supplies didn't move from the poolside. The door opens to a magical garden, with a stream, trees, flowers and a hot spring water pool that is like swimming in a natural lake- yet with water so warm and silky, and a hot hot hot spa. The bed gave us the best sleep in months.
Karl the manager is the best I've ever met, so welcoming and friendly throughout your stay, checking on you during the day as he does his monitoring of the pool temperatures. (Such a contrast to the too cool for school style over substance hotel we moved onto).
The delicious chilled spring water never runs low and his staff take great pride in maintaining the quality of the grounds and rooms. The Hacienda has an outside kitchen, which during both stays we have enjoyed making use of, BBQing while looking out across the garden and pool all subtly lit at night is such a pleasure. We have stayed in room 7- lovely rear patio with tree and hammock, room 2 - huge room with large kitchenette. For us as we like to BBQ the hammock wins. Night time swimming, swimming early in the morning watching hummingbirds dart around, soaking in the 103degree spa looking at the stars, so many wonderful memories.
There's a large communal table outside where the excellent simple breakfast is served each day and where people congregate to chat. You can be sociable or just chill in your own space, it's that sort of place. Even fully booked we only saw a maximum of 4 other guests at any one time. All the guests we met were regulars (Hi James H!) and there was one visitor who drives from LA after work just to soak and swim and then drive home, he came twice while we were there. I think that gives an indication of the love people have for this place and its restorative qualities. I wept the first time I left here in 2012 thinking that would be my only visit, no tears this time but a commitment to myself that I deserve to return.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrnMrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Hacienda Hot Springs & Spa is a peaceful Oasis of lush, green, shade & quietude. It's rejuvenating properties make a lasting impression. The owner is an arbiter of taste who has gone to tremendous lengths to develop a one of a kind sanctuary complete with pure rejuvenating warm AND hot mineral pools. The rooms are charming & finished with all the amenities This is a destination worthy of the most experienced connoisseur of hot springs. I have had the good fortune of staying at Hacienda Hot Springs at least 15 times & it gets better with every stay. I can't wait till my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for a week and it was wonderful. The setting is lovely: soothing and relaxing without being overdone. Our room was charming, well appointed and well decorated, with a secluded private patio and kitchenette. The hot tub was just a few steps out our front door. Across the patio was an outdoor kitchen with a gas grill and other cooking necessities. The Hacienda is small, 6 rooms, and so it feels very peaceful, quiet and homey. The grounds are absolutely beautiful and very well maintained.

The Hacienda's manager, Karl, is a gracious and welcoming host. He was always available to help with whatever we needed, and he is very knowledgeable about the area (where to go, what to see, what to expect etc.)

Overall, the Hacienda is just a wonderful place to stay. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Room 4 was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 268GAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

When we arrived we instantly felt this was going to be a wonderful trip. The grounds are spectacular. Karl is very inviting and even meets you when you walk in. The rooms are quaint and clean. If there is one thing I would like to see in the rooms it would be somewhere to hang wet towels--it is a hot spring hotel, afterall. A hook on the patio wall or something similar would be nice. Because it is small there is respect for privacy as well as respect for any needs the guest has. The breakfast has coffee, juice, yogurt, fruit, breads, homemade granola (which is VERY good). There's organic milk and either almond or coconut milk.
We have already been talking about our next return visit. And we are normally not people who like going the same place very often.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanloversd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I took a Watsu (water massage course) here and spent a full week in their beautiful pool, surrounded by plants and nature! The resort has a wonderfully intimate feel, with guests socializing in the hot tub when they want company or relaxing in silence in one of the sweet garden nooks when they want to be alone. They have a wonderful staff, with the owner, Karl, always checking in to make sure all your needs are fully satisfied. When you're a guest there, you can tell he genuinely cares for your wellbeing. This is a place full of relaxation, natural beauty, and friendliness, and I highly recommend it!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Spring090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We were welcomed sincerely by Carl and the staff and felt much like family. The other guests made it very relaxed with casual conversation too; very laid back...yet we felt like minor celebrities. Awesome oasis-like property with nooks and a tinkling stream... But the cozy room with the king bed was hard to leave after our afternoon nap. Topper for our stay was the hot tub and pool. Nothing like looking at the stars while you float!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Desert Hot Springs hotels
1.6 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#19 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
Tuscan Springs Hotel and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Hot Springs Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Hot Springs Inn

Property: Hacienda Hot Springs Inn
Address: 12885 Eliseo Rd, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4724
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#10 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Therapeutic Mineral Water Pool & Spa. Seven rooms with kitchenettes. Hacienda Hot Springs combines the tranquility of the desert and therapeutic powers of our mineral water with luxurious accommodations to envelop you in comfort and enhance your state of well- being. Each of Hacienda Hot Springs' seven unique rooms evokes old California with vintage California decor and lovingly restored Spanish Hacienda-style architecture. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hot Springs Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Hacienda Hot Springs Spa
Hacienda Hot Springs Inn Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing