We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Spring Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very special”
Reviewed January 7, 2007

We were travelling from Ireland and I did quite a bit of research (a lot of it on this site) to try and find a nice relaxing hotel in the desert which made use of the local hot springs. The reviews of the Spring were very favourable here so we booked two nights.

It has to be said that Desert Hot Springs is not the most attractive of towns, there are many chain and fast food outlets and little personality is evident on the main streets (we later had a terrible experience at one of the larger resorts). The hotel gave me directions which skipped the main drag and they asked that we didn't follow the google or mapquest directions. This was actually very sensible as a trip through the town would have given us a bad impression and maybe darkened our mood. As it was the drive was scenic and put us in relaxed mood on arrival.

The Spring is very small, I think there were 9 rooms and has the feel of an intimate retreat rather than any kind of large commercial enterprise. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly member of staff and some refreshing water from the spring before a tour of the premises.

We had booked a room by the pool and it was excellent. There is no television (but wi fi access). The main plus is the bed, probably the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The owners of this hotel clearly care about the comfort of their guests. The sheets are made of Egyptian cotton and there is none of the bleach often associated with hotels. The bathroom comes kitted with excellent shampoos, washes and soaps. The room next to us came with a kitchen which was only $20 extra.

Even late at night we got to try out the finnish wood sauna (excellent but a little cramped), the spring water hot tub (fresh jets of water and very warm even on a cold windy night)...and the small indoor pool (again, perfect refreshing sping water, lovely temperature and atmosphere).

The mineral water swimming pool is also excellent, very refreshing and easily large enough to swim some lengths.

Whilst we were there, we were unfortunate that the weather was very windy although the sun was out. But the atmosphere at The Spring is calming and refreshing. There's a very warm comfortable living area (where you get breakfast as well) where you can relax after being in the pool with a book or some newspapers. The breakfast is basic and healthy (yoghurt, muesli, coffee, perfect for the setting) .

We didn't get a chance to do any treatments as we left to visit the living desert but the Spring is a wonderful, calm atmosphere run by people who pay attention to every detail. They will even order food in from local restuarants (there's a nice homely Italian and good mexican, little else) should you get comfortable and decide not to move form the hotel for your stay.

We will return as soon as possible. Thank you the Spring!

  • Liked — the calm atmosphere and spa faclites
  • Disliked — the loungers may need updating but everything was excellent otherwise
  • Tips/Secrets — perfect retreat, beware of the large resorts in the same town
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Daithio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    46
    12
    13
    7
See reviews for
37
211
51
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
san diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2007

The Spring Resort and Spa located in Hot Springs, CA is a tranquil oasis in the desert and is easier to get to than Palm Springs due to it’s proximity to the highway. They have the best drinking water in the world and the hottest spring in the area, making this a perfect winter retreat. You can melt away the stress in their sauna imported from Finland and rejuvenate your skin in one of their two high mineral content untreated pools or Jacuzzi. Their spa facilities and staff are top notch.

  • Liked — Tranquil oasis
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room with a kitchen and order groceries (they will grocery shop for you with one days notice) or bring groceries (there is a Von's supermarket nearby) because you can enhance your destressing experience by not driving anywhere. Their breakfast is cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, and yogurt. If you want something hot, you need to make it yourself or go out. They have a nice wine selection at very reasonable prices so you don’t need to bring wine. Also, the drinking water is amazing and they fill up you pitcher with ice, lemon and water in the lobby as frequently as you like. I would recommend getting a room with a kitchen, asking them to grocery shop for you (at least one day in advance), order the wine from the spa, bring nothing but a bathing suit or two (everyone walks around in robes the entire time), and just relax. If you are coming from the West, the Morongo Casino is on the way and has an awesome buffet at very reasonable prices..
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank condenasttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

The Spring is a wonderfully quiet and peaceful retreat. There's no pomp and unnecessary luxury there, just what you really need to calm down and relax. It's not overdesigned and not too "new agey" either. The rooms are minimally but tastefully decorated and impeccably clean. Service was very friendly, helpful and pleasantly unobtrusive. It's a perfect example that sometimes less is more. We only stayed one night after visiting Joshua Tree National Park, so unfortunately didn't have time for any spa treatments, but the three mineral water pools were perfect to have a relaxing soak in the hot tub before going to bed and a refreshing swim in the cold water pool in the morning. We had a great dinner from the delivery menu and a nice bottle of wine from the hotel's selection. Fresh fruit, yoghurt and cereals for breakfast were ideal before getting back on the road through the desert back home. I'd go there again any time.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Tips/Secrets — i can only recommend it
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

THE RESORT:

From perusing the website, I was expecting something a bit more corporate and everyday (maybe it was the ubiqutous photo of a woman getting a facial, cucumber slices planted on her eyes). However, stepping into the courtyard of this small resort took my breath away - it felt so lush and magical.

The grounds were immaculate, the mineral baths inviting.

Even though it was a full house the weekend I went, I felt like the guests were good at giving each other space. We were all on our separate rejuvenating missions! There was plenty of opportunity to loll around the jacuzzi on your own.

I didn't see any solo travelers, just pairs. I would be more than willing to come here on my own, though.

THE ROOM:

The room was perfect and I appreciated the attention to detail. Cruelty-free yummy smelling products were stationed in the bathroom and I enjoyed using them over the course of my stay. A stick of incense here, a tiny dried flower over there... so many lovely touches. The colors of the room were earthy and relaxing. Magazines and a (nice) CD player provided a little entertainment.

THE SPA:

If you like deep massage, this is the place for you - the therapists I had all had strong hands. If you sign up for deep tissue, expect to get deep tissue (unlike at some other spas where you need to sign up for deep tissue to get something approximating a regular massage... and the regular massage is just a sad little overpriced joke).

TIPS:

If you are a real "breakfast person" (and you know who you are) spring for a room with a kitchen and bring your own eggs, bread, whole milk for coffee/tea, etc. It will add to your already glorious experience!

I might be tempted to bring my own music to my spa treatments next time, so that I could listen to something a little less harp music/waves crashing.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DeviledEggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

Terrible experience at the end of a nice weekend. We were confirmed one price and upon check out charged another. (Almost double). We had the conformation and price in writing from an email conformation. We were told that an employee made a mistake and that we would have to pay for her mistake. No apology and a nasty tone...and this was from the owner. We had stayed three nights, paid for a massage, bought robes, lotions and other pricey products from the hotel over the three days. After upsetting my wife and the sun going down we just wanted to get out of there. Finally agreed to split the difference just so we could leave. Don’t know what they were pulling here but I would not trust the owner. Nasty experience and I would not recommend them (The massage was overpriced and weak as well).


  • Disliked — Being overcharged quoted price.
  • Tips/Secrets — Getting it in writing won't help so go someplace else.
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank UG105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, CA
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at The Spring over the weekend and had a wonderful time. He is still thanking me for choosing such a relaxing and inviting place. The pools are just wonderful, we would hop between the three all day. The massages and facials are excellent. Jennifer is the best...cranial dreamwork is a must try. I just can't say enough about how relaxed we were...it was something that we both needed. Thanks again 'The Spring'!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank francisfammem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

After driving past this resort, that is well disguised behind a white stucco wall, we were totally surprised to find "shangrila" hidden in the desert. We were warmly greeted, and immediately offered a cool glass of the famous mineral water with a slice of lemon. We were given a tour of the beautiful grounds & amenities, including 2 mineral pools, a mineral jacuzzi, a steam or dry sauna, & the spa area. There is a common area "living room" where they serve great coffee & a delightful continental breakfast. Board games and magazines and a bowl of fresh fruit are there to enjoy. We stayed in room #6 which had beautifully stained concrete floors, and very Zen like furnishings. The towels and bedding were soft & plush and we are still on a mission to recreate the fresh & clean scent that was always present in our room. The mattress rewarded us with 2 nights of heavenly sleep. Every member of the staff was helpful, pleasant and eager to please. Our spa services included the clay/sandalwood wrap that he said was wonderful, and I had the Spring Buff was invigorating yet relaxing. He had his first facial, the "Gentleman's facial" and said it was like heaven, and I had
the "Spring Zen Breeze" facial done by Michelle and it was the best, and she was kind enough to research & recommend some skin care products for me. We spent hours in the enclosed pool just relaxing and enjoying each other's company. The owner is very charming and takes great interest in her guests thoughts and comfort. She has created a very peaceful, tastefully decorated, luxurious yet simple oasis. No televisions, telephones, pets, kids, or disruptive noise....ahhh we will definitely be back :) Thank you

  • Liked — Quiet & relaxing
  • Disliked — No pastries
  • Tips/Secrets — Spend as much time relaxing at this resort!!!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KLHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
1.6 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
1,175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
551 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
El Morocco Inn & Day Spa
#6 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#18 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#11 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
152 reviews
9.7 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Resort & Spa

Property: The Spring Resort & Spa
Address: 12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92240-4762
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Spring Resort & Spa 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPRING Resort & Spa is a magical place. Overlooking Palm Springs w/dramatic views of snow capped mountain peaks, magnificent mineral water emerges from the earth at 170 degrees, charged with healing, restorative minerals. Luxurious, romantic guest rooms surround 3 mineral pools, featuring king pillow-top beds, down pillows, duvets and 100% Egyptian cotton linens. THE SPRING Day Spa offers a complete line of spa treatments, massages, buffs, wraps, and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Spring Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spring Resort And Spa
The Spring Hotel Desert Hot Springs
Hot Spring California
The Spring Resort & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing