We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than the original”

Capri Italian Restaurant
Price range: $6 - $27
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 8th Street
Transit: Sunline Line Route 14 stops across from the hotel.
Description: THE LEGENDARY CAPRI RESTAURANT ISNOW AT MIRACLE SPRINGS RESORT & SPAThe popular Capri Restaurant, a Desert Hot Springs landmark for 35 years, is now at Miracle Springs Resort & Spa. At the helm is 3rd generation Chef Anthony Santucci, grandson of founders John Sr. and Julia Santucci. The Capri features fine Italian dining, specializing in hand-cut to order 16-ounce steaks, homemade Italian sausage, homemade desserts and seasonal local produce. Daily Specials are inspired by the latest trends in fine dining. A separate dining room is available for groups and functions.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than the original”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Finally, the food we loved for the last 25 years in the restaurant setting that it deserves. I had a rib eye steak that covered the entire plate cooked just the way I like and my wife had a baked lasagna that would have been featured on the opening credits of the Flintstones had it been set in prehistoric Italy. Even my Ceasar salad was worth mentioning, nice lemon twang that I expect a high quality restaurant to understand. We were hoping that it would be the Capri we remember, just in a new location. Our waiter Jody gets top marks in all categories as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylorjpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Capri Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for the great review Taylor! We are very proud of our Capri Restaurant; especially the fact that we have maintained and enhanced the quality of the original, and all items offered at 2/3rds the original's prices.

I am forwarding this review to server Jodi's supervisor for additional recognition; he's a really great guy and with us for, I think, about 6 years.

I couldn't tell where you live, Taylor, but we greatly look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    78
    52
    19
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bonsall, California, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good food”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate there once during our stay at Miracle Springs Resort and the food was quite tasty with large servings. Great staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carsonparlan, Public Relations Manager at Capri Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you, Peter, for your 5-Star review! This is exactly what we strive for in the Capri, and really "got" what we're about...great food and great service at highly reasonable prices...thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the original Capri”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This "original" Capri which helped to put Desert Hot Springs on the map was purchased by Michael Bickford of Miracle Springs Hotel. None of the original family quality along with their very friendly attention to the quality of food exists.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank KarlBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelbickford, Manager at Capri Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hi Karl,
We take great care to make the best Italian dishes in town. Chef Tyronne Love is top notch and has improved the Capri offering over time.

Karl, as a local business owner and community supporter, its disappointing to see that you are not a fan of local's favorite, and a family owned enterprise, as the Capri has always been.

Reggie Bickford, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucca Valley
Level Contributor
73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good selections”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The only decent restaurant in Desert Hot Springs. The house made sausage is very good. Pasta with some specialty dishes, like osso buco.

Helpful?
Thank ThomasYV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Great Atmosphere !!!!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our Anniversary and came across this great
restaurant by chance. The atmosphere is very nice,romantic,but yet Family
oriented also.
Food was priced right,delicious,yummy food.Very attentive to our need's and
friendly staff.
Would recommend this place as a great choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capri Italian Restaurant also viewed

Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
Desert Hot Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Capri Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing