We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mountain View Suite - Pros and Cons” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Spring Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Spring Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mountain View Suite - Pros and Cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed in the Mountain View Suite, which is a secluded room behind the spa building. Used a Groupon deal which saved us like 40-50%.

Pros: Located in a quiet neighborhood amongst other hot spring hotels. Convenient parking right in front of the building (the Mountain View Suite has its own reserved parking spot) - though some may not like that the parking lot is so open (literally next to the street). Staff are friendly and attentive. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxed, with most residents trying to keep their voices down (most, not all). The three pools are warm and the water quality is good. Their drinking water is delicious and refreshing. Complimentary breakfast was healthy and delicious (rye breads, hardboiled eggs, fruit, coffee/tea, yogurt) The Mountain View Suite itself is spacious. Amenities are from Lather, a high-end boutique in Pasadena.

Cons: The pool water could use some cleaning/filtering (a noticeable amount of hair, bugs, twigs in the water). The towels are a bit rough and frayed - could use replacing. Our biggest gripe is the Mountain View Suite climate. You get a wall unit A/C which badly needs to be replaced. Every time it runs, it emits a loud whirring sound, waking you up every 5-10 minutes. Also, you're not supposed to set the temperature below 76 degrees, (which is fine since that's what I set my home thermostat at) but the room never gets to 76 degrees. It's 100+ degrees outside and the room never got any cooler than 80. Needless to say, we couldn't sleep very well from the A/C noise and the high temps. Also, not sure how carefully the room is cleaned - some dust and hair were visible.

Overall, a unique concept, nice layout, friendly service, but the Mountain View Suite (maybe the other rooms too) need repairs or updating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlee508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at The Spring Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Ensuring our guests have a 5 star experience at THE SPRING is our top priority. Feedback like this is greatly appreciated.

We apologize for the poor night’s sleep our guests endured during their visit. We take pride in all of our rooms being cooled by whisper quiet mini spit air conditioning units. When the guest made us aware of the problem with the air conditioner we immediately investigated and the unit has been repaired.

We are proud of our award winning mineral water and while our healthy, delicious mineral water is wonderful to drink, mineral water is hard water and is absolutely punishing on fabrics. We purchase the finest, high quality linens and towels, but sadly after a shocking few launderings, they too have absorbed all the healthy minerals but not in a good way! We’ve tried a host of natural softeners, baking soda and vinegar and of course, we don’t want to use chemical softeners. If anyone has any suggestions we’d love to hear them. In the meantime, from time to time we have to remind ourselves that guests come to THE SPRING to enjoy the gifts of nature and nature’s gifts are… many.

Know that we always have our guests’ interests and comfort at heart and endeavor to consistently improve your experience at THE SPRING.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    44
    11
    11
    7
See reviews for
33
196
50
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We found this place on line and wanted to get away from it all. We found the room very clean and comfortable. Loved the pools and service. We also used the spa treatments quite a bit, and especially enjoyed the scrub. The spa ladies were great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I found this place because I wanted a real spa that used the waters from the natural hot springs in the area, not another hotel with chlorinated pools. There are only 11 rooms on the premises and most look out onto one of the three pools. It's a lovely layout and we were thrilled that you are allowed to bathe all night long if you wish. Having said that it's definitely a place to relax not to party! As soon as you step in you are aware that the owners care very much about excellent service and attention to detail. I stayed with three friends in two rooms with king sized beds, everything was clean and comfortable. It's the perfect place if you are out hiking in the sun and discovering Joshua Tree park - we highly recommend staying there and enjoying the spa waters then catching the park when the sun is low and it's cooler out. Did not try the spa services but cannot imagine them being bad... Wonderful place!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff is so very friendly and helpful. They are amazing. The atmosphere is very peaceful, zen like. No cell phones at the pool area which makes it very peaceful. No televisions in the room which makes it very relaxing. I pod dock in room so you can play your favorite music if you have an ipod. Free breakfast in the morning consisting of yogurt,,european bread, cereal ,fresh cut fruit, orange juice, coffee. When I arrived they brought me a fresh pot of coffee as I had worked all night. Very impressive service. They bring you fresh pitchers of ice water, offer to get you more coffee in the morning while you sit out doors and eat and take in the beautiful landscaped grounds. They have a kitty cat on the property named Rocky. A roadrunner visited when we were there chasing bugs across the lawn. Very delightful t o watch. Hummingbirds are flying around getting nectar from the flowers. There is a big swimming pool with free flotation devices to use. A mineral hot jacuzzi around 95 degrees. And also an indoor under a gazebo soak hot tub no jets on that one. It was a very relaxing wonderful place. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a calming get away from the everyday stressors of life.

Room Tip: If you want to cook get a room with a kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Not knowing what to expect of this Desert Hot Springs resort, I was pleasantly surprised to see that it was more spa than resort. Small, very, very quiet, calm, lovely grounds and rejuvenating mineral pools. I went with a friend and we stayed at the villa, which was actually not on the property but just up the street. The villa was huge and very private, but I think we might have used the pools more if we were on the property. I also had the "Spring Buff" treatment, which was a 2-hour exfoliation and massage - they even washed and deep conditioned my hair! My skin felt like a baby's after that, and trust me, I'm no baby! Speaking of which, this is a completely child-free zone, which lent to the serenity and quiet. Will be back!

Room Tip: You might want to reserve a room rather than the villa, the villa is wonderful and spacious, with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drivingmisssarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike K, General Manager at The Spring Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are delighted that you took the chance on us while "not knowing what to expect". I would definitely suggest trying one of our poolside rooms next time for the convenience of being just a few steps away from the pools. However, if you still like some privacy we do have our Mountainview suite which has a private patio, a full kitchen, a large open floor plan and is still only about a 30 second walk to the pool area. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent the day getting pampered at this great spot in Desert Hot Springs. The natural mineral pools were amazing, as was the aroma therapy massage. The friendly staff and the beautiful grounds will keep me coming back for more!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitramarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I and my boyfriend visited this place for the day spa, without any treatment. We called in advance and Mike told us, that if it is only two off us no reservation needed for the spa use. This place is AMAZING. The landscaping, the pools, the sauna and of cause the service was incredible. The most amazing thing is that it is so quite there. We spend whole day going from one pool to another. We would probably stay there till the closing time if we weren’t so hungry. (They do offer snacks, but it would be better to bring your food with you.) I will definitely recommend this place and will for sure return there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Desert Hot Springs
1.6 mi away
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
Miracle Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Water Spa
Aqua Soleil Hotel & Mineral Wate...
#8 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
1.0 mi away
El Morocco Inn & Spa
El Morocco Inn & Spa
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
Lido Palms Resort and Spa
#9 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 141 reviews
1.5 mi away
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
Desert Hot Springs Spa Hotel
#17 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
11.2 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Spring Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Spring Resort & Spa

Property: The Spring Resort & Spa
Address: 12699 Reposo Way, Desert Hot Springs, CA 92240-4762
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Desert Hot Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
#5 Romantic Hotel in Desert Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Spring Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SPRING Resort & Spa is a magical place. Overlooking Palm Springs w/dramatic views of snow capped mountain peaks, magnificent mineral water emerges from the earth at 170 degrees, charged with healing, restorative minerals. Luxurious, romantic guest rooms surround 3 mineral pools, featuring king pillow-top beds, down pillows, duvets and 100% Egyptian cotton linens. THE SPRING Day Spa offers a complete line of spa treatments, massages, buffs, wraps, and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your The Spring Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Spring Hotel Desert Hot Springs
The Spring Resort And Spa
Hot Spring California
The Spring Resort & Spa Desert Hot Springs, CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing