We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came here on a day pass”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Desert Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

The other 5 star reviews are on point. This establishment is exactly as advertised and offers a truly tranquil experience. As they say, it's not a place to party but truly be able to relax.

The facilities are dated but in good shape. With plenty of loungers and fresh towels.

This is a clothing optional facility where almost everybody is nude. My wife chose to wear a bathing suite and I chose to go nude, this was not a problem and we both felt very comfortable with our surroundings.

Outside food is allowed so bring snacks as none is sold on site.

Kudos to the owners for making this a special and unique place that my wife and I will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Enigmalife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (421)
There are newer reviews for Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 421 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

We called on short notice and were able to get a room for the next night. We stayed in room 8 and were happy with the cleanliness of the bathroom and full kitchen. The bed was comfy, we were pleased to find a fan in the closet and a plug in heater if needed. Cleanliness was excellent in and around the pools and we enjoyed having a smoking area. Great couples massage....kudos to Lily and Kat. The owners are on sight and very welcoming. We enjoyed the company of the other guests and found everyone to be friendly and sociable. We have our reservations made for our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Falls4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Returning to LWS is like coming home. Following a cold windy winter, driving up Mountain View Rd., and seeing the familiar sign engendered a deep sigh. Jeff and Judy are consummate hosts, and staff are always so kind. Our couples massage was the icing on a delicious cake. We always look forward to meeting new friends, and this year did not disappoint. Staying at LWS is like coming back to be with old friends. Pretenses are left at the door. The facility is charming and kept spotlessly clean. We love the option of having a kitchen. This year I saw most of the other rooms, which all have amazing charms. We highly recommend this location, and will continue to make it our special vacation location.

Room Tip: No matter which room you choose, you will not be disappointed. All have different charms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

A nice three day weekend in Palm Springs. Decided to try out Living Waters as we have visited other clothing optional resorts in the area and abroad. It is a relaxing environment but needs some love and special attention. The lounging chairs outside are old and plastic, not to mention white. The walls are white in the pool area and there are a few very healthy cactus plants that surround. This location has such potential to be an inspiring atmosphere, but instead lacks energy and character. Further, the happy hour that is offered is nice, but only offered if you join the owners and other guests in the hot tub. It is a nice touch to get people to socialize a bit, but it does not feel free and could create an uncomfortable implied situation. Lastly, while the owners and staff are certainly kind and friendly, they lack any ability to truly serve their guests. It feels more like you are a guest in their home and not staying at a resort that you are paying for. We observed the owner arguing (politely) with a customer on the phone about the fact that they must check in on a Friday night before 5 if they had not been there before and that they had plenty of bookings if they did not fit into the rules. Well, the facility a few weeks ago, when we were there was certainly NOT full. Only a few rooms were booked. The owners position is that they still want to live their life and after 5pm daily is their time. I get it!! However, this is a resort that people pay money to visit and feel like pampered guests and this is anything but a place to feel pampered. If complete privacy, same zen like tunes playing over and over and uncomfortable chairs while lounging are your thing, than this might be the place for you. In closing, we stayed three nights and our rooms were never cleaned, sheets changed, new towels brought in or even offered. It states in the brochure that rooms are only cleaned after two nights. Again, not something that feels too good when you are paying resort nightly rates. We stayed three nights and never had an offer to clean or if we had any needs. If the owners wish to continue to publicize their facility as they do, I would highly suggest that they hire a staff or two on Fridays and or Saturdays to check people in after 5 and give guests the value that they pay for in all other parts of the facility.. The reason that they have a five star rating is the approach to reviews that the owners take which is genius but misleading. After you stay, you are sent an email with a request to review and if implied that if the review might be anything but a five star than please do not post it and send it to them first for them to review and fix. Unfortunately, it is pretty clear that the items I mentioned are not going to be fixed anytime soon as they owners are pretty fixed and set in their way. .

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chloemt12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingWatersSpa, Owner at Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Our goal is to provide an environment that is a relaxing, restoring and rejuvenating experience for all our guests. This has been our goal since we opened and we ARE set in our ways about this. <grin> Since 2004 over 250 guests have given us Five Star reviews on TripAdvisor because they are attracted to what we offer and we do it with genuine care and concern. This reviewer was obviously looking for something that we are not and we’d encourage all potential guests to read all our reviews and visit our website to understand what Living Waters Spa is all about.

When guests come from places that are non-desert (such as this reviewer) our desert atmosphere can be a shock to the senses. In fact, when we first moved to the desert to open Living Waters Spa we wanted to “LA-ify” or “Disney-fy” the building, i.e. make it into something that it is not – lush and green. We realized that our mid-century modern desert building was best kept in that simplicity of the desert. What we've found is once someone “gets” the desert or the desert “gets them,” it takes on a whole new beauty. Our healthy desert plants are currently in bloom – the aloes, the agave and the hummingbirds abound. We don’t understand the issue of our lounge chairs. They are industry standard style metal with vinyl straps and are of an exceptional quality as they must be outside 24x7 even in the bright summer sun. They are white as seen on our website and fit our decor quite nicely.

Each day we have an afternoon time of hors devours. We announce to guests that we are serving these refreshments in the smaller pool and they are welcome to join us. We expect guests to come and get a plate for themselves and they can either stay and join in the conversation or go back to their lounge chairs or room. There is no requirement to partake or not. We really don’t understand the problem the reviewer has with this popular daily activity.

Yes we do require guests to arrive by 5:00pm if they have never been to Living Waters Spa. This policy is also detailed on our website and repeated when a reservation is being made on the phone. We regularly get calls from people who just want a place to sleep for the night and not come for the Living Waters Spa experience. We really want people to be here who want to be here for the experience and so we save the rooms for them! This policy helps us do that.

In keeping with current hotel best practices we do not provide room freshening for two nights stays unless requested. This is an environmental issue for the hotel industry. Also, when guests draw their blinds and lock their doors we take this as a sign to leave them alone and expect them to request a room freshening when needed. Regardless, as these guests were here three nights we did drop the ball and we wish the guests would have held us accountable while they were here. This was not in keeping with our goal of providing 5-star customer service.

We are not for everybody, but for over 250 people on TripAdvisor since 2004 we rate 5 stars. After all, what really makes our business great is the people who stay with us. They form an extended family from far and wide, young and old, and from all walks of life. We do want to hear from our guests and in fact our guests make our place even better with their suggestions and comments. Life is short, please stay where you like but don’t expect us to be like other places you've visited. We are different. In fact, this is why people stay with us. - Jeff & Judy, Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I returned this weekend from a six night stay at Living Waters Spa (LWS) a place that provides a wonderful stay in a tranquil environment. For various reasons my wife was not able to make the trip so I was traveling alone. Jeff and Judy made me feel right at home and provided me with a very comfortable room #4 with a great view and kitchen. On their web site they mention the custom made mattresses in the rooms. Whatever they did to get these mattresses it was worth it as I slept better than in my own bed at home. The facility is small and run much like a B&B which makes it even better than a hotel. The owners, Jeff and Judy and their staff, Lilly and Kate are very friendly and willing to help to make your visit to LWS and the area a great one.

Every one of the other guests I met were very friendly like what I've experienced at other clothing optional resorts. Major items in my search for a place to go was 1) somewhere where single males are accepted, 2) where it is clothing optional but without the lifestyle environment and not a party place, 3) and had good reviews. LWS hit all of these in my search and exceeded my expectations while there with the environment, massage, guests, location, etc.

Some of the other guests invited me for a night out and I had a chance to see one of the condo units. I was surprised in how very very nice and spacious they are and how they have garages. Definitely a consideration for a return visit with my wife an possibly sharing with friends.

Room Tip: I don't think there really is a 'better room'. It depends on whether you want a kitchen...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_4_Relax_N_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

That's right... those THREE words are the words that Jeff and Judy, owners of Living Waters Spa, have chosen to describe what can be experienced at LWS. This was our THIRD visit to LWS because we needed all 3R's... and that is what we got and more.
RELAX: quaint 1960's atmosphere without all the activity of larger resorts; time to get to know the other guests... and Jeff and Judy... and leave as friends - looking forward to seeing them again.
REJUVENATE: oh, that hot mineral springs water... one can sit in that water all day and evening... just does not get any better than the healthy feeling it creates
RESTORE: add in a massage and you will leave here absolutely feeling great... well, almost... you will have to work with your feelings about leaving this great place... but that is easy: just schedule another time. And coordinate that time with your new friends...

There is so much more I could write about: breakfast, hot tub happy hour, the view... and all without the contraints of any clothes... It just does not get any better. I just cannot figure out why we waited five years to return. Now, even five days, weeks, or months seems like a long long time.

Thanks to Jeff and Judy for creating and perserving such a safe intimate place to Relax, Rejuvenate and Restore.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Jeff and Judy and staff have created a wonderful relaxing vacation oasis in the desert. Clean, comfortable, friendly and healthy! The flow-through water system makes their natural hot spring pools a special and healthy feel. The massages are fantastic. We'll be back.
W & C, Seattle, WA

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W_and_CSeattle_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
2.1 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,208 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
561 reviews
1.5 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Desert Sun Resort
Desert Sun Resort
#31 of 73 in Palm Springs
281 reviews
2.0 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Waters Clothing-optional Spa

Address: 13340 Mountain View Rd, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-6444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#1 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#2 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range: $99 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rates: $99-$209. We are a clothing optional mini-resort spa with two natural hot mineral water pools, stylish rooms and condos, distinctive massage and spa treatments, king size beds, custom mattresses, free wifi, massage workshops, breakfast and afternoon hors d'oeuvres, early check-in and late check-out, complete privacy, great people and a relaxing, romantic and de-stressing environment. Experience "more than a vacation" at Living Waters Spa and you take home the coolest vacation souvenir of all: no tan-lines! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Living Waters Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Living Waters Resort
Living Waters Clothing-Optional Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing